Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Cuclock

by The Mad Strauss - Jam Entry

You are Cak,a little imp that studies the secrets of the time from the inside of a cuckoo clock.

Try to solve the puzzles before the time ends using your powers to connect the different hourglasses.

--------------------------------------------------

Controls:
Move: Arrows
Jump: Space
Action: X

——— Music ———

http://renich.bandcamp.com/track/ac-mbaro

——— In progress ———

Web - Fixing black sprites

——— Known Issues ———

Sometimes the character is stuck during hourglasses activation.


——— Credits ———

A @TheMadStrauss project

- José Arias Fernández: programming, effects.
- Miguel Arias Fernández (@tuercadevuelta): artwork, animation.

Downloads and Links


Comments

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:45am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

Tselmek says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:32pm

The puzzle mechanic is really nice but the platforming physics make the character's jumps hard to control, and it's particularly frustrating when you're running against the clock. Same goes with the collision detection of the hourglasses when you press X, it can take a couple of tries before a success. The graphics are really nice but it was sometimes hard to distinguish the foreground and background elements. Some assets appeared oddly blurred on my end., I suppose it is caused by the window resolution.

Roland M says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 12:41am

Good puzzle mechanic guys! But the plataform engine ist very good, it has some bugs (get stuck while activating a hourglass) and the collision detection isnt very responsive. A tip guys [Dont resize graphics it doesnt look good.

I bet you will improve in the next LDJam, keep improving!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Really cute graphics, love the music! Basic game mechanics are very interesting. Feel the game would be better without the time constraint, the controls are hard enough as it is and the puzzle mechanic already provides a lot of meat.

There's some edge blurring going on that takes away a lot from the art. Try disabling all the aliasing options and scale your art to (multiples of) screen pixels.

GFM says ...
Sep 13, 2016 @ 1:51am

Cute graphics! The background coming to life as you passed by the gears was a great addition!

I found really interesting how the mechanic allows for simple-looking levels, since the player creates their own maze as they solve the puzzle.
However, the platforming needs some polishing. The jump button won't register if the character is at the edge of a platform. This makes the smaller platforms (and jumping through some gaps) quite hard, at times...

comatomatoes says ...
Sep 13, 2016 @ 3:19am

Nice entry! I finished the game! I really enjoyed the main character's expression when he pulls the lever. I definitely ran into the getting stuck bug several times. I think the platforms could be separated from the background more. I found it hard to see them sometimes. I think the controls might feel better if the character falls a bit faster.

Quicklyer says ...
Sep 13, 2016 @ 8:44am

Wow, the quality of this game certainly feels way up there for an LD game. Imaginative, creative, and unique. Great to look at, great to listen to, fun to play. Music fit so well for this kind of 'time pressure' puzzler.

As a dumb WASD player my only complaint would be the use of the (X) button felt hard/awkward to reach for. Maybe E or R, or a button from the right hand could have been easier to use.

Either way, fantastic work you guys.

celia14 says ...
Sep 15, 2016 @ 12:13am

Wow, cool! The art and effects make it really polished, and I love the puzzle idea. I did find the time limit a little frustrating, though - I can definitely imagine just the puzzle mechanic being a really fun game with a lot of time to plot out exactly how you'll reach the different hourglasses.

Peni6 says ...
Sep 15, 2016 @ 9:20pm

lovely art, and a simple but fun concept. However the decision to make space jump instead of W is a weird one, and made the game frustrating to play.

nlbi21 says ...
Sep 16, 2016 @ 12:17am

OMG nice game i like it :3 i love the art. Very nice game very fun.

Sep 16, 2016 @ 10:45am

Loved the art and the characters animations. Very fluid and smooth. Did have issues as others have mentioned with the jumping aspect which was at times frustrating with the tieme running out. Clever game though with the puzzle aspect and not crossing over the paths.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]