Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Time Climb

by Abrexas - Jam Entry

**Disclaimer: The jump mechanics are deliberate! =P
I am a VERY big fan of SNES 'Super Ghouls And Ghosts'. It has been consistently rated one of the hardest games of all time, partially due to it's frustrating mechanics.. =P
I do plan to allow air control in the 'easy' version of the game, but I ran out of time..
Also, All "bosses" were created in the last hour or so of development... so they are basically garbage... haha. Thanks for playing!


Have you ever felt like you were too powerful for your own world? Well now you do!

Fed up with being trapped in the core of the earth, Rock Johnson sets off to conquer the kinds from the surfaces of time. Can you destroy each king using their own ancient technologies?


Programming: Steven French
Art: ZackBeNinja


Disclaimer: Ran out of time for proper enemies and music :/
Was an amazing time participating though!!!

Downloads and Links


Comments

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:32am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

Abrexas says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:33pm

@steph88
Thanks! I will certainly upload it there, but it may have to wait until tonight.

RIPPorkins says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:09am

The game looks cool, but I'm having issues with the control! Are you supposed to not be able to jump and move at the same time? I got stuck at the point of the 3rd screenshot, just couldn't get there :(

dissonent says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:09am

Interesting game. I felt the controls were a bit frustrating. Not having air control meant that a lot of jumps were super difficult to do.

I also got stuck on the triceratops and couldn't get past it no matter how hard I tried. Having the triceratops AI follow the player 100% of time might be a little to simple. His AI meant that jumping over him was impossible, and running back just delays your death. My last option is to stand my ground and hope I don't die.

NikSorvari says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:20am

Great attack animations. I got stuck at the triceratops, then randomly stopped taking damage and got past him haha

tmpxyz says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:28am

The jump control is really unique, is it a bug or a feature?

ginger9 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:42am

I agree with @RIPPorkins and @dissonent about the air control. Some jump seems too hard. And the Triceratops moves as fast as the hero, follows him all the time, which cause some uncomfortable death.

Tooichi says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 7:06am

Animations look really nice, but that air control... so frustrating :)

Casevse says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:03am

The graphics are nice, but the jump air control could be improved... i feel it frustrating. GJ!

Kazik_210 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:31am

Nice graphic and animations, but you can't control character while you jump i don't like this :/

zulman says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:35am

Very Very solid game for 72 hours of development. Attack animations are very nice, graphics style too :) I unable to move left/right while jumping - is it by design or just bug? I'm asking because at one of the sessions i just stucked in second scene with selection easy/normal/hard.

Aerohand says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:43am

I hate this jump control... I stuck in some place where theres no way to not straight jump or change direction on the air to get there.
Very complete game though!

Abrexas says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:55pm

@RIPPorkins @dissonent @tmpxyz @ginger9 @Tooichi @Casevse @Kazik_210 @zulman @Aerohand

Thank you all for the feedback! The jump mechanics ARE deliberate =P. The frystrating mechanic is nearly identical to 'Super Ghouls and Ghosts' for SNES. I'l a fan of difficult games, so that is what I chose to make.. haha

They bosses are super broken, and I apologize for that. They were made very last minute, and I had no time to test them out. haha.

Pro Tip: if you're jumping to the side and you hit roll JUST before touching the ground, you will perform a "super roll" That travels much much further. You are also invulnerable during rolls, so you can use this method to bypass most bosses. =P

Thanks again for the feedback!!

Sep 2, 2016 @ 1:52am

Looks great but it felt like the controls were getting stuck. I'd jump wouldn't be able to move anywhere. Although I suspect this was intentional.

MiniBobbo says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 3:36am

+1 for the Super Ghouls and Ghosts jumping style. I spent many an hour trying unsuccessfully to jump over pits in that game and this brought back memories. At least you can get hit 5 times in this and not have the first one leave you running around in your underwear.

It sounds like from the feedback you already have some good ideas of how to improve the game. I'd also mention that it would be cool if the tileset changed between the ages and not just the background. I got stuck on the stone age and the autoscrolling :)

Abrexas says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 6:06am

@MiniBobbo Thank you so much! I was pretty sure that only fans of Ghouls would appreciate the mechanic, haha.

Art is something that I have a lot of plans for, but time was an issue. For the most part I was working along, and for the last night my friend was making sprites.
We plan to finish the game entirely!

thenanox says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 11:25am

You won!

i didnt know it was double ghouts and ghouls jump, so at the beggining i almost stop playing:P but i got into the end.

Also i found an interesting bug that helped me a lot...

if you jump and melee, and then jump and mele.. infinite jumping :P

the last boss was strange but i liked the levels

Abrexas says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 10:05pm

@thenanox HA I actually didn't know about that bug, haha. Thanks!

The bosses are SUPER bugged. I'm workin' on fixing them, but the comp is over so I won't upload the new versions here =P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]