Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

The Eating Machine

by ValiaP - Jam Entry

You're the most high-technology household appliance in the 1930s.
You're the Mr. Handy for thousands of housewives.
You're the Eating Machine!
Now it's time to show the investors your true value.

=====================================
Controls:
A \ D :Rotate the first rig.
J \ L :Rotate the second rig.
Space :Grab the food.

You can read the screenshot for more detailed controls ans description.
=====================================

The Eating Machine is a physic game with silent film aesthetics. The whole idea was inspired by Charlie Chaplin's film "Modern Times".

Hope you have fun :D

Downloads and Links


Comments

castriul says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 4:00pm

Loved the sound and mechanics. 10/10

Aug 28, 2016 @ 5:33pm

Loved the aesthetic. Even harder than QWOP haha

hermetic says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:50am

The aesthetic is pretty awesome. Once you get the hang of it, it becomes really easy to shove food, bounce up to the switch and shove food again in a fluid motion. It's very Zen. I am guessing the win text was supposed to be humorous and ironic. I just took it as a fact of life... ;)

Ghen says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:53am

haha, i still remember this movie, the modern times, my first charlie chaplin movie :D
anyway really great aesthetic, concept and execution, and also to guys like me, bring back the good ol memories :D

JK5000 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:46am

What to say beyond Great humor. It is monty python meets chaplin. well done.

Pix3M says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:00am

Pffaaahaha, just like QWOP, being amazed at your inability to control something normally easy and intuitive

I like this. The way you put these graphics together is really well-done considering that it's all borrowed from the internet. Music is also absolutely perfect for what this game needed. Thanks for sharing this with the world. Cheers!

Azlen says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:00am

I cannot figure out how to run the game on mac. There seems to be a bunch of files relating to iPhones and iPads, but nothing resembling a game that I can run.

quentinus60 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:10am

OH LA LA ! this game is so fun. I like that humor. Good job !

studdert249 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:27am

Once I felt I got a grip with the controls, less grip more shall we say feathers touch and got my Misophonia from the eating sound in check I can say that I quite enjoyed the game and how you succeeded in creating controls that were both quite simple and complex all at the same time.

Flatgub says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:39am

Although these graphics reside deep within the uncanny valley, I really did enjoy this game! The music was great and once I got the hang of the controls I got into quite a nice rhythm! I had a funny little moment where I accidentally jammed a rock back up into the food pipe. It got stuck and so I had to keep hitting the food switch until like 4 cakes and 3 cookies all rained out of it as it unclogged xD!

ValiaP says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:22pm

@Azlen Sorry about that, I'll try to fix the problem. If I got it done I'll @ you. :D And I guess I should remove the Mac download link first.

LCMW_Spud says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Would never have thought of this, poor Charlie.

Alkrimil says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:41am

This game has a seriously cool style. And I love how simple it is. It was tricky at first, but once I got the rhythm it was incredibly satisfying. Really nice work.

yoel1234 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:49am

olala! eat falafel and rocks charlie chaplin!
took time to get it very nice concept. i felt like i was in a fallout commercial.

repstyle says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:14pm

Damn, gameplay is fustrating af. This machine is the best gift to lazy people you want to make stressed!
I laugh at beginning and like the wtf idea. With more efficient controls ti can be really fun instead of frustrating.

kmitz says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:27pm

Litterally the first game of all I tested that looks like it's actually finished :
- Lovely music (though the sound of the trigger hurts a bit)
- Funny ambiance
- Funny gameplay
- There is a proper story
- There is a proper end
- It match perfectly the theme
Good job :)

Findor says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Haha, good game :D I was smiling when I played it :D

Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:20pm

I've spent 15 minutes of my life feeding cookies and rocks to Chaplin, Thanks and congrats.

MonsieurDuc says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:24pm

same here lol

kyyninen says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:59pm

I want to like it, but the feeding arm keeps getting stuck between the plate and bottom of the screen.

EDIT: seems to have something to do with quality settings. When set to Fastest, the feeding arm feels almost weightless and flops around at the speed of light until it gets stuck. Good seems to be the most optimal setting, anything higher and controlling becomes too heavy.

Anyway, who keeps putting ROCKS with confectionery? :D

Supr says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:45pm

I like the concept and the realisation. It's pretty funny how clumsy this machine is. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]