Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Guidance

by Avalanche Games - Jam Entry

I had lots of trouble coming up with an idea for this game jam but 2 days in and lots of testing, I decided to do something simple with mirrors. Let me know what you think!

Instructions:
Click on the mirrors to Guide the beam of light.

Controls:
Mouse click


UPDATE: Added a link to download the game on the playstore.

Edit1: Jupiter_Hadley plays Guidance! https://youtu.be/ZBKvUw84G7I?t=10m8s
Edit2: Music by Bensounds, Tenderness.

Downloads and Links


Comments

omid says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:26am

Wow, really good game. Everything works here, graphic, sound, hardness of levels.
I reach to the point after installing motherboard, and find you that I couldn't click 3 buttons (and solve the puzzle).

tweetzzzzz says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:26am

So simple and quick to get! Love the mechanic. Would have liked more levels but hey

monchang says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:31am

Nice puzzle game. The music is super relaxing and the style reminds me of megaman battle network :D

All around feel good

Bogden says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:33am

Excellent jam game. Not a ton of content, but it feels extremely well polished. The game could easily be expanded with many more levels as well, now that the rest of the game engine is there.

Would highly recommend adding more levels and putting up a post-compo version. Think you're onto something really good here.

Redream says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:37am

Simple and well executed concept - I was just wish there were more levels to play. This would work well as a mobile game too.

Skye says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:39am

This game looks beautiful! It's short, but it's very nice, as the music and graphics are relaxing.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:39am

Really enjoyable and simple, reminds me of some of Kechapp's games. Would be more fun with more levels. I think the sound effect when you beat the level could be a little better.

edgeofcode says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:40am

Really good, I just wish there were more levels!

Fib says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:42am

Thanks for a great entry. You did a good job creating a very simple & polished mechanic. You did 1 thing and did it really well. The music is very relaxing too. I could definitely see myself playing 30+ levels of this.

HeliosStudio says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:44am

Really love the atmosfere, good job!

Junber says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:48am

Well that looked and sounded awesome. But the game would have been even better with more mechanics and I am not too sure how this relates to that theme. Except from that it really feels like the beginning of a full game. Great work

kraiom says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:48am

Whoa this looks good! Good mechanic, everything works, and the soothing music is great. I could play a lot more levels of this. It'd be cool if RMB would rotate the mirrors counter-clockwise, but definitely not required. Experience is great overall.

Chris Bode says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:51am

Excellent ambiance. Definitely leaves me wanting more, and in a jam game, that is a good thing.

johnbjuice says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:52am

Couldn't get the LD Embed or the HTML5 link to work on my dinky Win7 laptop! Sad - the screenshots look gorgeous!

Running - Windows 7, Google Chrome

Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:54am

Wow thanks for all the great comments! I wish I had more time to add more levels and gameplay mechanics such as crystals to refract the ray.

Just to clarify, regarding the theme, I used mirrors as the technology of choice.

TheTeaGuns says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:55am

This feels super polished, I could 100% see this working as a casual mobile puzzle game if you added more levels. Would be great to be able to right click to rotate the mirrors the opposite direction.

jayemjee says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:57am

I remember playing a game a long time ago with this same mechanic! Not nearly as stylish as this one, though; I love the way you made the simple graphics work for you. It'd be great to see this fleshed out with more levels and mechanics.

blackcode says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:00am

Ah, I was simple, polished and great looking game, but... this short? It made me sad, I really want more!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:13am

So sorry I couldn't add more levels! Thanks for all the encouragement everyone, i'll definitely consider adding more levels.

Regarding those that can't run the WebGL version, i'll look into making a Windows and Android Build now.

Kizler says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:04am

Thank goodness for the Windows build, I wanted to try this out and the Web GL build wasn't working.

Very short and beautiful, would've liked to have had more puzzles to play.

justinooncx says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:51am

A pretty simple game, but the art and atmosphere is nice. Has a lot of promise!

kapezit says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:24am

This is a really cool game! I want to play more.

Lonely Vertex says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:02am

Great puzzle game I would love to have more levels maybe with more towers

Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:04am

Nice game! Graet atmpsphere. I would like more levels.

josemorval says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Very nice game! Good concept and a great execution :)

adsilcott says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Beautiful style. Really wish there were more levels!

Remicy says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:32pm

Wow great game! Neat graphic and gameplay! More levels please!

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:19pm

Very short and the laser/mirror mechanic isn't new, but still an interesting implementation. Clearly the aesthetics are inspired by Stack!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:08pm

simple, pretty and a fun game.

Pyrofoux says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:38pm

That was pretty short hahaha. The last level has an alternative solution, I don't know if it is voluntary ?
The game is very polished, maybee the most polished game I played so far in this LD.
The game is perfectly suited for android by the way, that's nice.

Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:17am

very intuitive, didn't even read the instructions
also looks very nice

i like the potential of multiple solutions :D

publicidadeba says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 4:20am

Elegant and effective. I wish I had this approach :D

tppr2046 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 5:48am

The graphics and music are awesome!
I like this idea.

Danae123 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:29am

We played your game last night on Twitch and enjoyed it a lot. More levels, harder puzzles would have been great! I hope you have plans to add some more, we'd definitely play some more ;)

Geruhn says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:32am

Really nice game with a good look and sound! Please try to make more levels!

GrassWhooper says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:59am

Woah, very nice, Neat Short and quick game with good mechanics :)
no single complaint it about it graphics are great, sound is great, plain and simple i liked it (honest opinion )

wilsk says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:37am

Nice game if a little short. I saw a game with a similar idea released the other day on Steam so I think you are on to something :)

PlonkyDonkey says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:42pm

very nice, though too short. Would love to see an expanded version and more more developed mechanics

Wan says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Impressive work! The game was pretty easy to pick up, then fun and relaxing to play.

It definitely fits that recent trend of minimal, "no bullshit" puzzle games that I happen to enjoy very much :)

Now you just have to add 40 levels and press "Publish to iOS/Android"!

(NB. If you're still interested, I finally published the English version of my interactive story!)

novotmike says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Simple and very relaxing game! I enjoyed the music. If only it had more levels. But great job!

PanicTheFirst says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Pretty good simple puzzle game. It's pretty short but I think that there are many ways to enhance the gameplay with new mechanics. So it's a good start for something bigger! :)

Sabina Lis says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 12:59am

Nicely done! would have played more levels :)

ErikU says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:00am

I'm reminded stylistically, whether intentional or not, of the mobile game Stacks: http://m.plonga.com/public/uploads/thumbs/stack-game-mobile.jpg

Regardless, nice implementation of a classic idea. Glad you were able to submit after having trouble coming up with an idea.

Mine10blox says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:13am

Love it! Although not detailed, the art is great and fits in perfectly. Also very atmospheric. Not much gameplay, but if you'd have had more luck with ideas it would have been great!

tmpxyz says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 3:34am

Good graphics & sfx, but there're too few levels.

Abrexas says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:40am

Neat game and well executed, but it lacks the whole.. theme thing :/

It was definitely a tough theme, and I personally had to go with a generic interpretation myself...

Hope to see what you do with future jams!

Steven Miller says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:36am

Good game, I really enjoy light puzzles like this. The game is very stylish and simple as well. I would love to see this expanded upon.

Insality says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:42am

graphics and colors are so sweety!
Nice simple popular (i think) mechanic with good implementation.
But very low levels count :{

thegunmaster says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 11:32am

Nice game, didn't use the theme in a too interesting way, but still amusing. I would have loved a few more levels though!

pogo says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 12:58pm

Love the sound design, and the use of colour. It's got a kind of monument valley vibe to it. I would have enjoyed some more levels and a few more mechanics, however!

juaxix says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:38pm

Well done, also check this one too:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-36/?action=preview&uid=73451
as it is similar but in a different way and i enjoyed it too.
Yours is peaceful and beautiful :)

Kitkom says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:16pm

I was thinking this would be a really nice game and then it's over.
Well, nice music, nice art, nice game, except the length.
It would be better with more concepts and levels .

Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:16pm

Nice little puzzle game. I like visual style, it's pretty charming. I would love to see more levels though =)

korvyashka says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 7:48pm

Very good game! An interesting idea. Was happy. I would have! 8)

Sep 1, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Short but sweet game! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36 games, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ZBKvUw84G7I

WERT Studio says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:05pm

neat little puzzle game with a great artstyle!

xirion11 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 11:06pm

Great minimalistic graphics, a little more levels would have been nice. Liked the music and the simplicity of the game.

RafaSKB says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Super simple and short, but fun and relaxing! Graphics also simple but polished, I like it :)

Sep 2, 2016 @ 2:16am

Thanks for all the comments everyone!

@Jupter_Hadley Wow thanks for adding it to your playlist! I've added the link to the description.

zzapp says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 6:51am

Its a simple yet amazingly satisfying concept, its a shame you couldn't complete more levels since I cant help but want more.

blubberquark says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 11:12am

The levels were very simple. You could just move the mirrors one by one and follow the lights to the next mirror. Not much thinking involved.

Mechanics good, Graphics great, UI great, Levels boring.

Sep 2, 2016 @ 5:53pm

@blubberquark in their defense, I feel like they might have spent a LOT of time making and designing the other stuff like the art and making the game work well and not be buggy.

(Not saying I don't agree with you on the simplicity of the levels)

but then again neither of us will know unless @avalanche-games makes a post mortem!

Sep 2, 2016 @ 7:47pm

@blubberquark @fundamental.phantom I definitely spent a lot of my time working the aesthetics of the game. The mechanic was down within a few hours but was very buggy so I spent some more time fixing and optimising the code.

I've never written a post mortem before but i'll sure give it a go! Any tips for a noobie? (:

leondryaso says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 9:31am

It looks so nice and the music is very relaxing. I like the idea, but it could definitely use more (and more complex) levels and maybe a few more gameplay elements :) It would be nice if you continued working on it and maybe published it on phones, it feels like this type of game. However, I don't really see the theme here.

Flatgub says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 12:36am

Amazingly relaxing! Visuals, audio, all of it!
Just wish it had more levels ><

Sep 4, 2016 @ 8:20pm

@avalanche-games

I can't really call myself an expert, but from the post-mortem's I've read/done, it seems to be a general overview of the process behind the game:

how you came up with art style / mechanics / etc
what you spent a lot of time fixing / not that much time
what you wanted to do / what you didn't have time to do
what you feel like you did well / didn't do well
stuff like that.

basically behind the scenes / what you learned

Headmade says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Cute little game. It's rare that a LD game feels too short, but this one does. It has nice graphics and music and has a polished feel to it though.

The levels were very straight forward and there was no thinking required to solve them. I would prefer the levels to be more challenging.

I don't see the connection to the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]