Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Lost Earth

by Lênon Kramer - Jam Entry

===================
DISCLAIMER

Updated to fix some bugs:

- After some feedback I fixed the bug that made the game freeze after the player character died. Now it gives a 2-sec Game Over screen and loads Main Menu screen.
- Fixed the bug that made all the alien ships chase the player from the beginning of the level. Now they only activate when the player comes close. But they still annoyingly manage to pass by the wall tiles. Heck!
===================

#LDJAM
#LD36

This is an Arcade Shoot'em Up. You are van Döniken, a mad scientist trying to find the old mystic planet Earth, where some half-witted sages say was the planet in which Humanity first evolved. And he will have a hard time getting there.

I barely made it.

I built something. In 30 hours, because I had to work on Saturday and had an important exam in Sunday morning. I thought I could beat the challenge, and almost made it to the end.

I switched my project two times, and that made me lose even more time. I only nailed what I would really do today at 3 AM.

The core of the game is there, but I just didn't managed to build a level, nor to implement the power-ups and the variety of weapons and enemies. Not even the SoundFX effects or the animations I made. Much less to put the lore in the game. That's the saddest part, as I made something I thought was interesting.

This is the first game I ever made start-to-end. I really hope to read good feedbacks and constructive criticism. :)

If you see future on this I may even push it forward. :D

:::
CREDITS

Lênon Kramer: Game Design, Programming, 2D Art, Credits Screen's music.

Chocochurros Project: Music (except for the one on Credits Screen).

To see more of the Chocochurros Project: https://www.youtube.com/user/ChocoChur2os [their debut album is coming soon!]

Playlist:
Main Menu:
Zumbis e Reptilianos - Chocochurros
Credits:
Long Road to Sigil - Lênon Kramer
InPlay:
(onLevelLoad) Starships and Zodiac - Chocochurros
(randomAfter) Vertical Avenue - Chocochurros
(randomAfter) Tiger in a Living Room - Chocochurros
(randomAfter) Deserts and Plants - Chocochurros

EDITED: updates to the description text. Added Screenshot of Credits Screen.

Downloads and Links


Comments

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:53am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

Lênon Kramer says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:00am

Hi steph88. Thanks!

You are free to put it to the video, I'm uploading to indiexpo right now. :)

I wanted to deliver at least a complete level, but the deadline bit it short. I'm thinking maybe I'll try to program a decent infinite sidescroller generator for the game on the next weeks.

Casevse says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:48pm

It has to be polished, but the idea behind is interesting. Keep the work up!

yotam180 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:54pm

Cool game. It's simple and cool, but it's disappointing me for being a jam entry, as it should not take more than the compo time to make. Good work, though!

Aree Vanier says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Fun game with good music.
The only issue I had was that the blocks had larger hitboxes on the sides where you could get stuck.

happy30 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:57pm

For some reason it froze alot for me. However it looks very promising

leondryaso says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:59pm

The game needs to be a bit more polished, the music was good but when I got killed (probably) it just looked like the game froze :(

BlueLlama says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:16pm

Although perhaps a little rough around the edges (slidy movement getting caught on uneven surfaces) It definitely provided challenging platform based gameplay. I think that the addition of extra enemies scattered around the level could have helped.

Impressive for a first start-to-finish game in 30 hours.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Rather floaty controls, makes platforming quite difficult. Could've done with some simple animations. The music is neat, though, and the minimalistic level graphics have a certain austerity to them.

Amine Tcherak says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:35pm

Realy cool game good job

Narkhos says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Hi,

It's a good start for a challenging platform game.

There is some area for improvement :
Graphics : You should avoid this kind of repetitive texture of brick wall. And a simple background image, or a star scrolling effect could fill this black space.
Level design : Your tiles seems to be placed at random places. You should place them on a grid to avoid the little offsets between them.
Gameplay : The gameplay is too slicky or the platforms are too small. I didn't manage to pass the big pit with the small blocks across it.

Keep the good work !

ramoncb says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 4:07am

Good job! Create a game in only 30 hours, start-to-end, is already a feat! You managed to program by code (no logic-bricks, like in Gamemaker) the gameplay, and made a title screen and put some music!

About the physics, the character needs more friction, but what really worry me is the collision with the ground, it does look like that each tile has collision...

Maybe you should try to separate the graphics of the collision. Draw all tiles first, then create a big hitbox matching that group of tiles. It will be less collisions to check and will end the bug when the character suddenly stop.

Sorry my broken english. ^^

Damdoshi says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:05pm

It appeirs that there is a link between the program life and the character life. It frozes when he die.

It may a good idea to make a platform game "on ice" like your game. It could be really good. In a way, Sonic made it, but it was not as fast as it could be today.

It is nice to make something playable for a first game. Congratulation.

And the music was cool. ;)

qikcik says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 11:27am

good game, i like pixel art :D

Daniel says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Nice game simple and fun, keep up with the good work.

RttStudio says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 3:47pm

Good game, simple but fun. You should check, when doing floors, maybe make just 1 big collider with many sprite children so the character don't get stuck. Also for the input maybe look for input.getaxisraw. Good entry for a first complete game.

stenol says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Good game. Look very promising. Coontinue your good work !

daveh says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:39pm

As others mentioned there's some collision issues to be worked on, but otherwise it was playable. Thinking on where you could take it next I think a good addition would be directional shooting given the type of enemy you have currently.

Tijn says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:41pm

I tried to run the Mac version, but it gives an error on launch :'(

http://imgur.com/87rNHxr

Smiley says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 8:38pm

The Mac version says "Can't be opened" :(

vicious_br says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 3:30am

Fala colega, você é brasileiro, não é? Gostei da Sprite do seu game e dos inimigos, continue com o game. Mas os botões estão com a resposta lenta, não sei o que houve, principalmente para entrar no jogo. Talvez equilibrar mais a desaceleração poderia deixar o jogo mais fluido.
Forte abraço!

vicious_br says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 3:31am

ah, experimente meu game: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-36/?action=preview&uid=36629

Linver says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 5:33pm

GJ for the first time.
But game is not good, you know.
You can easy improve your game with some steps:
[+] create big-long floor colliders separately from visible sprites. And your hero will not stumble.
[+] you can use good https://github.com/prime31/CharacterController2D also
[+] add killing collider under floor. I just fell into the abyss, man.
[+] separate one big level to small levels. It's a bit easier then create a checkpoint system. Anyway, players just ragequite without these features
[+] animations.

blubberquark says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 11:36am

The floor feels like ice, not stone. You need more friction or stopping when not moving.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]