Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Where Is My Boat

by PlasmaErnst - Competition Entry

You can walk underwater (but nothing more, sadly)!

Walk/Stop - LMB or Spacebar

I couldn't think of a nice gameplay mechanic.
When time got short I had to do something, so I did this.
Learned something about normalmaps!

Downloads and Links


Comments

Waterman7 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:44pm

How to walk left?

Marta Viader says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:06pm

I love the graphic style. It might be cool having the floor a bit more down, so it would occupy just 1/3 of the screen.
Awesome job!

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:44am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

PlasmaErnst says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:46pm

Hey, thank you for the feedback!

@waterman7: sorry, at the moment you cannot go left.
@ Marta Viader: Yes, I agree. Probably chance this in a future build.
@steph88: "...still offered a decent amount of challenge" - nice joke hehe. When I have some spare time I will do the indiexpo-thing.

galhajaj says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:47pm

very nice graphics

dos says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Day 72. Still haven't found my boat. I don't lose my hope though.

Zeriver says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:42pm

Good looking game. As you said there isn't much gameplay but you learned new thing and that's the best thing about Ludum Dare. It's important to not get stuck in your comfort zone and try new things. If there was rating system i think you could easly get to 100 best graphics.

TomBuston says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Graphics are really great, loved the smoke particles !
The game surely is pretty, nice work :)

WERT Studio says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:39pm

The graphics are really well made!

komilll says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 8:30am

It's pretty nice technology demo but it can't be rated as game. Since you've done everything by yourself I think it looks amazing but that's a shame you haven't time or/and idea to any gameplay.

Headmade says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 2:43am

Nice art style, really like the smoke/dust effect. Too bad there is no gameplay or sounds.

bitdecaygames says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 5:59am

Even if there isn't much in the way of gameplay -- the art is really cool. I'd be curious to see what you had planned for sounds.

rodobodolfo says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 8:08am

Not much to review but art design is nice. The idle animation seems odd but the run cycle is nice with cool particle effects! I'm interested to know what kind of game this would have turned into.

BloodJohn says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 3:53pm

don't know about that game, but the animation is great =)

SamuelSousa says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Interesting art!
Feels claustrophobic which is interesting :)

That lighting on the fish caught my attention... nice glow!

Sep 9, 2016 @ 3:57pm

Nice graphics, animation, lighting and effects! Indeed, not much of a game yet. ;)

Quicklyer says ...
Sep 13, 2016 @ 4:37am

Yeah, really like the graphics and the eerie atmosphere. I would love to see a creepy horror-ish style full game with a similar feel to this.

Conk says ...
Sep 13, 2016 @ 12:39pm

Love the style of the graphics, the normal maps are great! Shame about the lack of ideas, this got me too ): the web version for me was also very broken and a 40mb download for such a small game (I mean, any LD game shouldn't go over 10mb really) was odd.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]