Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Nomore

by djfariel - Jam Entry

The temple of the ancient Nomorians is a one of the few remaining relics of an ancient civilization now long gone. Within its subterranean halls there are rumored to be great secrets of knowledge and artifacts of long lost technology. Within, too, there is danger For the Nomorian builders did not leave their secrets unguarded. To get to those secrets, one must navigate the dark passages, avoid its sleepless sentries, and defeat the guardian at its core. With such treasures, one could reshape this world, revolutionize industry, and transform society….

...Ehh, but what am I telling you this for, thief? Look, the job is simple; get in there, shut down those defenses, bring me the Nomorian Archives and I’ll give you all the nice shineys. Such a simpleton…*ehem*….I’m counting on you Jacque; your reputation speaks well of you. I hope it is deserved for your sake. The last several hires didn’t fare so well…

-------------------------------------------------------

CONTROLS:

WASD - Move
J - Jump
K - Dash
L - Shoot
Return - Pause

Arrow Keys - Alt Move
Z - Alt Jump
X - Alt Dash
C - Alt Shoot
Escape - Alt Pause

Controller ----------
Left Stick - Move
A Button - Jump
X Button - Shoot
B Button - Dash
Right Trigger - Alt Shoot
Left Bumper - Alt Dash
Start - Pause

Birds of a feather may flock together,
But this crow works alone…



The post-ludum-dare build has a number of bug fixes, including:

Charge shot shoots through enemy bullets (but not boss)
Boss actually works!
Boss has ending after you kill it
Jumping after falling off ledge with double jump works
Third section of game less reachable without completing second section
Second section modified to be more obvious
Less random tile lines (still not fixed completely)
Less abrasive sounds!
We recommend you play it, but remember that in the spirit of ludum dare, it is not what should be judged! Then again, there's no judging this time around, so what's it matter? Give it a shot!

Downloads and Links


Comments

jayemjee says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:48am

Hey! Really cool game, great graphics and atmosphere. The controls were fairly good, and the gameplay was smooth.

I do have a few qualms: I'm not a huge fan of extra lives (though that could be considered a personal opinion,) nor of the Sonic the Hedgehog style "touch them and you explode" spikes. The boss also seemed rather difficult, in a frustrating way -- I thought it took WAY too long to kill him. And I admit, I'm a little disappointed in the lack of an ending, or even an ending screen; unless it bugged or something went wrong, when I finally killed the boss at the end, I was just left in an empty room that I couldn't leave. After the difficult fight, I was hoping for something, if only a "congratulations."

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:59am

Very addicting gameplay and very fun mechanics. Everything feels incredibly satisfying to do. This definitely had me hooked for a few hours, haha.

Dimatt says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:33am

Very tight mechanics and controls, combat and movement feels great! I also love how this game teaches the player it's mechanics without any text at the beginning. Cool entry yo!

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:02am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description. (you can already find several games from the jam there)

NoobDude29 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:05am

I wanted to play your game , but when i hit the start button the game does not start.

djfariel says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:30am

@NoobDude29 Hey, what version of the game are you playing? I haven't had this issue so I'm not sure why it's happening!

@steph88 Thanks. We'll look in to it!

@Dimatt Thanks a bunch. The main goal is to teach the player how to play without telling them. We didn't know how to teach the player about the dash, though, so we fell a little short.

@TeamKawaiiju Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it. I recommend playing the newest build. The boss is actually fun now!

@jayemjee Thanks! While I'm also not a huge fan of extra lives, I feel that they really did the job well here. You should try one of our older games -- they're completely unforgiving. We were honestly going for a Megaman feel with the spikes, but I can see Sonic, too. Same difference. Sorry you didn't like them! The boss is fixed now, though. We put him together in the last hour of the jam and didn't get to do near what we wanted. Sorry for the disappointment, but he's fixed in the newest version if you want to give it a shot! :)

Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:56am

That was really fun, but I wish the lives worked in a different way. After getting to the boss the first time, I died and had to start from the very beginning again to beat the boss (which was pretty frustrating). Overall it was super fun to play though (I really liked the blobby enemies that chased you through some of the platforming parts).

starlightzone says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:39am

A lot of fun! Really impressive level design and mechanics for a game jam game. I sort of got stuck and didn't know where to go after getting Double Jump but I saw enough of the game to get the gist. The green firefly... thingies are the stuff of nightmares.

Bendev says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:47am

Really fun game! The graphics and music are awesome. The mechanics are great and the level design is really good too. Some SFX are too loud and I felt it was a little too dark, maybe making the light a little stronger would make the game more fun to me. Great game overall, congrats!

KingEthaniel says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:48am

Wow. REALLY great main character animations and art all around. Nice feel to shooting, and dashing. What's an action game without a good dash? Really cool entry overall.

ciaodavinci says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 4:12am

Fun game. The character is great, I love its speed.

Insality says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 5:53am

Wow!!!
Got the wow-effect, how many you have done on this ld
so a lot work on game dynamic and level design. The game feels very good. Good job!

qzqxq says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:41am

The graphics are super nice (only complaint is that the font on the coins/lives seems out of place), and the music is fun. I really liked the movement: everything felt super tight and satisfying, except for maybe walljumping because there seems to be a small delay between touching the wall and "hugging" the wall. The whole metroidvania feel was also executed very well, e.g. figuring out where to go after getting the double jump.

One of the more frustrating things was how dark the game was: dying because you don't know what's beneath you always feels kind of bad, especially combined with lethal spikes. Also it was kind of weird seeing the bullets flying through the dark; I think it would feel a lot more natural if they faded into the darkness, or if they illuminated a small area around them.

I also wasn't a fan of the blue blob things chasing you around. I think they can make short sections of a game exciting because you have to move fast and dodge (the part where you had to shoot ~6 charge shots at relics on various platforms was very fun), but when they're constantly chasing you, it just feels annoying.

But my complaints are mostly minor polish issues anyways. Overall this was a ton of fun, and I am really impressed with how much content there is!

simple_blue says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:29am

Pretty good gameplay. The title screen really got me excited. I didn't make it very far, admittedly because I'm trying to get through a lot of games, but this definitely has some potential.

The music was fun. Gameplay was great. The enemies are pretty threatening and the atmosphere lends to that. Good work overall. Pretty impressive.

NoobDude29 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:30am

Neither the first version nor the second wants to start, i dont know whats really happening it may be my computer or something...

WERT Studio says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:43am

graphics, music, light effects ;), controls everthing is on point well done

Mr. Chelnoque says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:24am

In a both compo and post-compo windows versions "New Game" button doesn't seems to react on anything, but the "Quit" button works. Funny.
Would like to play if you find a way to fix it, or explain me, what I'm doing wrong.

Lonely Vertex says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:39am

Holy F! That was amazing! Precisely done, good gameplay and the best atmosphere from all games I've played yet. Even though I'm not a huge fan of this art style, it just somehow was the right one. Super polished, finished game! Very good job.

I just found few small things I would fix. First one, I had my mouse visible and the buttons didn't respond to my clicks. If you want to control your game just with keyboard, hide the mouse. Second one, just add some effect after you click on New Game. I had to wait few seconds before the level started and some people could think its not working at all. Simple fade out would be enough.

Awesome!

fusionnist says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:58pm

Pretty hard to start with, but once you get accustomed to the controls and the movement it's a really fun game. Good job!

djfariel says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:43pm

@Mr. Chelnoque
@NoobDude29
What operating system are you running? The Linux and OSX versions are untested, as we have access to neither. Otherwise, try clicking on the Play Game button and wait a few seconds - it might just be slow for you.

djfariel says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:06pm

@Mr. Chelnoque
@NoobDude29
Otherwise, if that doesn't work, close the game, reopen it, and without clicking anything, press the Z, J, or Spacebar keys. That should start the game from the menu if the "New Game" button is selected.

Mr. Chelnoque says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:10pm

@djfariel it's windows. I've waited around 30 seconds, no reaction. The feather blinks red when I press mouse button on "Play Game", music still playing, nothing more happen. Space button does nothing either (and feather doesn't even blink). But "Quit" reacts well on both.

djfariel says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:13pm

@Mr. Chelnoque
That's baffling. If you don't mind sending the output log to fariel at unibearstudio dot com that might help me figure out what's going on.
It's located in the "nomore_data" folder next to the game's executable, and called output_log.txt.

Peringo says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Pretty good entry! I like the graphics, level design and the controlls! But the enemies are dropping a bit too much money (e.g. I had 96 lives at the end of my gameplay :P). And maybe shrink the cd of the dash, it's more comfortable.

Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:46pm

The dark atmosphere and retro music is great. It's a bit hard at first with the controls but you get used to. I find myself going to places I could not get out from and had to restart from checkpoint

Sep 1, 2016 @ 12:11am

This played way better with a game pad than keyboard, was so happy to see support for it.
The controls/level of control felt awesome, especially for a game jam, just wow.
The level is so big that I started to get a little bit lost, and was having some trouble finding the right doors. Really, really well done.

monkeybit29 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:29am

this was really well designed! The way the mechanics were evolved over time and the reintroduction of enemies that coudn't be beat before. on top of that, the music and art was great. one of my favorites! great job!

Sep 1, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Very fun game! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36 games, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ZBKvUw84G7I

RafaSKB says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 12:30am

I really love the graphics of this game, especially the lighting! In fact lighting goes well everywhere haha. I played the Mac version, so probably didn't include the post-jam fixes you mention in the itch.io page, although I found it super fun and didn't really find any bugs while playing.

I didn't reach the boss though, failed miserably on the several spikes and those falling totems that are absurdly hard, although the challenge is part of the game, so that's OK.

The flying orb enemies are awesome, I wish there were more of them. It feels super satisfying and rewarding to destroy those drones and collect their shards and coins, whatever that is for.

Good game :)

juxipolo says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 1:58am

(played post-LD build) The player moves really well, that dash feels real good and the animation is nice. The game does feel somewhat empty, though. There's a lot of space between challenges even with the dash, and the darkness around you magnifies that.

I got the charge shot, but not to the boss. It seems like there is an impressive amount of content in here. I might have kept trying if the game didn't reset :(

dreamlogician says ...
Sep 14, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Stressful at times, but lots of fun overall! It reminded me of a Treasure game in all the best ways.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]