Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Roma Evolution [Zen Experience Type Game]

by Zeriver - Jam Entry

You are playing as Praefectus (roman city overseer) who must expand his province and defend it from barbarians.
Every day you will have to make a decision which will influence city. Read carefully popup windows and keep an eye on your province's needs.
(Gameplay instruction is inside game)
It's more of a "zen experience", just take your time, read text, choose wisely and watch your city grow.
I wanted to add more gameplay mechanics but i run out of time. Anyway i hope you will enjoy playing.
DISCLAIMER: Options during siege/raid don't matter, they are there purely for cosmetic/comedic purpose.

Controls: mouse

Soundtrack was made by my friend, here is his youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCwwsRV8QC06KpyPaLUPRXfQ

Everything except 3 textures and music was made by me in 48 hours.
Programs used: Unity, Visual Studio, 3ds max studio, Photoshop

Downloads and Links


Comments

QwaKlak says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:44am

Nice concept. In my opinion you should add somthing like gold.

amras0000 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:35pm

If you're running on unity, you could probably make a linux build without too much hassle. I know a lot of LD people prefer the system and wine doesn't like unity games with spaces in their titles, don't ask me why.

bossinc says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:15am

Nicely made. I don't know if my decisions matter in the game and a lot of options confuse me. Like if I build a wall and the red cubes attack should I go and face them or choose the other option?

holgk says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:48am

In addition to what amras0000 said a webGL build with unity is easy too. By only publishing for windows you limiting your audience. I liked the game very much. I always wanted to choose both options. Tip for the next game style the ui. In my opinion the default unity ui style destroys the mood (a litle bit). Something that matches the rest of the game.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:04pm

Nice concept, although I'd love an option to speed up the game

Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Nicely made indeed, i wonder indeed if my decision actually affects the gameplay, i would like to think so ;) I like it ;)

Lakrits says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Died on day 12, noooo! At least my people lost while being 100% happy.

It was pretty fun, three options instead of two would have been nice though. As well as being able to understand what exactly increase in technology for example does. The large sudden step from mine to laser mine took me off guard a bit. Thought for sure my lasers would ensure victory in every battle, guess I shouldn't have left the laser mines unguarded!

Coomzy says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:58pm

I like the idea, but I really feel like my choices didn't have any real effect, and I didn't even know what some of those choices were lol. Gameplay was too shallow.

burjandedy says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:51pm

I liked the idea and the game too. It's a really challenging game also. Good work! :)

SuperMsp10 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:27pm

Windows link goes to a .7z file, not sure what to do with this.

MrBrenan says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Dude, this is really great !
I've player to the last battle against barbarians and I loose...
But the game is cool, the concept is really cool, even if graphics are a bit ugly ,this is not a big problem because it stays simple and coherent.
Everything is well explained in game and a few sentences are enough to understand what to do.
Even if you just choose between some options, you really feel having an impact on the things and seeing your city growing up is really cool.

Is it normal that with a plague and a raid preparing for the next day my hapiness was a 90% ^^

Don't worry, this is a really great job and I loved this game :)

Josho says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:51pm

Cool Idea!

Aerohand says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:06am

Nice work! It is very obvious u dont know much about art stuff so the use of unity tools to build ur own assets and represent them as an empire is really cool!
I feel the cycle of life now...

qikcik says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:30am

very cool idea and execution, but you can see with a little unfinished, probably for lack of time :P and there are a few bugs, but do not przszkadzają in rozgrzywce eg. the guy passes through the wall :P, the game makes a lot of fun, cool animation day and night, a lot of Content , interestingly designed, simple (in a good sense), Cool Game, good job :D
ps. sorry for my bad english :P

tmpxyz says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 11:10am

A peaceful game, I love watching those small people running around.

It would be better to see them walk between the city hall and the workplace.

Lênon Kramer says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 11:29am

Very interesting idea, and very clever the way you used the basic tools to make your art assets without making the game look ugly. :)

It is fun, I laughed a lot with the "laser mines", and the battle options. The game also feels good, the music was a really nice touch.

I lost on day 8. My army had some good tech, but we were overwhelmed by sheer numbers, it seems. My population was still 1200. But the happiness was 100%. :D

stenol says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Very cool idea. I love game with Roma theme.

WERT Studio says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:24pm

pretty need idea but the art is terrible sorry but i coudn´t see a style but as i said the main game is pretty relaxing

gassasin says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:00pm

Very cool idea i hope u dont abandon this project ! Bigud dickus XD

akai_0okami says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 12:19am

Fun game, I liked the humour and the simple art didn't bother me that much.

Tygrak says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 9:11pm

I really liked the game! It was really chill, the music really helped it! I really loved how it dynamically added the buildings and at one point zoomed out. The day/night cycle looked awesome too! Biggus Dickus is a really dangerous barbarian too, so I am happy my city succesfuly defended from him :D.

Sep 3, 2016 @ 10:47am

It's really a prototype but you should continue, the gameplay is simple but efficient and relaxing

ikroth says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 12:55am

Awesome game! It is really tranquil. The simple decisions in the game feel very meaningful. Playing this is the most relaxing thing I've done all day!

thenanox says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 11:57am

its beautiful and enjoyable to play it.

in gameplay terms, i would like less time between days, and more decisions, not only two (at least till day 10 i arrived) :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Enjoyed playing that!

ramoncb says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 3:30am

Good job! You have implemented a lot of stuff, even for a jam entry! I imagine that was not easy to make the AI and day/night cycle!

I don't know much about how works the game mechanics for a resource management game but I think that things like 'technology' and 'defense' are important to be properly listed, since the battles are not won just by the size of the army.

Maybe in a future update you could list those things like ranks (A,B,C,D), and tell how much the tower (knowing one day before the attack) influences the defense. Also, tell the size and attack power of the barbarians. Perhaps the tutorial could be a little slower too.

I think you already have a good base to make the game even more complex and interesting. Keep working on it! And sorry my broken english. ^^

PlasmaErnst says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Cool concept, it was fun. Especially watching the workers running around. Town got conquered on day 12, army to small. If you could play on as the conquerors, it would be an endless game haha!

xesenix says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 1:09am

I liked that biguss dicus joke from monty python. Nice way of telling a story if you used it to tell story of some actual ancient city that would be even more interesting. instead of counting in days i would use months or years but then that day night cycle wouldn't work. Aqueduct would need some altitude change to work it would look better if that river float from mountains. Last wave needs some victory screen. I did not see any reasons to build watch tower maybe if it suggested more survivability for your army?

Generally interesting concept for story telling but this kind lets say it shalov game play needs some stunning visuals as compensation and there wasnt enough time for such effect.

hermetic says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 3:29pm

Cool game. Nice visuals. Relaxing background music.
I suppose I beat it, since it went into an non-stop day-night cycle.

Seems like a good concept, kind of like Civilization for a single city. Binary choices make it sort of like a which-way or choose-your-own-adventure book. Unfortunately, there were so few choices that you didn't really lose anything that you didn't pick up almost immediately a couple days later. There also wasn't any resource management, so you basically had no drawbacks to choosing the best option each time.

Still, pretty decent game for a couple days work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]