Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Run Grab Escape

by Kizler - Jam Entry

Run Grab Escape is a Platformer where you play as Butterman(That's pronounced Buttermin) who found ancient entertainment devices and wishes to grab them all before... well time runs out.


*******************************
This is my 5th entry to Ludum Dare I've brought in more friends to help. Having a larger group we tried a somewhat larger project. Unfortunately only having 48 hours put a damper on things. I was able to learn to work within Unity even better than before and here's our platform game to show it off. We tried something fun with the music, it breaks roughly 25% of the time (Which is still a lot).
*******
I just went ahead and updated the links with post Jam versions. If the post Jam versions are still producing errors please let me know in the comments below.

*******
Credits

Robert Hornbek
Game Design
Level Design

Marc Manalli
Character Animation

Tim Panella
Sound & Music


Troy D Patterson
Game Design
Programming

Downloads and Links


Comments

ajayajayaj says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:22am

Looks really awesome, but I can't really move because the movement speed is really slow. Is this supposed to happen, if so that is fine, but it is extremely slow.

Kizler says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:22am

@ajayajayaj Attempting to fix it, let me know if this works. It worked for the other person but they were on OSX and it ran too fast. I implemented your Delta Time suggestion so hopefully that was it.

OSX
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/962987/RunGrabEscape_osx_v03.zip

Windows
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/962987/RunGrabEscape_Windows_v03.zip

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:47am

I tried your new version and the speed is fine. Looks pretty too! But I really do not like teh amount of slipping for a precision platformer. :< Managed to get most of the items but was stuck down below, unable to get up in teh end. >.<

8Keys Studios says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:37am

I'm on OSX. Tried the submitted version, and Butterman moved at MAXIMUM WARP and every surface vibrated. V03 is much easier to control and seems to solve the environment shuddering issues. I was able to get all but one of the devices - the last one was just too frustrating. The length of his glide-on-stop makes the game challenging - was that chosen because he's made of butter? Either way, neat visual and a fun soundtrack.

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:03am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description. (you can already find several games from the jam there)

ajayajayaj says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Very cool game. The new version is so much better. I always get trapped in the bottom left corner because of lag spikes, but other than that, I think this is a great. Those half blocks seem impossible to climb (I think that is just my computer's fault though.

Thanks for fixing it! I'm kind of confused what the blocks missing parts are. You can go through them, are they anything special, or just like no block was there at all.

SbstnC says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 11:37am

I liked the feeling of the character, his jump, and his weight, but I think he slips too much for that kind of precise platforming. Also there is a glitch I encountered four times, where the character just keep running left by himself.

Nice animations, and sounds. Liked how the character sits when he gets hit, he's cute.
But still

mitya1234 says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 10:46am

Nice entry but after grabbing the second item the game ui show some glitches. And character movement speed raised. My OS is El Capitan.

Skosnowich says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 8:29am

The music and the sounds were awesome, but the music was a little bit too loud in comparison to the sounds.

The character movement was strange, it felt like walking on ice the whole time, so I fell into many many spikes. :D Because the death animation is slightly too long, it was a bit frustrating for me.

The graphics look really cool, I like that style. Combined with the music, it was a really funky experience.
Altogther it was nice game and it was fun to play.

repstyle says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 12:50pm

Hum, character is running like 20 times the speed he should run imo. It made me going out of bounds and falling forever forcing me to close and restart the game (because there's no restart command).
The speed makes it nearly impossible to chosse where you wanna go.

The walls are shaking for no reason.
I can't really try these game because of the unmanageable character.
Next time i encourage you to work on the core of your gameplay first.

Kizler says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 11:02pm

Hello all, thanks again for the feedback. I've been working on this game while attempting to play the games of others.

I'd especially like to thank @ajayajayaj, for the DeltaTime fix.

@mitya1234 I wish I had saw the glitch/bug that happened. I am unable to replicate. If I can find it I'll try and fix it for future version.

@Skosnowich I'll keep your audio concerns in to consideration. I had a lot I was trying with the audio, I never paid attention to the levels. :(

@repstyle The issues you mentioned were fixed in a version left in the comments above. Unfortunately for me, the initial release didn't have any of the issues speed and vibrating on my three test machines. Also, because of your falling forever issue, I've added the "~" key to restart the game.


I've managed to get the sliding to stop, and if you're reading this and willing to play again, I've uploaded a new link for a WebGL version. Unless there's a show stopping glitch that needs to be fixed I won't update this game any more.
http://troydpatterson.com/go2016/ld36/Web/

This ought to fix the sliding issue. I also attempted to fix the camera.

OSX
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/962987/RunGrabEscape_osx_v4.zip

Windows
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/962987/RunGrabEscape_Windows_v4.zip

mato26 says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 11:52pm

I really like the music and the character is cute :D even thoughh it might seem like an easy game from the screenshots it is not :D its really dificult to navigate around with that big sidespeed :D but its funny and challenging (and I like the idea of putting some old school things in there to collect) Good game I had enjoyed it :)

Casevse says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 2:16pm

I love the graphics and music, but the is a problem with the movement speed. In my case, it's very fast and is impossible to evade the obstacles. By the way, good work.

gurkan96 says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 10:58am

so seems to bee a fun plattformer but i have the same problem as many others with the game running way to fast :(

teamBallShui says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Really cool little platformer, I spent quite a bit of time playing it! The animations are awesome and I also like the music and sound effects, specially the scratchy one. I do have a couple of suggestions though:

- The character controller could need a bit of work, I felt like the character movement didn't respond precisely to my inputs. I suppose you used a Rigidbody2D for the movement, am I correct? If so, I'd advise you to try a controller that uses raycasts instead, since you usually don't really want to have physics-based movement in a platformer. That way, you have full control over how you want your character to behave. I do understand though, that time is tight in a jam :D

- This is just my opinion, but I think I would have preferred no tiles instead of the tiles you just fall through.

Other than that you guys did a good job :)

Kizler says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 11:01pm

@teamBallShui I though that using Rigidbody2D would've sped up my time, because this is my first platformer in Unity. Man was I wrong. I spent so much time trying to get the slope working properly. I couldn't properly put in all the blocks. A good 25% of the game had to be cut due to time constraints, those half blocks were suppose to crumble when walked on but I told my team "NO! I can't DO anymore :`("

ragnta says ...
Sep 7, 2016 @ 7:01pm

It was amazing! A little bit hard, but I like your graphics and sound. Thank you!

BloodJohn says ...
Sep 9, 2016 @ 8:29am

Great animation of the hero, percussive sound, cool obstacles. But for casual onlookers like me - very difficult level. No chance to win - it's depressing.

SamuelSousa says ...
Sep 12, 2016 @ 5:19pm

The good: Like the charater animation very much. And music was also enjoyable.

The bad: Level design was frustrating, Very tight space left for movements. Characters movement is to slippery. Jumping too is low.

A project with potential.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]