Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Sentinel

by Ilseroth - Competition Entry

A woman wanders into a destroyed town, far too late to prevent the catastrophe. All that's left is to do her duty.

Controls:

WASD to move
Right Click to enter Targetting Mode
Left Click to throw (In targetting mode)
Q or E to switch Targets (in targetting mode)
Space to Jump

This will be my 5th entry to Ludum Dare and I am pretty chuffed with it. Though I definitely thing that some things could be improved upon, for 2 days work I like it.

NOTE: The Web Player's performance is kinda meh. If you have issues playing the game with it, consider DLing the standalone client.

Downloads and Links


Comments

geekguy100 says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Really cool! Nice graphics and really loved the targeting mode. Not a big issue, but the camera was a little funky to control. Overall, great game!

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Fixed the camera issue, somethign that should have been fixed a long time ago.

Jod says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:02am

Well done! Loved the Shadow of the Colossus vibe. Can really see something great in this.

Joff says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:58am

I am loving the art work, all in all a good game I would recommend the download rather than the browser version though it makes it a bit easier to play.

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:59am

One of the best entries I've seen so far. I'm a fan of big monster fights and stuff, so this is a really really darn good entry for me. Thumbs up.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:10pm

Wow, the best thing here is the atmosphere. The 4 short lines of text really sell the creepiness of the 'Sentinel', and give a great sense of history and lore. The combat was a lot more in depth than I first thought it would be, gave a real boss fight/Shadow of the Colossus feel.

For a game in 48 hours you should be very impressed with yourself!

QwaKlak says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:10pm

Well designed game animated and graphicalQuality is good.

Bentou says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:27pm

Wow, I'm impressed with how good it is! And you made it in 48 hours!

Boss movements are really varied. I like that he reacts according to my position, instead of attacking blindly. Combat mechanic is solid.

I'd like to see it developed further.

zulman says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Grayscale, winter, giant robot - never thought about this combination, but looks awesome. You have to build it for VR!

I don't get why big robot wants to kill me and looks like subtitles are out of screen (Chrome OSX, 1920x1080). Sound i also very very fine for atmosphere :)

wilsk says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:29pm

Looks great and plays pretty smoothly. Thanks.

Ghen says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:31pm

really cool game!, the assets simply beautiful, mellow music and mellow white tint color of the assets mix very well
the gameplay also cool, the control feels great, the boomerang movement a bit weird, but its cool
this is impressive :D

quentinus60 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:35pm

really good game ! good job :D

Waterman7 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:38pm

I loved the mood in this, really well done!
Only minor thing I noticed was the camera cuts when toggling targeting mode where a bit harsh and disorienting at times. A little bit of lerp would have helped a lot I think.

ninja00283 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:43pm

48 hours...
Whow...
And thats only the time you could use..
now the harsh bit.
the view could...needs improvement.
But when you aimed it was pretty good.
The animations needs work, but that's pollish.
So great game could be greater.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:04pm

I love this game! I did have difficulties with the camera, especially when walking close to the sentinel to retrieve the weapon. Other than that, a very creative and fun game!

CMLSC says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:07pm

For some reason I was lime always rolling on the ground.
Also, this is the first LD game to lag on my pc, so it could use some optimization.
Otherwise, I would say it's a pretty good game.

TheMightySice says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:10pm

Graphics: Simply awesome. The grayscale fits perfectly
Sound: Was okay
Gameplay: Is good. The switch form targeting mode back to normal mode could be better, but the rest is okay
Animations: The robot itself is pretty good animated, but the walking animation could be better

Overall: Nice game with good visuals and fun to play. Keeping in mind only 48hours of development: Almost perfect!

dietzribi says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:15pm

Okay this was really awesome.
The graphics and the settings were really great, I also liked the gibberish talk.
One thing that could be improved is that the camera points at a weird direction when you switch from the target to the free-cam.
I felt really badass running between his legs

Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:15pm

This looks really good for a 48h game, I am impressed. It shows that you know what you wanted to do and had a clear design in mind. It gives me a Shadow of the Colossus vibe. Only thing I can say against it is how slow the browser version works and the trowing physics are a bit off. Overall a very good game that knows what it wants to be.

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:23pm

@CMLSC Well the Unity HTML5 is going to be laggy, especially with a 3d game. My guess is it was so laggy it was timing out the grounded timeout, so the animator thought it was always airborne.
@TheMightySice Yeah the walking animation is garbage. I just needed something functional.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:28pm

The game is really good - it reminds me of one of the old Unity Demos. The battle is really awesome (owing this to art and animation) and the music was fitting. My only thing criticism would be that the camera control is still a bit shaky. Amazing work - one of the best games so far.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:30pm

I'm really impresed by this game. The game feel and the core mechanics works pretty well. The text works well introducing you to the world and the nature of the Sentinels. The animations of the player character and weapon needs some improvements but i like the Sentinels animations. The inspiration from Shadow of the Colossus is evident but it doesn´t detract from his merits. Very good entry.

RafaCP says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:36pm

Well done!
Nice atmosphere!
History, music and art came together nicely to give this particular feel.
Smart use of the same house with different levels of "destruction".
Nice models, awesome robot!
Just didn't like the camera, if felt a little jerky, made me feel motion sickness.
You should have limited the robot's rotation during other animations, it made much harder (in an unfair way) to hit the targets since the weapon moves in a slow arch.
Also, maybe you should leave the target mode after shooting, since you can only throw one shot at a time.
After throwing all you care about is avoiding the robot and to go get the weapon back. Maybe you should change the target to the weapon in target mode, even as it moves. Make if move faster and spin faster, add some slow motion, would look really nice!
Great job anyway, it's a solid LD game!

wheerd says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:56pm

Really impressive for 48 hours! I loved the boss fight mechanic, even though the hitbox seemed a bit buggy sometimes.
Maybe it would be nice if the aim mode ended as soon as you throw. Also, I got stuck on the way to the robot on some invisible wall the first time. Overall, one of the best games I have seen so far, really great work!

g_o says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:15pm

It's kinda hard for me to believe this was all made by one person! in 48 hours!
Are you a pro in these kind of things?
Like you made 5 Shadow of the Colossus-like games?
And boss fights?
Because you really need to be experienced and incredibly talented to pull this off!

I mean this has snow effects (from the sky to the flying snow piles), aiming mechanism (camera work isn't easy, and actually wasn't perfect in your entry as well), absolutely amazing animations!
Thoroughly impressive, I really want to know a bit behind how you made this (you see, time management in LD is one of the hardests aspects in LD for me).

g_o says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:17pm

P.S play in the windows version the WebGL is kinda awful performance-wise

franklyn says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:46pm

Really fun mechanics and i love the atmosphere!

cortica says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:02pm

Well done. Nice game atmosphere

asteryz says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:54pm

This had an great style and atmosphere. It was fun to see an oldschool boss battle in a gamejam game for once!

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:22pm

@g_o actually it was my first time dealing with a large character as an enemy, in fact, as for Ludum dares (and really in general) it was my first time dealing with a orbiting third person camera other then some small testing.

g_o says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:47pm

@Ilseroth
Well then.
It's fuc*ing crazy.
I mean I try to wrap my head around what helped you make it in time.. like - perhaps the grey scale because it spares you the whole texturing and coloring and stuff so you had more time to work on animation and camera. I just don't know.. to be honest for what it seems it looks pretty close (dare I say) to a finished boss scene out of a full, selling game. It's kinda nuts if you really made it 48 hours. You should be proud or.. do it for a living or something haha

joemag says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:08pm

Verrry cool. Shadow of the Colossus meets The Iron Giant. Lotta fun, interesting swapping between the two perspectives, great aesthetics. Great work.

Wevel says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Very nice art style and an interesting aim mechanic.

johnbjuice says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:22pm

The atmosphere and sense of scale are really great! Love the color design as well - despite the limited grayscale palate, I never felt lost or couldn't find my disk-thingy. I felt very in control of my character and played the game through to the end. Definitely some Shadow of the Colossus vibes going on here, but the disk throwing mechanic made it a very different kind of game.

On the subject of the disk, I liked its strange flying patterns a lot, though sometimes I felt very out of control of it! Then of course, that added to the sense of hopelessness which made the atmosphere so great, so perhaps it was a good thing.

I am not a fan of Instant Death™ though! Pretty frustrating when you get barely nicked by the robot's toe and have to start from the beginning. But hey, it conveys scale/danger even further! But perhaps not worth the frustration. Maybe you could have the character go unconscious? Shadow of the Colossus does that really well.

Also, I would have liked a simpler control scheme - that fourth button (left, right, space, and Q or E) made things just a bit confusing for the beginning of the fight. It also wasn't clear to me at first that Q/E did the same thing! Perhaps you could fold together the right click and Q/E and make a system like Zelda Z-Targeting? Might be tricky though. Jumping also felt kind of pointless, to be honest. Perhaps in an expanded version of this game it would be more used as a mechanic.

On the subject of cameras, I think your camera work here is mostly great! I've got one gripe and one compliment. Gripe - when you de-target, the camera jumping to the overhead view of my character was initially VERY disorienting! Would have liked a different angle to be the default, perhaps forward from the character's point of view. Compliment - the sharp upward angles of the other cameras worked very well for emphasizing the size of the sentinel! Foreboding!

Finally, I wasn't a huge fan of the sound design here. It wasn't bad, but you definitely could have gotten more out of it. Big bassy sounds for the robot would have punched the game up a lot, and it would have been great for the music to get more intense for the fight.

Overall, despite my nitpicks above, very great work on this - seriously, it's so impressive that you made something this great in 48 hours, and you could definitely expand this game into something really special in the future!

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:13am

@johnbjuice Actually, you can take 3 hits before you die, it's not instant death. (The health bar is in the top Left corner)

As for the camera, yeah that's probably my biggest issue with my game. And for "bassy" sounds, I did them as bassy as I felt reasonable for a game most people will play in their browser, and that I don't have an volume bar in.

KevKevOnFire says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:36am

Fantastic style, you did a great job keeping the game readable in greyscale. Impressive for the time you had. I'm going to have to repeat the issue with the camera, as well as a lack of clarity on when your weapon would or would not hit, as well as when your character would get hit. The clarity on where your weapon was, and when to pick it up, however, was fantastic.

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:08am

@KevKevOnFire : Yeah the camera is pretty bad, as for when your character gets hit, any time you get hit by a missile/touched by the robot; I considered making it only do damage when he's in an attack, but decided against it when it introduced a bug that the undamaging boxes could throw the player in weird ways.

As for when your player hits, it does start shooting steam from the pipes with a sound queue, but I could see that being missed since the camera swaps to the next pipe, and music, and giant robot groans and ect. I suppose a nice solid CLANG and KADUUUSH would have been a better "you dun good" indicator.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:43am

Wow, that's a Titan! Retard he is in good health. I need more time to figure out how to defeat it. Graphics stylish.

imogiagames says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:55am

Very nice poetic atmosphere, and perfect us of greytones color palette. The low poly look is cleverly used too.
The opening screen instantly gives the feeling of it.
The character animation is a bit halted. Also when in targeting mode it's hard to figure the character's movement.
Very well done coming up with a 3d game in 48hours!

skorpyo says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:13am

wow, i wish i could do that much in such a short time

lonesurvivor says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:38am

Great game! The first game I saw with a "real" boss fight. It felt pretty solid (for such a short amount of time) and also challenging (couldn't kill it). The different attacks are nice. The music is also good and fitting.
Good work!

SetTheBet says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:26am

Well done! I like the atmosphere in the game. both music/sound (are you whistling in the microphone???) and the greyscaled art.
Camera is a little bit funky still.

Amine Tcherak says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:34am

Very Nice i love your Game Good Works )=

ValiaP says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:11pm

Nice graphic! The moment i found a giant robot in the end of the road, it suddenly reminds me of "The Shadow of Colosuss". The throwing and picking mechanic was cool but the dodge(Space) was kind of tricky. And the camera switching was a bit frustrating -- sometimes when I quit lock mode, I will find myself staring at ground and I was slayed by a cannonball.

xesenix says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Very good game.. One thing i could add is that you can lose more health if robot hits you with two parts of its body like you were kicked and fall on his arm.

DiegoCTorguet says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:25pm

As some others say, the Shadow of the Colossus influence is really cool!
Nice job here, one of the best games in the compo so far.

justinooncx says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:29pm

This game is dripping with atmosphere, and despite the somewhat low graphics, it still comes together quite nicely. The lock on was a little wonky, with the robot being so tall that the camera would be at an odd angle. Makes it really hard to avoid the bullets. Otherwise, very well done, a pretty cool game!

Decentsauce says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:56pm

Very cool entry! Felt like a The Legend of Zelda: Windwaker boss. I downloaded the game because in the web version the controls wouldn't work for me.(Though it did run fine!)

Headmade says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:33am

Very nice entry! Moody and coherent art style and considering the time constraints the animations and modeling is respectable.

It seems like you would have preferred the theme "one enemy" though ;)

colapolka says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:04am

Wait, you did this in 48 hours?
Way to make me feel insecure about my own entry, haha.

What is there to say about this? It's great. The visuals in particular. And I don't talk just about the graphics. The moment when you take that first turn in the village and you see the giant robot in the far - brilliant.

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:41am

@Headmade
Actually Ancient Tech was surprisingly exactly the theme I wanted. I looked at the votes for the previous sections and Ancient Tech had won by a landslide; and when I asked myself "what would I do if Ancient tech won" this was pretty much the game that popped into mind.

oab says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 7:26am

Good game. I hope it has more enemy. :)

nardelli says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Fantastic game! I played in web mode (I use Linux). The mouse hurt me a little when exit the canvas but the Shadow of Colossus atmosphere is great!
Congratulations! What about a Linux version? :D

AlexLamarche says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 8:00pm

Overall a good game. Reminds me of Shadow of the Colossus.

The only issues I had were the camera being weird and the projectile being slow. The projectile kept hitting other parts of the robots body and made it hard to hit the last couple pipes.

The thing that I liked the most was the art style. I liked how the robot was huge and how the colors were limited.

Sep 11, 2016 @ 1:48pm

Both myself and my chat were comparing this to low-poly Shadow of the Colossus, and that was not at all a bad thing. The scale of the sentinal was terrifying but it just added to an overall great atmosphere.


We played your game over on twitch too. Check it out here: https://www.twitch.tv/cantgetourname/v/88793643

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]