Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Heat Ray Defense

by BoltKey - Competition Entry

Defend the coast of Sicily back in ancient Greece using mirrors, light and knowledge of physics.

Click a mirror and drag left and right to rotate it. Damage ships by pointing light at them. If two or more beams focus the same ship, it catches on fire, which damages it over time.

In between rounds you can buy upgrades. The "Better focus!" upgrade makes beams maintain their power when moved and regain power after moving faster.

When a ship gets through your defense, it kills one of your people. Archimedes dies when he is the last man standing. If he gets killed, the game is over.

Downloads and Links


Comments

ReboundGames says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 6:55pm

The art is pretty funny, and the effect on the water is cool. I wish the beams went all the way to a 90 degree angle though, because it's frustrating when a ship hasn't reached the land yet but I can't hit it. Held my attention for longer than I expected.

psilon says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 7:04pm

Great theme usage. Fun gameplay, i played three times with diffferent upgrades. it's great.

Traf d-Lo says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 7:37pm

LoL, best game I've played so far, well done!

SetTheBet says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 8:14pm

Great idea, great theme and really well done executed. Love the small comments from the people and the powerups. Could definitely be made into a bigger mobile game! Had some frustration with the angles, yes

McMutton says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Nice game. I like the upgrade system. :)

A bit more speed would be nice though... (but no high speed ships in ancient times ^^)

Aug 28, 2016 @ 10:54pm

This is fun! Though I think I'm too uncoordinated to line up the mirrors efficiently. :) I could see expanding on the idea. Being able to setup mirrors to reflect beams to get around walls or other obstacles could add another element to the game.

Great job!

demogorgon says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 11:02pm

I wish the mirrors were easier to control. That's really my biggest issue. The broken Latin instead of Greek really fits the entire spirit of Ludum Dare perfectly. It's sad I can't rate this game highly, but if there were ratings, I would.

CMLSC says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 11:11pm

That art though. XD
I actually heard about the "ancient technology" you used in this game! :D
I really like the concept. The game could use some polishing though.

Swampie says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:31am

Good job! I enjoyed this even though I'm pretty bad at it

MaTeX-7seven says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:04am

The game has a solid gameplay nice work ^^ sometimes the mirrors followed the mouse even after releasing but overall pretty fun

pogo575 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:18am

That was very enjoyable. It was hard to aim the mirrors for me. Maybe cycle through them and have which ever is selected aim at the mouse instead of trying to tilt them by clicking on them.

jsonbee says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:51am

:) fun concept. Unique idea.. maybe a sound effect to indicate the damage of the enemies would be a simple addition :)

indieyp says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Good game + update system

PanicTheFirst says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:13pm

We had the same idea but a little bit different execution.
I like your approach, too. Especially the upgrades. Good Work. :)

Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:52pm

Cool twist on the missile defense type games and pretty charming. This Ludum Dare is all about learning history (ok, not really but this one is at least).

kingpirux says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:16am

xD lol it's nice and have its own spirit, but its quite brute in graphics, maybe with something more polished the game is going to be magnific

n42k says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:17am

I like it! I originally wanted to do something similar to this.
Wish I could point the mirrors to my mouse though instead of dragging them around. But maybe that is part of the difficulty of the game?

BoltKey says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:57pm

@n42k Thanks for feedback. I wanted to simulate a bit the difficulty of precise aiming of light with mirrors in real life. You have to move them carefully and estimate where the light lands, unlike for example guns where you see exactly where you aim with gunsight. I was playing a bit with the idea of having some handles on the other side of the mirrors which you could manipulate, but it turned out to be weird.

euske says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 3:03pm

I was always buying the beam power like crazy. Nice game.

Sep 2, 2016 @ 1:39am

I like the idea, it has some potential. Would improve the control of the mirrors, often I lost control for no apparent reason. Also the game over screen with all the letters mixed up is something I would fix now.

Linus123xbb says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 5:41pm

Awesome game man, it was definitely one of the best ones I have played this ludum dare. It involved a lot of strategy which I always find is something that a lot of games in ludum dare lack. Great fun!

Sep 7, 2016 @ 1:36am

Cool game, the controls were awkward. It would be easier if you could select the mirrors by clicking on the beams or you could see which mirror was selected. Other than that the game was really fun and I like the humor.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]