Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Orion

by PixelStuff - Jam Entry

Help Orion to go back home safely with his magic cuff by collecting stars power and knowledge.
-------------
Use your mouse to connect stars to create constellations and use their power to attack your ennemis, protect you or heal you.
New version avaible here :

OS/X : http://www.pixelstuff.fr/ld36/pixelstuff-orion-ludum-mac-desktop-universal.zip

Windows 32bit : http://www.pixelstuff.fr/ld36/pixelstuff-orion-ludum-windows-desktop-32-bit.zip

Windows 64bit : http://www.pixelstuff.fr/ld36/pixelstuff-orion-ludum-windows-desktop-64-bit.zip

Linux : http://www.pixelstuff.fr/ld36/pixelstuff-orion-ludum-linux-desktop-universal.zip

We fixed some canvas issues and upgraded the game feedback.

Don't hesitate to leave us a feedback !

Downloads and Links


Comments

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:18am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! cooool light effects the stars ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

joemid says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:27pm

Nice- subversive educational rpg. More!

chrisdugne says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:18pm

beautiful design and effects. All constellations were easy to find but the lizard ?! I couldnt make it.

publicidadeba says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:21am

ow man well done! Another approach for the RPG combat, just like how undertale did it. Remind me a lot of Saint Seya. Good job!

JoJoX says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 5:05pm

Very nice art. Cool concept. Can't find either how to make that lizard !

igorfel says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Challenging, good effects and music, and yes THAT LIZARD.. i give up of it lol.

Never played a game with such mechanics, interesting, this would get a fully entertained game for sure.

fabsy says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Very cool art style and combat mechanic! Could use a little more visual damage feedback maybe.

And I won't talk about that lizard.

Sep 1, 2016 @ 3:24pm

Nice graphics and a cool sound! Would've been nice with some more game mechanics, as drawing star constellations became dull after some time. An interesting take on the puzzle game style at least!

ikroth says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Nice game! Looks good and interesting mechanic.

csanyk says ...
Sep 14, 2016 @ 2:16am

I like the originality, but a little more connection between drawing the constellations and what is happening in the battle would have helped sell it for me. Nicely done all the same.

PRANEET56 says ...
Sep 18, 2016 @ 7:10am

Good game!! The art is epic! Nice mechanics! And overall the game is entertaining.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]