Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Apalis

by Tselmek - Jam Entry

Really tight jam this time around. I teamed up with Newan, an art samurai, and Carlos an audio master. The theme wasn't deeply inspiring to the three of us but we decided to go with a good ol' platformer, sacrificing the them a tiny tad bit. We didn't have the time to add certain mechanics or certain assets (audio and art) but I think the result is rather satisfying.

/!\ If you are stuck on one level, know that all levels are unlocked by default, so feel free to escape a difficult level in order to discover the rest of the game.

### Description ###

You find yourself among a jungle that seems to behold an ancient technology left by locals centuries ago. Stones of pure darkness bewitchedly carved by the azure alchemy of the ancient God Apalis. Explore the jungle and find out what this technology is capable of through 20 levels each tougher than the previous one.

### Controls (Gamepad recommended) ###

--- Keyboard ---
QD/AD or Arrow keys to move
Z/W, Space or Up arrow to jump

--- Gamepad ---
D-pad to move
A to jump

### Credits ###

Code and Art by Tselmek

Art by Newan

Audio by Carlos Pazuzu

### Changelog ###
[30/08/2016 17:32] Fixed a game-breaking bug occuring in the last level.

Downloads and Links


Comments

malec2b says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:12am

Nice platformer! You've got some nice visuals going on here. I like the level transition. The spikes are a bit hard to read, though. I didn't even notice them at first, and there were a few bits where I just ran straight into spikes I didn't even notice were there.

Tselmek says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:14am

Thanks malec2b. I noticed too close to the end that the spikes weren't very noticable but it's too late to go back. I'm guessing this is going to be one of the major complaints though.

HeliosStudio says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:45am

Too many deaths for one game :( I relly liked the music and the game!

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:04am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description. (you can already find several games from the jam there)

PetterBergmar says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:31pm

Very goood! I love that it's super hard. Nothing very original I guess but I love this type of game (1000 spikes, meat boy, vvvvvv etc). Well done!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:38pm

Great little platformer, very polished. The grey spikes are kinda hard to see sometimes though. I'm getting an error message on the last level though.
___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Create Event
for object msg_level21:

global variable deaths_total(100006, -2147483648) not set before reading it.
at gml_Object_msg_level21_Create_0
############################################################################################

Tselmek says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Thanks for the notice, it should be fixed now.

zedecks says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:52pm

well polished, good art and music. it gets hard really fast.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:46pm

Very crisp sound and look, has a very polished feel to it. Hard as nails with a quite tricky jumping mechanic. Fun and good looking.

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:51pm

Nice responsive platformer. The randomly spawning foilage is a nice touch though sometimes they would partially hide spikes.

Phaix says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:55pm

Great Platformer, the gamepad controls are much better to play than the keyboard. With Keyboard i have given up, as the movement can't be that precise as on gamepad.

Bizmut says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 4:46pm

very nice platformer

monkeybit29 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:46am

Really polished, and love the artstyle/music. great progressive introduction of certain mechanics. very nice job!

Sep 1, 2016 @ 8:45pm

Lovely graphics, challenging game! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36 games, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/ZBKvUw84G7I

Tselmek says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Thanks for playing @Jupiter_Hadley, too bad you got stuck on the 5th level, the trick was to jump on that platform on the far left then make your way up. All levels are unlocked by default so that if you are stuck on one level you can try your hand at the other ones. I hope you get the chance to at least get a look at the other levels and mechanics in there if you don't have the time to play it again, but it does get tougher the further you go :P

xesenix says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 11:45pm

Thats a lot of levels you have got there. I really like the controls only thing i can suggest is small delay on restart because sometimes i fall in first trap from little to lonk key press.

RafaSKB says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 12:10am

The visual of this game is impressive, music is super pleasant and gives quite a nice and cozy tropical mood. It feels like a hidden mega drive gem that I didn't discover in my childhood. Amazing entry! :)

Jwatt says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 1:29pm

This seems very polished. While being simplistic, the level progression makes this pretty appealing to play through.

I would just appreciate outlines on the spikes, especially with the randomized foreground decorations. I died a few times just by not seeing that I walked into something deadly. The controls are fairly responsive in themselves.

The music is actually really nice, while the sound effects can be kind of jarring in comparison.

Jwatt says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 1:33pm

Oh, and found a minor bug: level 20 starts from -1 deaths.

Danae123 says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 10:18pm

Brilliant. Beautiful and very challenging. Kept wishing for a check point on level 20 (died 400+ times there! ) Superb work!

Narkhos says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 8:54am

A really challenging platformer just the way I like it ! The respawn is too quick so I often end up dying multiple times when respawning. The white spikes are barely visible for me. I found their hitbox a bit large and when changing direction near it, it's hard not to get hit.
We need a timer and a time attack mode :D
Good Game !

Madsj says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Level 20 was pretty tough especially passing the axe, but I also realized you can jump lower by pressing jump a shorter amount of time because I was forced to do so to get the crystals close to the spikes. Completed the game with 85 deaths!

Sep 10, 2016 @ 2:35am

This game looked and sounded really good. I generally liked it, however there were some things that made the game a bit more difficult than necessary. A death animation would help, quite a few of the times I died because I had died and respawned before I could react to my first death. Some of the obstacles were introduced a bit abruptly and the spikes were not easy to see. The last level was a bit overloaded with obstacles, especially that middle platform.
Overall, good job!

csanyk says ...
Sep 14, 2016 @ 4:25am

Pretty decent:) I liked the music. The later levels got pretty challenging. Only real complaint is that the grey spikes are too easily hidden by the grass, and lead to a lot of accidental deaths. Try to make them stand out more so death doesn't feel so cheap.

Sep 15, 2016 @ 7:54pm

It has been a long time since I've raged so hard about a game. Visually solid but oh my gooood I hate you right now. ;u; I do however want to marry the screen transistion effect.

I played your game on stream for a bit too (sorry about all the non-related chatter on top): https://www.twitch.tv/cantgetourname/v/89524937

Sep 16, 2016 @ 12:03pm

Everything thing about this was great and worked so well together, the visuals, the music, the feedback. Impressed at the amount of levels you were able to make and the new mechanics that you slowly introduced. Level transitions was also fantastic, simple but really effective. One of my favourites so far.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]