Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Compass

by Flygamer101 - Competition Entry

My game that follows the them (kinda) Ancient Technology for Ludum Dare 36.

On IndieXpo: http://www.indiexpo.net/en/games/compass

I'll admit I got pretty Lazy this Ludum Dare. But next time, we are going full force. Thanks :D

Controls:
WASD - Move
Right Click - Aim
Left Click - Shoot
R - Inspect
Space - Jump

Story:
You awaken in a blank room with a little compass that seems to be talking too you, telling you that you are trapped in another time, and you can get back with his help, but can you really trust him? As you use weapons from the present day to easily dispatch old warriors from Rome and Egypt, doesn't it feel a little TOO easy?


Sound Effects: BFXR
Music: FL Studio
Modeling: MagicaVoxel
Programming: Unity + C#
Entertainment/Encouragement: Friends at skype, seriously thanks guys :D and Music
Textures: Paint.net.

Problems with the game:
-Tons of cut content (listed later)
-Story is mehish
-In my opinion, gameplay is kinda lack-luster


Cut Content:
-The Chariot Escapade
-The Middle Ages
-Japan

Downloads and Links


Comments

fenwick says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:13am

This was really fun. The gameplay is pretty straightforward but the narration was really amusing, so it kept the game interesting. The music was pretty mystical and went along with the story. I wish it were a bit longer but honestly it was fun as-is.

Bonus points for having an AWP.

abhimonk says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:17am

Wow. This game is so polished! I love the blocky art style and the narration. The environments were cool too (the maze was actually pretty hard). The music was AMAZING. The rome background music was so incredibly cool. Overall, great game. I liked the advancing tech mechanic too.

AurynSky says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:05am

Legit all around. Narration was funny.

tomer_cool says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:50pm

I really love this 3d pixel art style.

Mr.Chippy says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:39pm

This was really fun. Good job. The music and art style were both great.

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:34am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! the shields are like a face XD We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

Flygamer101 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:43pm

@steph88 Sure and thanks for rating :D

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 12:50pm

I had a hard time figuring out what was going on. I could jump around the room but I couldn't figure out how to do anything besides jump around and listen to narration.

ninja00283 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:53pm

I liked this game.
The narration was nice addition.
But the menu is pretty bad and you should add health bar.
overall it was a nice game.

Also steph88 is a bot..yeah i got fooled too...

mvasko2 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Yeah, I had fun.

I see you went the classic FPS route with a spoken narration. Not too much innovation, though the story was actually pretty good and was a nice excuse for shooting ancient guards with an SMG, good job.

I had some GUI issues - some elements were overlapping and such, might want to take a look, I played in 1920x1080, fullscreen. Nothing serious though, just a minor annoyance.

The levels were nicely designed and felt pretty open and big, impressive for such a short time. It also looked quite nice.

Props for voicing the compass instead of simply putting in subtitles. It wasn't too bad to listen to, and it made the game more interesting. I must say, howewer, that sometimes the compass talked for way too long, so it became a bit boring. Also, I think this happened in the arena, or a little while before that - the music was too loud, and I couldn't understand much of what the compass was saying.

I was also able to fall off the map in the arena, there's probably a missing collider(s) somewhere.

All in all, solid entry, nice work!

amras0000 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:32pm

So I'm generally fond of the narrated gameplay genre. Gives the player something to focus on outside the game, and introduces the story without pulling the player into arduous exposition segments.

The issue here is that you've added arduous exposition segments regardless :P. The intro sequence as you have it now should be no longer than 30 seconds: "Oh you shouldn't be here, I guess I'll help you find your way home, let's go. End scene." Any further storytelling should happen during the stages proper. Frontloading exposition is really unpleasant and jarring.

The gameplay itself is kinda lackluster, but then you've mentioned as much already. Most importantly I'd have liked more weapons to have an autofire feature. Mashing a mouse button isn't particularly compelling and can lead to rsi if done for extended periods. On top of that, it seems like a lot of the bullet hitboxes don't line up with their models. With the automatic weapons at least I had to aim a bit to the left of the enemy to hit them (at least the crosshair worked fine).

The graphics aren't all that bad. The bloom's a bit excessive but might as well be for the timetraveling atmosphere. The colors work well enough and you can easily tell what everything's supposed to be.

The story concept's not amazing, admittedly, but it'd work much better given a stronger presentation. You spend far too much time repeating yourself and umming and emming. You'd probably improve both your work speed and the quality of the narration if you just write out a script of 1-3 sentence segments, then follow it to the word during recording.

Oh, and unless you're being particularly innovative with your worldbuilding, or really need to fill time, don't bother explaining magic. "Get the artifact and I'll get us to the next place" is justification enough.

Daniel says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:43pm

Impressive idea the narration was funny and did speak for too long it kinda reminded me of the Stanley Parable game, good level design slightly laggy at times, but still fun to play. Good job.

qikcik says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 3:12pm

Wow, amazing game, awesome music and graphics, a very good idea and execution, I have no words, this is my favorite game for the Ludum Dare 36 :D Very God Job :D
ps. sorry for my bad English

Flygamer101 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:56pm

@mvasko2 @amras0000
Thank you for the long and in depth comments!

mar3k says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Nice game, cool effect, sound was well recorded and was even a bit funny. If I were to pick something bad about it, it would probably be the UI and that the music was sometimes louder than the voice, otherwise, pretty cool!

Sep 16, 2016 @ 12:23pm

Liked the constant speaking thought it was well used and quite funny at times. Nice guide on what to do and where to go. Also the surprise compass ending at the end was an unexpected twist. There was moments though were I did feel that there might have been a bit too much talking and would have been a stronger impact with a tighter script.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]