Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Old Man's Sky

by Geared Games - Jam Entry

A classic rendition of the game No Man's Sky in wonderful atari 2600 colours.

Much like the real game, you can explore planets and... well that's it basically. Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Comments

joemid says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 5:37pm

Awesome! Near-perfect Atari port of NMS. Infinite jump is cool- Love the ship controls on the planet- tho- a way to call back the ship after you jump out and it sails off into oblivion would be nice... Of course, that'll probably come in the NES port!

kadexus says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 5:37pm

Very nice artstyle and sound design! Also surprisingly polished AND you had time left over! Great job :)

FisherG says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Runs smooth.
Funny Pop culture references.
Entire game is a big joke about No mans sky.
No enemies that I could find.

Dia6lo says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 6:13pm

I want a refund for this D:

Aug 28, 2016 @ 6:19pm

You don't need to put the program debug database in the zip file :D... Great game

CalmKai says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Great Game!

StarStorm295 says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 6:57pm

I love it! Something so cute about it! Great work!

slam_nine says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Nice job of remaking (demaking?) NMS in very retro atari-like graphics! The game runs smooth too.

chriiis88 says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 8:08pm

That's actually pretty damn cool. You could post this to the NoMansSkyTheGame subreddit, too. I bet they'd be interested in the game.

SmallPhil says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:05am

It tickles.
It tickles.
It tickles.


This game is awsome !

Loyance says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:38am

Better than original. Great job!

NinjaNic says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:36am

Nothing can give me an authentic No Man's Sky experience better than Old Man's Sky!! I love it! Countless hours of so much fun! I can't believe this was only made in a few days, it's amazing. Nice work!

By far my favorite game of the jam/compo so far. (Even though it doesn't have anything to do with ancient technology.)

Azlen says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:08am

Disappointed that planets don't wrap around, I was hoping to find my ship eventually.

Amazing work!

asteryz says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:51am

Great atmosphere, well done :)

pi_pi3 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:23am

No aliens. I.e. noone to be found. Noone to be found in the universe. Noone to be found in the sky... No Man in the Sky... This game does No Man's Sky better than No Man's Sky.

colapolka says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:28pm

Controlls and overall look and feel enchant with remarkable smoothness. Well done!

Ib1s says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:30pm

The best possible No man's sky pixel game which could be done in one weekend. It has a great atmosphere and is fun to play for a while.

Oh and btw: my name is George ._.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Amazing parody (?) of No Man's Sky. The art is really pretty. If only there were music...

Overall the game is really well polished and very much so cleverly made. Great job. Is everything procedural?

Geared Games says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:44pm

@peterthehe
There should be music in the game though?

But to answer your question:
The planets, stars, planet surfaces, organisms and alien bases are procedural.

cortica says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Great work!

PlanetHoward says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:55pm

Not much gameplay, but I have to point out the controls are better than most games I've tried, it's responsive, fast and just feels really good to use

Mr.Chippy says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:29pm

It feels very smooth and polished.

Thank you for saving me 60 dollars on No Man Sky.

SbstnC says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:54pm

Very cool graphics, sound. The joke, on No man's sky is cool.
It's fun to move around in the ship, but you better make sure you have no momentum while getting off the ship, unless you want to see it glide awayyyyyyyyyy ^^

josephblt says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:10am

Come on bro? No multiplayer?!?!?! Hehe just kidding nice submission. Nice idea.

Crown Games says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:33am

Wow! Great game! Exactly what No Man's Sky is like

UltraRat says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:09am

I understand that reference dot gif

I like the variety of the text, made me laugh as well as the punny title.

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:48am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! the title remembers me no man's sky :D coincidence ? XD Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

colozz says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:59am

What a relaxing game, 60$-worth!

onyon says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:49am

Cool retro vibe, better than NMS :D

eott says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:59am

This is just amazing. Perfect capture. However you're doing this, keep doing it, because it's awesome.

novotmike says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Expected someone to make a game with "No Man's Sky" reference, but not in my wildest dreams did I see this coming! Oh snap! I like everything about this game!

mat1er says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:00pm

So close of no man sky, I nearly asked for a refund!

blinry says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:23pm

Smooth and fluid controls, well done! Getting in and out of the spacecraft was fun! We were disappointed that some of the small planets had no thingies on them. Nice take on the original. Fun flavor text on the plants (the bushes especially). Would have been nice to have some hills on the planets, but them being bland was probably kind of the point :P

Dimatt says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:43pm

Haha, funny game! I can't actually afford No Man's Sky, nor would i buy it anyway, so this was a cool little thingo.

David Cookie says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:46pm

aha ok.. it looks like No Man's Sky got quite a few parodies xD It could be a really good game with some new mechanics! The feeling is already satisfying as is, and you have quite a sweet humor :) Well done!

mlho7 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:53pm

I can run it with my graphic card, awesome.
This retro version maybe is more punchy that the original one, well done, George is a good name for anything. Good job on music.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Lovely atmosphere, and I ADORE the parallax stars. Best
part of the game. Had to look up to make sure the 2600 could handle Parallax, and it could so well done. More variety is my only qualm. Great!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:04pm

I like the biomes, color style and that ground gradient.
Ship looks like a fly insect to me.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:24am

Very relaxing and visually appealing. Great game, loved it.

xirion11 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:58am

I really liked this game, the music was relaxing, I liked piloting the ship, I liked the moving stars, I liked George. Really nice game!

blubberquark says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:15am

Short and sweet!

WERT Studio says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 8:41pm

like the orginal nothing to do makes fun for 2 min and looks fine

randomhuman says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 12:31am

The comments on all your discoveries are pretty funny. Not the best NMS parody I've played this jam, but it fit the theme much better than the other one.

lordedwin says ...
Sep 12, 2016 @ 3:01pm

Very good game ! The concept is awesome, I think that it will be important to add puzzles to the game !!!

csanyk says ...
Sep 14, 2016 @ 2:27am

Awesome parody/demake of NMS. I thought it captured the look of the Atari 2600 quite well, though not the sound obviously. Some really harsh random noise and buzzing would have made it for me. Although the music is nice. A bit more purpose and variety would have been even better, but then it wouldn't have skewered NMS so perfectly.

rad1c says ...
Sep 23, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Better gfx and more content delivered than in the original, great job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]