Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

1991BCE

by GhostBomb - Competition Entry

Eons ago, the ancients would transcribe their music on primitive tablets called "cassette tapes". While some might call this ancient race primitive, they clearly had access to incredibly advanced zero-gravity technology for their time, as evidenced by the grav boards dug up from various burial sites.

Youth of old were said to be able to press A to catch some sick air, and press S to reverse gravity.


Made in Game Maker. Corners are a bit rough. I apologize for the level design later on.

Downloads and Links


Comments

Xlip says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:00am

fluent dynamics i loved that, when i jumped and passed close the sticks waow, fells like and atari game

Flatgub says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:43pm

Really nice fluid movement for the corners and the music was good! Nice difficulty although it got quite hard fast. Could do with some SFX too but other than that really good entry!

P.S. Whats wrong with Game Maker? >_>

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:21pm

@Flatgub

I like Game Maker a lot but I feel like this kind of game would have been easier to make on a different engine. Maybe I'm wrong.

PetterBergmar says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:38pm

This was very nice! Just add some more checkpoints that are a bit easier in the middle and it would be a great game. Makes me wanna do a 3D hoverboard racing game..

Azumiar says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Cool game a bit buggy at some parts

xesenix says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:55pm

Really nice game play i like that pixel art and music works well with game speed. I only wished for better checkpoints position other than that supreme game.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:49am

Finished with 93 points! Very nice music, graphics and mechanics.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:38pm

This game was RAD! I think the design was solid all the way through. It is challenging sure, but good use of the little trinkets to guide the player. Some sound effects would be nice but otherwise excellent entry!

ciaodavinci says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:53am

NICE! cool feel to this game. It gets really punishing when it flips upside down.

NikSorvari says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 4:06am

So rad. I like the difficulty this game brings with just two mechanics

Zee says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:35am

Pretty fun runner game. I Liked the gravity mechanic a lot. I just wished it was a little more zoomed out, as it could be a little hard to react to something that you couldn't see until it was too late.

Chronodrax says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 12:22pm

Cool gameplay :)
It might be a bit frustrating too soon but it's so great when you finally time your moves right :p
The round platforms are too fast for me :c I couldn't pass the one with a checkpoint just right of it: going down would make me go left instead of right, going down-right would kill me against the wall, and going top-left towards what I suppose was the right way would either send me right into the spikes to the left or too far to the top-left and leave me no time to S again before the next spikes.
Still was a fun experience!

sbeif says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 11:26am

Nice job!
Very good level design, with the right amount of difficulty, enough to make it challenging but not frustrating. It made me want to reach the end despite my many deaths.
The only flaw that I can think of is that the theme is not really integrated into the mechanics.
Rad game though!

MrMordem says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 10:34pm

pretty fun to play with some nice graphics, i like how you put a little bit of story in there for a game where you grapb cassettes on a hoverboard :)

the gravity reverse mechanic is a little confusing at first but once you get the hang of it it's cool.

congrats ! Marty Mcfly would be proud :p

Sep 4, 2016 @ 2:28pm

Took me a bit to get used to the control mechanic but once I'd had some practice at it, it was quite fun. The layout was well designed but did feel like it escalated in difficulty for me a bit too quickly.

Sep 14, 2016 @ 3:11pm

Lovely graphics! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/YGWxJtahV00

Sep 18, 2016 @ 1:50pm

Difficult but really well made game overall. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]