Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Allan

by Damdoshi - Jam Entry

---------------------------------------------
We are on Steam GreenLight!
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=764524269
---------------------------------------------


- ALLAN -

Story:

You are NerDnaEl, a wizard from the "AIPS", a nation at the very south of the Surface. You work for a leader of your nation, the Dr.Back. To defend the county, the Dr.Back's plan consists in building strong robots. In order to do so, he will need a very ancient and lost technology, the Alnium.

The key of Allan's laboratory was found in the AIPS historic libray. Your mission is to go deep in the lab and to found the main computer to extract datas and bring them back to the doctor.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

How to play:

Use ZQSD or WASD to move on four direction.
Use the arrow key to shot an energy blast.
Use space to dash.
Use CTRL to be stealth (Currently useless... It was programed for "The Infiltrator")
Use SHIFT to be surrounded by lighting (Currently useless... But a little cool)
Use ESC to exit.

When the character is talking, use space or return as a next button.

On the splash screen, escape or return allow you to skip it. Space increase its speed.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

About the game itself:

"Allan" is an adventure and action game with a top-down-almost-3D view. It is almost visible, but the story takes place in the universe of "The Derision", a role playing game book.
There is doors, there is keys, there is monsters and traps. In some ways, it is a Zelda-like game.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

About the program:

192*128 (For the game itself. The window is 1440*900)
Made with LibLapin (A C layer on top of SFML which also brings parsings functionalities... also made by me)
Fully developped in C++.
Raytraced shadows.
Top-down parralax.

The 3D engine was made for the previous Ludum Dare (And the "LowRes Jam") for the game "The Infiltrator" that I did not manage to finish... (The resolution was even lower... 64*64)

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

About the jam:

I almost programmed nothing during this month. This game jam was an opportunity to work hard again. I was really slow, even with an already almost terminated engine...
I regret a little the complete absence of music and sounds effect. I think I will add it soon in a post jam version... It feels empty without sounds, even if I tried to work the graphics more than usual. The music is already written and the sound effects are ready... they are just not in the game!!!

There is only a few levels. I think adding levels may be cool too. Adding monsters, I think, is also a must.

"Ancient Technology" for the story (well... a little) and for the graphics.


- - - - - - -

About the end of the jam:
Well. It is 4AM here. Good night.

- - - - - - -

Update:
August, 30, 7PM.
- Windows version.
- Music and sound effects added. (So, for the not post-jam version, just set the volume to 0 xD )
- Canon corpse fixed.

September, 4, 1AM
- Stairs glitch fixed. The character does not appeir to go a little under the roof.
- Light & Height glitch fixed. The roof is not more enlighted now that anything else, even when you are high.
- Corners blink less
- The point of view is now precisely ON the character and not under.
- When you blink after you hurt your finger or you organs, you cannot fall into holes anymore.
- 4 hearts instead of 3.
- A light bar added.
- A smaller font is now used for the textbox.
- ALLANUMINIUM!
- Voice and translation in the Derision language. (Absolutely useless, but I like it this way!)
- Dead end on the second floor removed thanks to two additional blue buttons.
- There is now a menu and a title screen.
- Death animation.
- You can now die three times before having to start from scratch.
- There is now a tutorial.
- There is some additional text to help you a little more.
- Two hearts when a box give you a heart and that you are almost dead.
- Lighting on the canon when destroyed. Yeah, that's why it still hurt when you touch it.
- The thunder spell now works, it destroys enemies around (including shots)
- Being stealth made the turrets to not see you.

This is still the SAME game. There is no additional monsters, items, levels or anything.
But I am interested in going on. Maybe I will try to greenlight it on Steam and make a bigger game. Some of my friends are motivated by making a Zelda like game in the universe of our role playing game book... and I am at least equally motivated.

Downloads and Links


Comments

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:47am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Amazing atmosphere. The music adds so much.

The game did crash for me when I hit 0 health, and the light was a little bit too little. It was frustrating with the turrets, especially with a game based on a desire to see further like this one. A lack of true difficulty would probably be best here, as replaying the beginning would prove to be frustrating.

The graphics were excellent as well, save for some small glitches. Full screen would really help immersion, though.

Awesome entry.

Junber says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:06am

The atmosphere was really great. Not just the music but also the 3d graphics worked really well for it even though the latter would be a little disorienting sometimes. It was quite fun exploring the level and especially fighting against the turrets. The opening narration should probably be shortened a bit since it got harder to pay attention towards its end. Also as I fell into a pit once it reset me to a position were I immediately fell into the pit again and died. Except from that it was a really nice game.

Narkhos says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 5:46pm

I like your home made old fashioned 3d engine. The game really feels like exploring a dark medieval dungeon full of dangerous traps.

Great Job !

TeamBALD says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:21pm

I enjoyed the way the pillars looked as you moved around, it helped give the gave a really creepy undertone that added to the whole atmosphere. This didn't "feel" quite right to me when I reached the edges and the screen stopped moving, but other than this and an occasional graphical glitch it works really well.

Gameplay-wise it can be a little tricky to play. Due to the light levels I couldn't see where the turrets were before they started shooting me, so I got blasted often and died fairly early on. The game also seemed to crash when I died, not sure if that's how it designed to happen but if so it felt very abrupt.

ianb96 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:42pm

The graphics are cool, I like the perspective.
It's kinda hard to tell what is bad and what is good, maybe if you had a more consistent color theme it would be easier because right now the player, the energy blast, and things you can interact with are all different colors, while the hazards blend in with the background.

Wicked7000 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:43pm

I really liked the way the graphics was done and lighting it was extremely cool~ It was a bit hard to play but overall well done!

yotam180 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:50pm

Even though I didn't succeed at this game, it was fun :D.
It lacks a "you're dead" screen, but that's not *that* important.
Nice game, anyways!

Alphish says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:10pm

The atmosphere is strong in this game. The audio worked pretty well. The 3D display engine was pretty nice, too, although there was some weird glitching with floor elements. Also, there was some weird display around the screen edges, kind of duplicating what's already on screen.

The gameplay could use some balancing. 6 half-lives are pretty harsh, especially if the game just quits upon completion, rather than restarts the most recent room or something. Plus, often I felt losing lives was unfair, e.g. when I fell into the hole, then kinda had the right button still held when I respawned and fell immediately afterwards. Also, I'd have liked to have more range of the lit area; as the game is know, it's a tad *too* dark. >.<

Gotta agree with the TerraCottaFrog about the fullscreen, too.

gonutz says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:12pm

This is a very nice tech you have there! The lighting is cool and along with the music the atmosphere is great. Feels very dangerous.

As for the gameplay, I did not really know what to do as I tend to just download the games and play them without reading the description. I think a game should be playable without reading a manual ;)

As a programmer I very much appreciate that you wrote your own engine and made a Linux port (although I am trying out the games on my old Windows XP).

Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:14pm

Hey! Very atmospheric game - the music really added to the creepy claustrophobic feel as you descend into the dark laboratory.

I would love to be told before i meet the first tower "look out, a gun turret!" - otherwise the player blunders into an unavoidable damage, which can feel unfair. More set-up maybe of "this is a dangerous place, I should be careful".

Top marks for creepy atmosphere though. Good job!

Alphish says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Oh, and one more thing - I think Alnium simply doesn't cut it. It should have been Allanuminium instead. ;)

Venneque says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:36pm

I swear I felt like a mole in this game. Please do give me light master !
Graphics look incredibly old but that makes it feel like a hardcore oldschool dungeon crawler, and well it is one !
The game is as dark as difficult to me.
The whole thing brings a scary atmosphere out and I can tell that I may push you into wanting to explore furthermore.

I know nothing about a possible ending, I have only survived enough time into such dark to pick data up and then die to some angry shooting turrets before quitting this game. Congratulations for making me doing this !

Without any other dibs, you have done a very nice demonstration of what your engine can do, especially in regards to these awkward but effective light effects.

AODQ says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:47pm

A game written in C++, woot! Awesome 3D effects and perspective. The z indices were a bit off in some places. Like others have mentioned, it's just a bit too dark and there's no way to change that. Also the game crashed when i charged into a turret :/

duskpn says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:01pm

I really really like the graphics. It gives me a strong "Doom" feel. The gameplay was also nice, although slightly confusing.

It's a little too hard to see what's going on, with the small area of light around the character, this made the game a bit too hard.

Good job on the engine! You really should make a longer game using it.

Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:10pm

The lighting, the graphics, the atmosphere work really well together to create an interesting and compelling dark and creepy atmosphere. The difficulty level is just right, I didn't find it too difficult or to easy. I also liked the level design and I felt compelled to move forward and discover more of the lab. I would have liked to be able to shoot diagonally since the turrets can. Few glitches here and there, but over all it was a great experience. Congratulations for your work!

-Mihai (LittleDoomDevs)

darthbox1 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:13pm

This is a really cool game. I loved the feeling and atmosphere created by the 3d and lighting, combined with low res graphics. the music was cool as well. I have not managed to finish it yet, and i did experience a crash both times i hit zero health as someone else mentioned. but so cool. I will revisit this and finish soon i hope.

Casevse says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 10:38am

Cool game, really misterious. The gameplay is good and the camera perspective is interesting. Loved the get damage sound xD. Good work!

komilll says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 7:44pm

That's cool Minecraft wannabe, but I feel like it lacks of tutorial e.g. when I crafted torch I didn't know how to get it in my hand. Nothing happened after pressing use and if I wanted to make bow with recipe it didn't work. Also sound effect of hitting something is too harsh and anoying. After few presses it already rings in your head and make it hurt. Let's try more smooth and calm sfx next time.

Damdoshi says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 7:47pm

@komilll Wrong game.

komilll says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 7:53pm

I'm sorry, above feedback was for another game I mistood with yours.

It's impressive that you've done it on your own engine with C++ SMFL, so in terms of engineering I found that pretty cool. However game itself have pretty hard to watch graphics. That 8bit environment isn't pleasant to watch at and game mechanics itself aren't anything new. However the atmosphere and shadows with perspective are well done.

ramoncb says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 5:30am

Good job! The game have a very cool mood, it's a dark-cyberpunk-zelda-dungeon!

First of all: don't close the game when I die!

The character already have disadvantage against the sentries, he is in the dark, when he sees a sentry it's almost too late, he probably will have to dodge a bullet; until here this mechanic is alright. But by decreasing the lighting when the player is already getting hurt... is no good, the moment he is in need to avoid a bullet... his field of view is getting short, 'it's already hard and getting even more hard'.

Maybe in a future update, the crates could look for how much hearts the player have; if the answer is only one (or a half), drop another heart. Also, the sentry don't need to hurt the player after destroyed (or put some fire on the remains).

The game is cool and can become even more, and I think it's already impressive the fact that you made your own engine. Keep working on it! And sorry my broken english. ^^'

Damdoshi says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 11:43pm

@TerraCottaFrog
Thank you. ^^
Yes, in the jam version, the game exit when the character dies or wins.
I miss a little time to fix this. It is fixed now.
You are absolutely right about the full screen. It is now fixed too.^

@Junber
It is now shorter, and easier to read because there is more text on screen thanks
to a smaller font. The issue with the pit is fixed too.
Thank you for your feedback. = )

@Narkhos
I played a very old game on the Atari 2600 where you are an helicopter and
where buildings are made of stacked square.
Since this day, I wish to make a little engine that works this way. The
technique was so primitive but funny and efficient, in some ways...
Thank you =D

@TeamBALD
Thank you for your feedback. :-]
Yes, the view was a little wrong because the point of view was not
exactly on the character (Because the hot spot of tiles was not in the
middle but on top left... as usual)
It is still strange because the character does not have any
depth, so it seems to go under the pillars when you are really close,
but it will need too much improvement to fix this problem now.
There was a call to exit when the character dies or wins, thats why the
game seems to crash. It is fixed now.

@ianb96
I tried to add more color to the only enemy to make it easier to see.
It is not bright, but maybe it is better still.
Thank you. =°)

@Wicked7000
Thank you =o)

@yotam180
You are right. Now, it returns to menu after three death.
Exiting the program was a fast way to implement death, but not a good one.
Thank you ^_^

@Alphish
Yeah, the view is not perfect. The technic used is quite simple and
I have not managed to found a way to make it perfect yet. Maybe it
is not possible and I will have to change to fix all, I do not know right now.
I have added a heart, and three lives. And... yeah, allanuminium :p
Thank you for your feedback =D

@Culturebosh_games
I have added some messages to tell the player he will have to shoot.
Thank you a lot ;)

@Venneque
Thank you =J I am happy that it creates so much effects.
I think it will be easier now. You have now three lives and four hearts.

@AODQ
Thank you for your feedback. = )
It was certainly because you died, the handler was exit. x)

@duskpn
I would love to.
Thank you for your feedback. ;D

@LittleDoomDevs
It would be a good idea to shoot diagonally but I do not know how to make it
without using the mouse. Currently, the shoot command in instant: keydown, and then
it goes. I would have to program a delay to see if another key is pressed down, and
I do not know how it will feel. : /
The other solution would to have a single button to shoot and having to move where
you wish to shoot instead of having a Binding of Isaac control.
Thank you for your feedback. X°)

@darthbox1
I think you will like it more now, with more lives and not a return to windows
when you die! :) Thank you #)

@Casevse
Thank you :+)

@komilll
Well, it is only a parralax but it appeirs quite cool.
Yes, it is quite classic. I have decided to make a Zelda like game
with a Binding of Isaac control. Sometimes, you want to try
something new, sometimes, you wish to recreate something that
you love.
I think I can, later, make this game different not only by its graphics
but by its story or its level design... If I go one.
Thank you ;+]

@ramoncb
Now boxes give two hearts if you have only one left (and if you are lucky).
It also give more often lights, and it restore faster light than being hurt remove it.
I do not think anyone notices (because it is told nowhere) but the character
blast destroy turrets blast, so dodging is not the only way.
I would love to make a bigger game after the jam. I will try the greenlight,
if the main concept please, I will make it.
Thank you for your feedback. =D

Damdoshi says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 11:48pm

(Well, actually, it was not on the Atari 2600, but the Commodore 64 port of Thunder Blade :p http://www.lemon64.com/games/screenshots/full/t/thunder_blade_02.gif)

BloodJohn says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 6:15am

I liked the atmosphere. Special effects and sound wonderful. Personally, I sorely lacking more detailed graphics. Feeling the fish eye makes me feel inferior hero in this world.

Please do more detailed. I want to consider more details!

leondryaso says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 12:45pm

Although I'm not a big fan of this art style, you've managed to make it remarkably well and I admire you for it. Maybe a bit too dark. Great level design too.

Narkhos says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 4:33pm

@Damdoshi Yeah now that you mention it I remember Thunder Blade (I got it on Amstrad cpc) ;)

darthbox1 says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 8:35am

@Damdoshi
Excellent, I will download the new version and try it out :D

Sep 6, 2016 @ 3:34pm

Great old school atmosphere, music, graphic fits well together.

Jelinib says ...
Sep 11, 2016 @ 11:07pm

Very unique graphics!

I tried both versions and I especially like the dialog and voices you added. Gameplay is much improved too! I actually tried 1.0 after 1.1, and I had a much harder time surviving in it haha.

I wanted to try to get to the ending, but I seem to be getting crashes just randomly while walking down the halls (on version 1.1, at full health too). Maybe happens 10 minutes in, I dunno. No idea what's causing that!

The echoes of the sound effects really helped to make the place feel abandoned. Along with the lighting and music, it was very atmospheric, awesome job!

Damdoshi says ...
Sep 17, 2016 @ 3:54pm

@BloodJohn We will try. Maybe increasing a little the resolution to have more detailed graphics would be nice (Or maybe it will just reveal how primitive the 3D is xD)

@leondryaso Thank you = )

@kfischer_okarin Thank you = )
Now, it is time to insert the story that also fit the atmosphere x)

@Jelinib
Thank you = )
I will try to fix it. >< Sorry for that.

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 17, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Woohh! Very unique art style.
The music and sound fx make the mood.
Really like the deep shadow effect.

Great game, keep up the good work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]