Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Archeology Simulator 3092

by brookzerker - Competition Entry

For my first Ludum Dare I decided to create a web app game. You play as a humble archaeologist who is searching for an ancient technology so that you can purchase and retire to a moon. However there is the small problem of a few pirates that you will have to deal with.

Downloads and Links


Comments

PetterBergmar says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:00am

Feels more than a little like FTL :). I found it a bit hard to be strategic, or I basically clicked randomly and that seemed to work. The story is fun!

chantilly says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:44am

I like your story! Pretty good for your first game :o)

CMLSC says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:51am

The game doesn't properly fit the screen. It would be nice to have a fullscreen button. :P
I like the game, but the graphics could use some work.

Xinelu says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:52am

A very decent job for your first game! :D nice

pogo575 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:01am

Felt extremely random. A little feedback would go a long way. It's very hard to tell what has changed but with some polish and some strategy worked in I could see myself spending way too much time playing a condensed roguelite like this.

Kalibrated says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:17am

Awesome game! This is what I think everybody should strive for in a jam game - a fully working game that you can finish. I'm still not sure what the difference between laser and missile attacks were, but I assume missile did more damage since it was a resource.

Really enjoyed the freedom of hopping around wherever I wanted and being able to escape the pirate boss's when I got low. Well done!

Traf d-Lo says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:33am

Great little game (you just need to stop the shield values going into negative numbers). Well done!

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:33pm

I thought it was pretty neat, though I was really hoping when traveling about I'd find something other then just pirates. In a universe where everyone are pirates, how could pirating be profitable, lol.

caryoscelus says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Pretty solid entry. I liked randomization of gameplay.

Balance was a bit off couple of times (boss appearing when there was no chance of winning) and generally it felt like the game depends more on rng than player actions. It would be good if there would be some choice, even simple "take money or take missiles from the ship" would improve feeling of involvement.

Also zooming effect on messages was a bit annoying.

I don't think it is quite related to theme, but who cares?

brookzerker says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:35pm

Thanks @PetterBergmar. I didn't think about it being like FTL until your comment :). Game balance is something that I would like to learn so I could make this or future games less random clicking to win, but more strategic.

brookzerker says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:35pm

Thanks @chantilly!

brookzerker says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:36pm

I didn't realize until I submitted that the screen was set for 900x600 :(. That is not a mistake I will make next time. That or I will have a full-screen button :)

brookzerker says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:37pm

Thanks @Xinelu!

brookzerker says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:38pm

Thanks for the review @pogo575. I unfortunately waited until the final hour to add in the feedback and I believe that it shows. I'm thinking that if I redid the UI I would be able to have a proper feedback system, and maybe sounds that would play whenever something happens.

brookzerker says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:40pm

Thanks @Kalibrated! I ended up having to drop a lot of my planned features in order to make it a fully playable game for this jam. Next time I'll be more prepared on what I can accomplish in 48 hours.

brookzerker says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Thanks for the review @Traf d-Lo. I caught the shields in one area but forgot the enemies :/.

brookzerker says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Thanks for the review @Ilseroth. My excuse is the pirates killed them all?

Actually I wanted to have more but I dropped them pretty quickly when I realized how little time 48 hours is. Maybe a second edition would have all those extra entities.

brookzerker says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:43pm

Thanks for the review @caryoscelus. Those are good points, and if I end up continuing work on the game I'll take them into serious consideration.

SamuelSousa says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Pew Pew Fire my laser!!!
Pirates destroy :) I felt like a pirate of my own :)
Great entry very different from what I have played so far on the jam. Nice Programmer art ;)

metalhaze says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Your game was quite fun and gave me a similar feeling to faster than light.

Aesthetically the game is quite simple and kept to the point which i like. The menu however was a much to take in at the beginning, after a bit of trial and error I quickly understood it though.

finding new upgrades on planets was great fun and gave me a sense of exploration which i loved. The RNG was at times brutal but then again so was FTL. Perhaps showing where the pirate boss was so i could avoid him would balance the game.

Great concept and good job!

brookzerker says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 5:08pm

thanks @SamuelSousa. Its the first time that I've tried creating my own pixel art!

brookzerker says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Thanks for the feedback @metalhaze. I'll definitely keep those in consideration for the future!

Sep 1, 2016 @ 3:13am

as you've probably heard before, the game doesn't fit the screen, so it's hard to see things.

I think shields going into negative is fine for one turn, then to 0 on the next. but that might be just me. I like seeing over-damage

make the buttons have different click/unclicked states, so it gives more feedback to what's happening, and gray out things you can't do?

also put laser/missiles max damage on screen?

other than that UI is easy to look at, the colored text helps a lot too when you're running low

it was fun :D

at first I died a lot, because I was too stingy with my missiles at low level, and I also didn't realize you could run from pirate boss...but then after playing for a while I became too overpowered cause I kept finding laser batteries. So that might be something to change?

brookzerker says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:47am

Thanks for the feedback @fundamental.phantom. I just checked the 'enable full screen' button so that should help the screen size being too small.

The advice about the buttons is great, I'll be taking that into account for any possible future versions.

csanyk says ...
Sep 11, 2016 @ 6:26am

Lots of little problems with this game.

I had to go fullscreen to be able to see everything. There was too much text at the beginning. I want to play a game without having to read a page of text. Keep it as short as possible.

Being a turned based strategy game, I was able to get through the pirate fight OK. I found it odd that missles were more effective against shields than lasers were. Once I figured that out, they were easier to defeat. It too me a while to understand how to go to the next planet after I was done with the one I was on -- I expected to click on a menu button rather than on the map.

Some sounds would have helped make the game more enjoyable and understandable.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 11, 2016 @ 5:21pm

Very nice approach the an FTL-like game! I like that the solar systems and the items that you get are randomly generated. Makes each go a new experience. I did once get "Searching through rubble you found 0 missiles", which was a bit confusing.

The upgrades are a bit over-powered, or the game progression is not perfect, because I was always able to beat the normal pirate ships without any issues (by just firing the laser over and over again). But each time I met a pirate boss my ship exploded, no matter how many upgrades I had. It would be nice if the enemies would get more and more difficult over time.

(A question about my game: what popup blocked your village?)

brookzerker says ...
Sep 15, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Thanks for the review @csanyk. I will be taking what I learned from this game and applying it to futuer Ludum Dares.

brookzerker says ...
Sep 15, 2016 @ 10:34pm

@ZYXer, thanks for the review. I will be working on balance for my next game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]