Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Steam Heart

by SinclairStrange - Jam Entry

So the theme was Ancient Technology, so I went with Steampunk-ish setting. I planned to have more stuff in, but alas time is short and I wanted to make a polished game instead of cramming loads of stuff in. It's basically the first stage from a long lost Mega Drive game.

My tribute to Treasure's lovely run-n-guns.

I highly recommend playing the windows version as the game isn't well optimized for flash as it was intended to run on a window exe format.

CONTROLS!: READ THIS!
(You can edit the controls in the options menu to some alternatives)
Arrows: Move
Shift: Jump
Control: Shoot
\: Change Weapon
Space: Dash (you can also dash by pressing down and fire) (Dashing makes you invincible Dash through enemies, bosses and bullets!)
Press F2 will hard reset the game :)

You can change the controls to different types in the options menu.
Just to note, as this is a more relax jam, I did cheekily take the sound effects from Dynamite Headdy and Gunstar Heroes for the extra authentic feel :D

Hope you enjoy!
TIME FOR SLEEP!

Downloads and Links


Comments

Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:05am

absolutely amazing

Mettra says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:01am

Really cool game. Bomb gun is the best. There needs to be a final boss with slimeball top hat dude!

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:07am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

Azumiar says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:26am

awesome game! Kinda hard for me(

Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:56am

As always, excellent! I'm sure you'll get no shortage of glowing reviews for this one, so I'll try and pick some nits in the hope of providing something useful!

The biggest problem I saw was that some of the environmental hazards were hard to predict. This first reared its head with Octosmash's rearing head attack, which seemed to lack the warning splash of its tentacles. I didn't see any warning for the collapsing buildings either, which were generally an instant death hazard...

I also noted that the G power-up (grenade launcher?) could be spammed at close range. While I really loved this as a reference to the C(annon?) from old Contra games, it did let me power through the last two bosses without trying too hard. Perhaps a bit more tweaking there would help.

Just to be clear, these really are minor nitpicks in the scheme of things. Your games always seem to sit miles above most entries, so top work on the graphics, gameplay, music, ect. This was a really awesome game, and I'm impressed that you managed to pull this together in 72 hours!

Hjalte500 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:11pm

Fucking awesome everything. How the hell did you get all this done in just 72 hours jesus!

Jwatt says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:28pm

This game is legit. Pure action all the way through, with an uncompromising Sega aesthetic.

Also one of the most polished games I've seen in Ludum Dare, like, ever.

Narkhos says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:35pm

Amazing game ! It remind me of Rocket knight on Genesis/Megadrive. I need the rest of the game !
Great job

bitdecaygames says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:28am

Well now... I'm jelly. This game is very good. Definitely saw the Gunstar Heroes influence before reading the description. What did you use to make everything? I didn't see it in the description?

Only complaint (gotta give some sort of constructive criticism for this to be a useful comment) is that the player has a little too much HP. But that's a very minor issue with how much other stuff is going on this game. Bosses are sweet!

qookiezzz says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:15am

Really nice game! I like the Sega Genesis aspect

Bogden says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:42am

One of the best games of the Jam for sure. Incredibly solid work for 72 hours. Super well polished, and comes together very nicely. Really impressed by the bosses as well.

Art and audio are top notch. The only critical point is that the gameplay is a bit too derivative, which is totally fine if you're going for an homage to the great history of Megaman/Metroidvania type games, but would be great to see this kind of polish with some really unique gameplay.

Awesome work.

Casevse says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 10:42am

Amazing game! Very polished and with a lot of content for 72 hours. Good work!

MrMordem says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 11:58am

Amazing ! i don't know how you managed to make such a polished game in only 72 hours but holy cow this is impressive :o

every aspect feels solid, and as a Genesis fan i like the direction you took with this one :)

Genesis does, and so do you :p it's too it ends so quickly
but this game rocks !

axoona says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 9:33pm

the game is really polished, lots of content. the graphics are great, the sound fits well the game.
the difficulty is well adjusted as well, I had a chance of survival before completely mastering the controls ;)
Congratulations!

runvs says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 8:50pm

super awesome! The only thing would be that it's a little bit too easy, but regarding the great sounds, backgrounds, graphics, story, particles, animations, visual effects...

Very well done! I'd like to see a full game out of this!

darthbox1 says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 10:46pm

This is insanely fun and good! My only criticism is that the dash key is a bit far from the jump and shoot keys. I died twice playing through this and the 2nd time was because I missed a key. But this still feels awesome, like metal slug!

darthbox1 says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 10:47pm

I shouldn't have used the word criticism above...way too strong for what was really just a tiny flaw IMO! Again, fantastic game

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Sep 11, 2016 @ 4:13pm

What a great level and how many bosses was that six, seven? Commendable amount of content at offer for 72 hours. Your expertise in these kind of titles really shines through.

However, I got to mention a few minor faults:
- There's no way to close the program. Escape does nothing.
- There is little challenge due to the massive amount of health. A few difficulty modes with varying amounts of health would do.
- The movement system could have been tightened up as it feels just a wee bit too fast and floaty at the moment. Maybe a slight delay and a transition animation when changing movement direction would fix that. Also, air-dash anyone?
- Loads of weapons; many of them too similar: two flamers, three standard forward shooters; the “fire boomerang” is useless and, lastly, the homing drone weapon is simply OP. No need to aim at all.

Minor things, I assure you. More of this kind of thing please.

devpaul says ...
Sep 12, 2016 @ 9:59am

Awesome! I don't know how did you pull this off in 72 hours, but great work ! This is my favorite game of LD37 so far. I think its even better that Aquadrata or No Mario's Sky!

Sep 14, 2016 @ 3:11pm

Awesome game! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/YGWxJtahV00

GhostBomb says ...
Sep 15, 2016 @ 12:36am

It's crazy how much content you can come up with in 72 hours. Incredibly well polished. Has really nice juice, though some of the sound effects are a bit grating. It's crazy how many bosses you designed, I just wish that they maybe had a bit less health as well as the player having less health.

The default control scheme is an abomination so I'm glad you let us choose more sensible alternatives :P

GFM says ...
Sep 17, 2016 @ 1:44am

Crazy good! I just wish it had gamepad support... but after all that content and fun, I won't complain about anything.

Congrats!

Oct 28, 2016 @ 4:44pm

I also included your game in an article of my favorites as well as awarded a trophy to your profile! :) http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-36-eyjmnpkp

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]