Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

SMASH BASH: Sukhov vs Zombies

by SMASH BASH - Jam Entry

This is untold adventure of legendary Fedor Sukhov.
Red Army hero fight against horrible threat of the Undead horde.
Sukhov need to reveal secrets of the ancient technology.
Only mysterious gift from the long-forgotten age can stop undead monsters.

Controls:
W, A, S, D - movement
Left Mouse Button - shoot
R - reload
F - repair (when actual)

Team:

Yaroslav Kravtsov - game design, production, @YarKravtsov
Evgeniy "MazokPixels​" Yudin - art - @Mazokpixels
nEc neca - animation - @nec_neca
Kirill Korepanov - programming - @Xorboo
Viktor Smirnov - programming - @GerodruS
Ivan Seryi - scriptwriter - @john_grey_grey
Dmitry Petyakin - music, sound design - @ElMetallico1

Follow SMASH BASH news on @SmashBashGame twitter account.

Downloads and Links


Comments

Chris0903 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:07am

Good one

publicidadeba says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:10am

Great graphics, such a big game for so little time. The alive people among the zombies freaked me the most. Well done in every aspect.

8Keys Studios says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:10am

Incredible visuals if all of this was done in 48 hours. Very impressive.

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:11am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! amazing pixel art O_O in so few time... wow. Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description. (you can already find several games from the jam there)

indieyp says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:27am

Cool dynamic and art

wheerd says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:35am

The graphics are amazing. The gameplay is simple but well executed. The sound effects are also on point. The dialogues area bit confusing sometimes. I don't like that there are so many invisible walls keeping you on the road. The atmosphere is excellent though. Overall, a very impressive game for such a short time.

psilon says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:03am

Great game, graphics are great, sound is also great, simple but fun gameplay. Amazing team, amazing teamwork.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:28am

Were all the visuals made in the time frame? That is amazing!
The game's pretty fun too, albeit standard (never thought you could have zombies and ancient tech mixed together :P ).

zulman says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:54am

За державу обидно!

flazm says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:04pm

Great game comrades! A lot of references and clean and challenging gameplay!

SMASH BASH says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:03pm

Hi everyone! Thank you for your thanks. I want to make some clarification to avoid misunderstanding in the future. We are made this game in 72h in Jam competition. Some of used art was made before for our main game - SMASH BASH. It not restricted by the rules - "You’re free to use 3rd party Artwork/Music/Audio assets, or assets you previously created".

This is why we participated in Ludum Dare. We always want to make a small game in action genre on our assets that we made for turn-based tactic game. Ludum Dare is the best opportunity for that wish. So we are here for jamming, experimenting, getting feedback, trying new engine (Defold) and having fun.

You can check here how many assets we had on start http://imgur.com/a/1PyBi It's not too much. Only few environmental tiles. What did we make during 72 hours? Lots of new environmental assets, including new buildings, swamp and dense forest. Hero, zombie and boss animations. All code from scratch. All music and sound effects. And unique story/dialogs. Yeah, we worked really hard these days.

And now we are thinking to keep this game as the small spin-off to accompany our main game, because it uses same art style and living in the same game universe. I hope this can encourage other developers to expand their games instead of making each new game from scratch and losing fan base from previous games.

-Yaroslav

Guennor says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:25pm

The art is amazing, I can't believe you guys did it in such a short time. Compliments to your pixel artist!

The music is awesome, fits really well with the universe you created. Nice work!

UrsiGames says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Well done guys!

I enjoyed the time playing your game. Arts are pretty, sounds fit into the environment and game mechanic is interesting. Also music is very addictive! :) Was it recorded on guitar or just made using some software?
There're some cons like buggy collisions and button glitches but hey - it's game jam! :)

~ PanMadzior

HeliosStudio says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Great job!
I'm impressed on how you managed to make such game in only 72 hours!

RafaSKB says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:21pm

Incredible art! Quite impressive you guys done all these assets in such a short time

Neonable says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:26am

Congrats to Smash Bash team for making an excellent game featuring such an extensive environment in so little time. Right away, the player can appreciate the great art, the good gameplay, as well as the nice level design. I would have liked to see variations in enemies, sound effects, and properly placed speech bubbles. My only disappointment was that the game ended abruptly after the "weapon" was repaired. Otherwise, this is a fantastic submission overall. I wish the development team a lot of fun and success in developing this game!

Insality says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 7:06am

Great entry! The art and game feels is great and got pleasure to play

There is some frustrating things: controls sometime get sticky and got sometimes graphics gliths (padding on the map)

But in general: you have the great polished game!

Linver says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:34am

Fantastic soundrack. Fan and surprises included.
But I expected to know what happened in the end, man! A bit of text, please :)
Ps\Sound effects are loud a bit.
And I think, you should add an animation of zombie spawning and hero idle -> then game will be really brilliant.
Good Job\ Болею за вас

Sep 2, 2016 @ 2:49pm

You should include the video from original movie for people to understand what happened after the gun is repaired =)) Great job! Very funny and polished game. Great art and humor (well, not for everyone, but for those who knows).

Kizler says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 11:35pm

This is a very polished game. I love the graphics and gameplay. Every now and then a key would get stuck or the mouse button. Even with this, I made sure I played over and over again until I figured a way to survive.

This game is awesome. I love it. :D

bitdecaygames says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 12:22am

The art pulled me in immediately. All the assets are very well done (though the proportions are a little off -- the bicycle is humongous compared to the player). Gameplay was solid and kept me enjoying it till the end.

I had the same problem some of the others did where controls would randomly get stuck, both movement and shooting. It might have been due to accidentally clicking and dragging while shooting.

Overall, a solid game that is one of the more entertaining ones I've played so far.

vicious_br says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 4:07am

Awesome graphic in such a short time. Congratulations!

DrZanuff says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 4:31pm

Very good game, i liked a lot the setting. But i think a more slow and tense music would be able to improve the mood of the game. I defeated the boss, but didn't understand nothing of what the NPCs were speaking... Overall, nice game!

Wolve says ...
Sep 8, 2016 @ 6:14am

This game looks awesome, I love the smooth run animation of the player and drunk zombies.
You should really put this up on newgrounds.com !

PnDAA says ...
Sep 10, 2016 @ 8:23am

Good art. Simple game. Miss a lot polishing. Collision are really frustrating,. Please no longer compute collision with the size of the sprite.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]