Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Hollywood is Loomynarty

by Sakaki - Competition Entry

This is a game about how the ancient egyptician technology helped the loomynarties (23Δ) to create Hollywood.

The commands are simple :
Up: move foward
Down: nothing
Left: turns left
Right: turns right
Spacebar: shoots

Every action spends energy, the loomyship (the spaceship) is powered by shootingstars energy, so collect shooting stars to increase the energy.

Nothing more than survive and shoot, make some score and stuff. Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Comments

quentinus60 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:04am

I like the intro , it's funny ^^ the graphics are also good. But the gameplay is difficult

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:14pm

Nice artstyle and memes. Good job

Phil Strahl says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:17pm

Interesting intro, unfortunately not skippable, but the graphics are very nice. Sadly, I had wished that the actual gameplay had better controls, as the pivot point of the pyramid felt a bit odd, its turning speed is too low and too floaty, so it's hard not to overshoot the direction you want to shoot in. The aliens require a bit too many hits and the shit in general is too big for the screen. Nevertheless a solid entry :)

Ilseroth says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:26pm

The intro was cute but t ran on, then it was asteroids without screenwrapping.

I loved that you can just straight ram the alien ships and cause them to bounce around like crazy though.

SetTheBet says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:48pm

After the nice intro I expected a little more from gameplay. Really hard turning became more of a "move into them and hope that you wind up in a good direction" game. Ok, but not more I'm afraid.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:57pm

I love the intro! A good game, but very difficult. I love how I can shoot space ships as a pyramid in space. Good job!

Ido_king says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:03pm

great game i just love the art style even doe the game is hard its still enjoyiball

DiegoCTorguet says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:13pm

I loved the art style and the comic humour.
--laughting in alien--
Anyway, I found hard to control the rotation of the spaceship in the game. But, hey, great game!

Sakaki says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:10pm

Hey I fixed some controls, may be more responsive now :P

mvieira says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:46pm

Man...Love the game especially the intro was very well design and well made. And to control you own pyramid LOL thats was great!

I played and the spaceships stopped comming. Is there an End to the game? Should I wait more ? I didnt know what to do afterwards.

This game needs little ajustment ( level maybe ) to me more commercial. Good Job.

Sakaki says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:52pm

@mvieira I actually don't know why they are stopping spawning, I'm trying to figure out the bug (is happenin on every export so may be something in the logic)

svyatozar says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:44am

Omg, yea, Bollywood, lol. It seems to me that goal is not clearly defined in this game. The alien ships are just increasing in numbers and it seems that no matter how many you destroy there is no way to win...

Amine Tcherak says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:55pm

very nice game great work!!

ontherun says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 9:57pm

Loved the intro, but it would be better if it could be skipped, because it gets boring on replay. I found it impossible to control the spaceship, it was spinning way too much.

But yeah, epic intro and really cool idea with the pyramid spaceship.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]