Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Ancient Invaders

by Insality - Jam Entry

​--What the hell is going on?!

Oh, nothing extraordinary. There are two space invaders, kind of tomb raiders, or another treasure hunters, you know. One has a sword, another a flame thrower. They are looking for great ancient technology hidden in stone plates. stone plates locate on the unexplored planets, contain into usuals stones. Its all sounds awesome, but local wild tribes don't give it to you without a fight. C'mon, stop reading, just try to play it!​

--Controls:

First character: WASD: Moving, H: Attack
Space: switch characters (if you play single, use it!)​

Press M to toogle sounds!

Second character: Arrows Moving, L: Attack (for multiplayer)


Good luck with you invades!
Can you get the highscore?!

--
Tools: Defold! Glad to use it in LudumDare
Glad to complete my first Jam Dare (some new experience in the team!)
You can play solo, just use Space to switch character!

Credits:
Insality: Code
Freeda Meteora: Art

Downloads and Links


Comments

Marta Viader says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Super awesome!

pepsikat says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:48pm

Pretty look. To many actions and drive. Hot game!

djfariel says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:14am

That was interesting. Found a bug where if you hold down the attack key and switch characters, the other character will keep attacking. A lot of potential for a full game here. Good work!

Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:07pm

Nice! This is an armed and dangerous Le Petit Prince!

Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:30pm

Really awesome! I love the art and the concept. Keep up the great work!

AODQ says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:59pm

Cute art! I don't have anyone to play it with but i found out i could still attack while switching characters. It's hard to control the second player but it still made it possible to destroy the rocks and so forth. If there were some simple AI for my team mate this would have made the game much more enjoyable for the lonely like me :)

Insality says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Thanks you all for feedback!
This attack-control hack was specially for singleplayer. I will not remove it, I'm enjoyed this style of control. Hope you too ;)

If someone have suggestions about game: please tell me here in comments!

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:18pm

Nice game. Really want to see the controls on the two joysticks.

PnDAA says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Great game, only two things the movements are really too slow and a better IA would be great.

TomBuston says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Very cool game, we played coop with a friend and it was really fun.
The graphics and UI are great.
I had the impression the fire guy was a bit better than the sword man though.
Anyway, great entry, well done !

Quicklyer says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:40pm

Great stuff man, impressive art and interesting idea for co-op play. I continue to be amazed by what people can put out in 2-3 days.

gonutz says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:49pm

Unfortunately your game crashes on start for me. The error message is:

---------------------------
Ancient Invaders.exe - Entry Point Not Found
---------------------------
The procedure entry point InitializeConditionVariable could not be located in the dynamic link library KERNEL32.dll.

I am running a 32 bit Windows XP.

Kazik_210 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:57pm

Hi i like your game finally i found a good co-op game :D Nice graphic!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Awesome game and I made use of the co-op feature too. The direction of the player when you shoot would be a cool feature as I was having a hard time knowing which direction I was in.

2011petia says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Oh nice game !! i liked the graphics and the music, you had a hard work to do this game comgratulations !!

AlexanderMerk says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:39pm

Nice narrative :)
Great music, i want to see Ai control on second char ;)

MewSoul says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:39pm

Pretty nice game here! I only tested solo but it felt like it would be fun in co-op!

The small details like the bugs running on the ground are a nice touch.

One improvement that would be cool would be to have to the controls with a controller, like left joystick to move and the right one to aim, and trigger to attack.

Hero7785 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:41pm

This is a very good co-op game.
I really liked the art and level design
However I wish you could of made more character directions for art.

mato26 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Ignac is like "more OP brother of that "second one :D""
love the mechanic and graphic!. i find that glitch when one of them is shooting by himself (like without touching H key). Nice game!. i loved it!

UrsiGames says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:50pm

I liked this beautiful art of destruction but the story should be developing, for now it seems to be too flat. Still, I think you did the great job in so short time:)

~moono

game have stunning arts, music is good too (for ludum) . In my opinion swordsman is weaker than the other character. Thanks for making in game key hints :). Gameplay is repetitive. Overall well done for 2 members team.

~DangerRad

Allthebees says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:28pm

The art and ui is fantastic for this game! It felt a bit cheaty to use the constant attack "hack" but it was also kinda necessary. Maybe it would make more sense to design the game around some ai that does attack constantly but you still need to switch around to perform skillful shots/attacks.

nardelli says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:51pm

Nice game! We played in coop mode and the experience was fantastic.
I would change the H key for Q or Z. So the two player would play with the same way.
In fact I stoped to play when my arms started to hurt hehe.
Congratulations!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 12:29am

Very creative! Kinda reminds me of the coop puzzles in Magicka, but more focused and action oriented. You could really have an interesting game here if you continue adding elements and weapons.

GrassWhooper says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:41am

i must say, that was actually a fun game :)
i enjoyed it it was simple, and fun.
though my only complaint is that, switching between characters is made to Space and attacking is {H} it should have been the opposite (H for swap, space for attack). just my opinion
besides that, you pretty much tackled around everything nicely :) you even done a nice move by making the other character teleport to the player if they get into a certain distance, that was a nice fix for when the other char gets stuck. somewhere

also the Coil on the flame weapon was just amazing, not sure if it was Code or animation, but it was very nice nonetheless.
i liked how you got creative with simple mechanics, good job with that.

nice game i loved it. (also the leader board is very cool).

runvs says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:08pm

Very nice 2player experience. Coop games are very rare, but mostly good to play. We played and made it to fourth place in highscores.
Switching caracters is not very intuitive (try adding a small animation or particle effect) and we switched characters by accident.
Music, soundeffects, graphics, animations, leveldesign and balancing are on a very high level. Well done!

asyzruffz says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 7:32pm

Awesome! I love the coop aspect in the game. Especially when you can control both player even in single player.

Sep 2, 2016 @ 1:57am

Wow amazing you managed to complete this in just 3 days. Looks great and I like the 2 player option.

tmpxyz says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 8:13am

Amazingly high quality graphics!

I expected to fight a boss on collecting all 4 runes.

btw, it felt so evil to burn down all the natives and homes to crisp.

Insality says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 9:39am

Thanks your all for this awesome feedback!
Nice feel reading them all.

@tmpxyz Nice idea! We will release soon new version with the boss and some more improvements ;)

Mathiouza says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 8:55pm

This game is very cool, well done ! The only thing I have to say is that Kevin is pretty useless. But ... never mind, this is awesome to burn all these aliens x) I think Kevin and Ignat are now outlaws x)

JonathanG says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 9:03pm

Great artwork and very good gameplay. Really liked collecting all the runes. And pretty good 2 player mode too.

The rhythm of the sword jabs almost matches the music, it would be great if it did!

Also, fantastic name choice ;)

marfis says ...
Sep 7, 2016 @ 10:11am

Very nice game. The graphics are superb. Sometimes the controls or the hitbox were off but thats superficial.

This game has a lot of nice polish, particularly for a game jam game (Highscores)!

AWOL says ...
Sep 8, 2016 @ 6:57pm

The graphics are good. I didn't really grasp the gameplay? Was I supposed to break the rocks?

barkergames says ...
Sep 9, 2016 @ 1:31am

Definitely one of the nicest looking and feeling games.
I didn't find it that challenging sadly.
Nice work!

Strike says ...
Sep 9, 2016 @ 5:28am

Very good game. Gameplay is original and solid. Art, animation and music are good too. I played it alone but I can see there it is for sure very fun to play with someone else. I found it pretty difficult to destroy the stones. Only after playing I read the comments to discover I was supposed to switch while firing XD

vicious_br says ...
Sep 12, 2016 @ 4:05am

Good graphics and mechanics. Perhaps a single player version easier to handle.

Sep 12, 2016 @ 5:44pm

Lovely graphics, super fun game! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/09-iIm0Xcrg

Yumeito says ...
Sep 13, 2016 @ 12:35pm

Epic game!! Love the sound effects :D

Sep 15, 2016 @ 7:52pm

Very artistic game, absolutely adored the unique take on the UI. Sadly I didn't have a second person to play with and had to quite pretty early.

We played your game on stream though:
https://www.twitch.tv/cantgetourname/v/89524937

ZYXer says ...
Sep 18, 2016 @ 10:48am

Wow awesome game! I like that it's a two player game but you can easily play alone, the AI of the non-active player is very good.

The graphics are gorgeous! Very well done! (There are a few English mistakes in the text, if you want to publish this game you might want to have someone correct the texts.)

Honestly, the gameplay is a bit simple. I wished the attacks would be more complex, perhaps with different weapons/different attack directions. (and I'm only saying this because everything else about your game is awesome!)

BTW, thank you for playing my game. I'm happy you made it to the golden statue! :D

Oct 28, 2016 @ 4:45pm

I also included your game in an article of my favorites as well as awarded a trophy to your profile! :) http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-36-eyjmnpkp

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]