Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Joey's Adventures

by mato26 - Jam Entry

Joey works at a bank. Don't get me wrong, he loves his job but he always
had the feeling that something is missing in his life.

Every night Joey dreams about how he would be as a world traveler, in search
of big adventures and that extra spice for his life.

What is Joey going to be in his dream tonight? A ferocious pirate? A fearless jet pilot?
Or maybe the famous treasure hunter?
Let's see...

Can you solve the ancient puzzles untill your torch runs out?

By the way, really cool experience, our first Ludum Dare and we are looking forward to next one!

Downloads and Links


Comments

Saruman says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:39pm

This game is just AWESOME! If the developers could make more levels I would be sooo happy :) Rate it 11/10

mvasko2 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:03pm

Amazing graphics, sounds and polish level, this could easily be published as a full game, provided there is a good amount of nice levels.

It's surprisingly challenging and fast-paced, you need to move quickly in order to see anything. The levels feel a bit confusing though. I couldn't get past the second room for a while, only to push one of the blocks by accident, which opened up the door for me.

Also, there is too much jumping, too narrow pathways, and too little platforms for my taste. The game could also benefit from something like checkpoints, I don't want to do the entire level again after I screw up at the end.

I would also consider zooming the camera out a bit. The limited viewport and the confusing nature of the levels make this game too difficult and somewhat frustrating as a result.

Apart from these things, bloody awesome job!

mato26 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:26pm

@mvasko2 First of all, thank you very much for your comment and time looking at our game. We already started with further development. The lack of experiences was reason why we took wrong way of creating levels in the game, which ended up in us creating only 3 levels, thus levels started to be more confusing and much harder then the last one. But now since we are not forced to finish in 72 hours we are going to redo the whole map making system we used. But more about that possibly in the post mortem-y thingy.

Hopefuly we can make levels get harder step by step so they would not be that confusing :) But some indicators for door requirements would be also nice (how many requirements from needed are met). About the checkpoints, there are some basic ones (in the last level) but now that we have time we can play a bit more about this (maybe setting your own on some key press?).

Zooming camera also should not be a problem in the future development.

Once again thank you very much for checking out the game and giving back useful feedback!

Aaranos says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:02pm

I could not make it very far in the game. A suggestion I have would be to not use blind leaps. A platformer must always give a hint as to where you need to go. I kept finding myself leaping into emptiness because I couldn't see how far I needed to jump to land on something solid.

The player controls are fairly responsive, so nice job.

mato26 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:31pm

Hey @Aaranos thanks for your feedback! I guess you are refering to the second level. However, there are no blind leaps in the game, at every point in the game you can see platforms where you can jump (of course if you are not out of fire already :D). Have you used S button to look down?

Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:40pm

Excellent combination of darkness and funny!

Stending says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Loved the art and the audio. The mood is really good!
I was a bit confused about some mechanics, because of the lack of informations, but that's absolutely not a problem!
That's a great first try, congratulations :)

Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Hey, fun game. The graphics are smooth and cute, and the darkness aspect of the game is well done. I didn't know I could double jump until I got stuck and tried mashing space. Nice controls, easy to play - enjoyed the time I spent with it! Cheers.

Hero7785 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:24pm

I liked the feel of the controls but please don't make us do leaps of faiths.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:29pm

The puzzles are very fun and challenging. This is a very strong LD submission. The graphics and sounds are great too.

mato26 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:00pm

@Stending Thank you very much we understand that there is no description about the mechanics other then controls written in menu but to be honest we were happy we finished some rooms before the deadline :D in further development we want to include some tutorial levels at the beginning to show controls.

@Culturebosh_games Thank you for your time :) we are happy you enjoyed it :D

@Hero7785 I know it's not shown in the game itself but it's possible to look down with S button, so you can see platforms :). Actually it's always possible to see platforms to jump (at least from somewhere and while your torch is still not dead :D )

@Elit3dGaming Oh! Thank you very much :) really appreciate your time spent in the game :) and we are happy you liked the puzzles, they can be a bit confusing but we'll work on it! :)

Thank you guys :)

burjandedy says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:05pm

I really like it. Good gameplay. Nice graphics and sounds. Good work! :)

Fidrik says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:27pm

A well polished game! Gameplay felt quite simple but solid. Love the art and music. Shame there aren't more levels

felixsoum says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:30pm

Very nice platformer and use of light mechanic!

MewSoul says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:31pm

Hey, cool entry there! The art and sounds go well all together. The fact that the light of the torch goes smaller and smaller as it burns down is great touch to the game!

Just one thing that could help to improve the game in my opinion, would be to change the movement of the character from wasd to the arrows keys, because at the moment you're like playing with only one hand, and I feel like with the arrow keys it would help to coordinate better the movements and interactions. :)

mato26 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:37pm

@burjandedy thank you :)

@Fidrik yeah, we unfortunately started with level design in a wrong way thus we've been able to finish just 3 of them and even that felt unrealistic at some point. However we are going to redo the whole system and start making levels from scratch so there will be a lot more coming :) Thank you we are happy you enjoyed the game and art :)

mato26 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:39pm

@MewSoul Cool! That sounds cool to me :) we'll bring either full arrow keys support or option to choose between wsad and arrows (probably option to choose which one you feel like using) in the future :) with much more levels of course :D

djdudes100 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:52pm

Wow very cool game

TomBuston says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Fun platformer game, the torch really add some tension !
The art is great !
I got lost many times on 2nd level though
Good job :)

Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:58pm

Very well done! Controls, and animations were all spot on.
Second level was confusing for a while.
The torch as a timer/mechanic was a really nice touch.

Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:10am

I really like it, but I can't get over the controls.

Why space jump with wasd?

why not arrow keys and action and jump on left?

Or at least an option?

That's just a pet peave of mine as I actually rarely play games with wasd controls (arcade game and shmup player)

The game is great, especially the music and sound design, but I just can't get over the control.

Probably just because my left hand has awful coordination, though :)

mato26 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:33am

@TerraCottaFrog Thank you :) this is not the first time we got this point so we will add option to choose your controls :) Thank you for your feedback! And also, we are happy you enjoyed the sounds :)

ErikU says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:40am

It's clear you put a lot of effort in to this. Well done. I was able to get all of the treasures but couldn't find the last switch for the last door!

mato26 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:54am

@ErikU little hint :) do you remember how you opened the second doors in the game? :)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:34pm

A solid entry which I like. Nice aesthetic and pretty mood. Well done ++

g12345 says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 12:01am

Nice entry, very atmospheric, nice graphics. I think if the player wasn't so slippery it would be a winner.

Well done.

mato26 says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 12:07am

@g12345 Hah, yea, he is god damn slippery, or well, he was :) we are working on post ld release and in those builds we have he is already normal when it comes to slipping :) Thanks for your time! :)

Kizler says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 12:24am

Some of the platforming was a little difficult, I actually got stuck when a block fell in front of me (and I had to restart the entire level). I loved the torch mechanic, it implements a certain amount of urgency without a visible clock timer.

MrMordem says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 9:28am

Nice entry overall, the graphics gameplay and music were all good, and the level design really seems good as well, with more levels could be a good full game.

The starting torch burns a little fast, and the platforming difficulty might be a little high tough.

Other than that, many small touches i like, like the artifacts you collected displayed in the menu, and the music really fits the atmosphere of the game, kinda reminded me of something halfway between the first turok and crash bandicoot.

Well done :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]