Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

The Ruins of Proxima Centauri B

by eott - Jam Entry

///////////////////////////////////////////
///// The Ruins of Proxima Centauri B /////
///////////////////////////////////////////

It's the year 2235 and mankind has reached the star Proxima Centauri B. Orbiting that star is a strange planet that was long suspected to be able to harbor life. Now that we can get firsthand confirmation on these claims, many explorers have made their way to the planet. What they found might change what we know of the history of life forever. The planet's small habitable band is covered with ruins of an ancient species that must have died out long before humans ever set foot there. As one of these explorers, it falls to you to recover what remnants of ancient technology you might find in the ruins. But beware, even after all this time, traps might still be active and sprung to end an explorer's life.

--------------------------------------------

Controls:
a and d: lateral movement
left and right arrow: alternatives for lateral movement
spacebar: jump
q: activate artifact
v: alternative for activate artifact
x: show menu when currently not visible
y: close active menu

--------------------------------------------

Unfortunately there are a few bugs and kinks that we couldn't fix in time. Also, I freely admit, the theme is only thinly wrapped around a standard, somewhat lackluster, platformer. Still, it's all about the journey, not the destination, right?

Important note: We fixed one bug after the deadline. Under the rules I think this is justified, even if it wasn't quite a game-breaking bug, but merely hid a minor feature from the player. Still, your opinion may differ.

Downloads and Links


Comments

cushycode says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:27am

The menu of this game is beautiful!
But the game is a bit boring, sorry.

Latis Games says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:56am

I have to admit, I'm rather enjoying this one! The sounds are really well done, and I think the game is quite a fun challenge. It would be nice if there were save points, though, as even though I tend to die within a minute or two it can be rather dull to replay from the start.
—StarFahx

kyyninen says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:06am

Props for having sound effects and atmosphere track! Otherwise this was pretty frustrating. I had no idea how large player character's hitbox was and kept hitting brambles and spikes even when making a simple jump. Checkpoints would have helped.

blubberquark says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:22am

There was no feeling of speed. The player was slowed down by every bramble or spike. I second the suggestion for save points.

raspofabs says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:14pm

Move checkpoints would have been good. If the terminal that says "get out" was a checkpoint, I might have tried again to do so. As it is though, the feeling of motion needs more momentum; weight.

Geared Games says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:26pm

The game was pretty difficult. It was a fun mechanic with the stopping of time, but the levels didn't have a lot of interesting obstacles to use it with.

Maybe there are different artifacts and obstacles later on, but I couldn't really get far. Checkpoints would help tremendously and maybe have some other dangers like rockets chasing you or moving enemies which you can freeze and such.

scriptorum says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Time manipulation is a good mechanic, despite my inability to time those spears and constantly jumping into them. :) II agree on the checkpoints. Nice background noise.

cottontrek says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 4:56am

I really liked the UI for this one! Overall, the gameplay was pretty interesting. The time mechanic was pretty unique, though I do think it could have a longer use time (or maybe I was just bad at getting the things timed just right). The whole story is pretty interesting as well - nice job!

tonynogo says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 1:55pm

Congrats for the work.
Sadly, I can't finish the level.. I found the artifact an stopped the time. That's cool.

g12345 says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 10:38pm

I finished the game, and it was okay.

More checkpoints could cetainly help other people. Also in-game explanations of the game keys would be better (instead writing them in the instructions).

I like how that artifact works but ultimately it only worked on one specific kind of things so you can expand it with other things in a newer version of the game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]