Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

GRAVIQUATRO

by puppetmaster - Jam Entry

-°- Intro -°-
There is a mysterious ancient board. It's a board-game but which one?

-°- Rules -°-
Graviquatro is a game for two players.
It has the same rules as "Connect Four" except that you have to change the fall direction at the end of the turn.

-°- Tools -°-
This game is created using
- Godot Engine
- Affinity Designer

-°- Team -°-
puppetmaster - programming, art, animation, soundfx
sammakko - programming

Downloads and Links


Comments

Sep 2, 2016 @ 10:41pm

Amusingly this is a kind of digital game board as it requires two human players and does not even check win conditions! Not necessarily a problem, but a bit strange nonetheless.

I have no one to test it with at the moment so it's close to impossible to assess if the additional rule, adds to or subtracts to the original game or even make it something different completely. My gut feeling is not very good I must say, but I don't trust my gut that much! I am curious to try it with another player or hear from those who did.

UI Note: why not have the possible row/gravity choices be highlighted in the color of the next player?

tonynogo says ...
Sep 13, 2016 @ 11:10am

The idea is not so bad. I gave a try alone.
It can be interesting playing with a friend.
The design is cool.
I just don't like the button to switch the direction of fall.
But I like it.
Congratulations for the nice work!

chrisdugne says ...
Sep 13, 2016 @ 6:57pm

excellent idea !
this small rule changes the casual simple game to make a smart and interesting game.
reminds me of pentago, the board game.
About the design: the tokens are quite cool, but I would improve/remove the leaves : )

amras0000 says ...
Sep 15, 2016 @ 12:16am

Though I only played it on my own I would love to give this one a go with another player. The game feels like it'd offer a lot of strategic depth and was already wrecking my brain in the dummy games.

The art and sound design definitely work for the theme. I wonder that a more minimalistic approach wouldn't have worked better but in the end it still looks relatively nice and suits the Ancient Tech theme. Aside from the buttons to rotate not being particularly pretty (I'd have preferred arrow-like triangles in place of the rectangles) my main complaint would just be the delay between inputs. It takes too long for the pieces to fall into place, it takes too long for the buttons to pop up on screen, it takes too long for the board to turn, the animation to play out, and the next turn to start. But in the end it doesn't hurt the game too much, just might get irritating after a dozen games or so.

Very nice work.

Sep 15, 2016 @ 10:21pm

Awesome and really creative. Very cerebral, it challenges you to think in a way you normally wouldn't.

Got to check it out with another person.

The only complaint I have is the slightly annoying sound and the seemingly needlessly long animation of the falling of the piece.

Fantastic work.

NIGIC says ...
Sep 17, 2016 @ 4:10pm

As mentionned previously, it's a bit on the slow side, and doesn't seem to look for an end condition.

The added rule adds a lot of depth and complexity to the game. One thing I feel is missing is letting the player choose not to change the gravity on their turn; although there's already enough options as is, so it's not much of an issue.

Thematically, I get that it's supposed to be "lost technology", but it doesn't really pop out much within the game. Then again, I'm not sure how one could push that further...

Game is smooth, and looks nice. For the purpose of a two-player board game, it works great. Sound fits in flawlessly. Good job!

Damdoshi says ...
Sep 17, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Hey, it is a really nice idea. = ) The concept is cool and well done. We had fun playing your game.
Graphics are cool. The sound is okay, adding music would be nice. The falling is a little too slow, but well... We always take time to think about our next move, so it is not really important.

joe40001 says ...
Sep 18, 2016 @ 3:15am

Interesting game, I tried to play the game as if I'm two people and I don't know if it would play well or not. But I guess the same could be said of connect 4 itself. I liked the idea and graphics.

Score: (because I like scores)
Overall 3/5
Innovation 3/5
Fun 2/5
Theme 5/5
Graphics 4/5
Audio 3/5
Humor 0/5
Mood 3/5

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 19, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Thank you for all your comments.

The animation speed was purposely slow because I think it will give a better mood (old, heavy, ancient)
I change it in my last build and it is definitely better. :)

@joe40001 The voting for Audio and Humor wasn't open :)

@chrisdugne The leaves was my last addition. I should invest more time!

@NIGIC I was also surprised how this simple rule change add depth to this old game.
I tested the rule change with my family and they have had a lot of fun.
So I thought I could share it with the LD community.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]