Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Retro Player

by justinooncx - Competition Entry

=======
Intro
=======

What's this? Why's everything in monochrome? Why is everything so blocky and pixelated?

It's time to pay a small homage to the ancient technology of yesteryear! Back to good ol'-fashioned 8-bit graphics and SFX!

=======
How To Play
=======

- Drag the player indicator around the screen, and the character will move towards it.
- Drag the crosshair to aim where the character is firing.
- Tap on the powerups at the bottom to use them when they are fully charged!
- Stay alive for as long as possible!

=======
Notes
=======

- Kill 30 of any enemy to charge up the Bomb Powerup!
- Clear the screen from enemies and threats with a single tap!

- Kill 7 slimes to charge up the Speed Powerup!
- You move at twice the speed for 20 seconds!

- Kill 10 constructs to charge up the Shot Powerup!
- Double your firing rate for 20 seconds!

- Kill 12 mushrooms to charge up the Health Powerup!
- Heal 1 health! Can't go above 5.

- Skeletons drop free powerups when killed!

- This game is mobile-friendly!

=========
Post-Jam Updates
=========

If you want to play the updated version, click on the post-jam link below!

1.1
- Music changed to 8-bit. Finally!
- 3 bosses added! (Technically one with three forms)
* An extra layer on the Ancient Technology theme: Golems!
* Kill 30 enemies to spawn a golem to fight!
* Defeating the golem increases the enemy spawning rate by a small amount.

1.2
- Tapping on the character now stops her in place to allow emergency stops or to realign your indicator
- Golem's 'Paper' form improved
* Open palm now moves towards your crosshairs to intercept your shots

==========

And a special thank you to those who have played this game and given their support!

==========

Downloads and Links


Comments

gassasin says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Verry Chellenging and cool game! Maybe u should put this game on google play

McMutton says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 8:27pm

Nice gameplay concept... even though i saw myself pretty much avoiding the main mechanic pretty fast by placing the crosshair in the middle and moving the character around it.

But the "exploding" enemies kinda take care of that tactic as well.

Well done!

mat1er says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Really good!

RasmusErik says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Very good.

Really like the mechanics for steering the character.
I agree with gassasin, that it would be a nice game
to publish on google play and/or similar.

ulanda says ...
Aug 28, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Very polished game, great art!

UnknownEvil says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:11am

Nice art, unique gameplay. Very hard, I like it.

quentinus60 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:18am

Good game !
time : 150
score : 14600 for the second try

MaTeX-7seven says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:51am

Really cool, and hard gameplay ^^ The art looks great and the music is very nice. gj

KingEthaniel says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:59am

Really interesting mechanic, I like the idea of not directly controlling your character in a fast paced action game! Also, really good art and sound.

crazyrems says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:03am

Really neat! It's simple and challenging at the same time.

minnouu says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:14am

Very nice music and art. Also really hard

masterkrepta says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:48am

Came because Vivian got my attention... stayed for the Awesome Art work and game play, I was raised by my game boy basically so this was excellent.,

Zaretsu says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:00am

Your art work and animations are phenomenal, I am glad I've a touch screen, addictive play. Controls had me hooked. :)

Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:05am

dis gam is gud

Xlip says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:23am

ow i liked it

pokenoufl says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:11am

Loved it, music is great. I could see this turn into a full game if you were to set up stages. great job

killthealias says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:23am

This is probably one of the more interesting games I've played so far. The exclusive focus on mouse-based gameplay is really unique and makes what would otherwise be easy into a difficult challenge (in a fun way). Biggest complaint is the break from tone when the piano comes in, would have been better to have actual chiptune music.

spatanz says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:25am

Nice art work, quite challenging and the control is interesting.
Good job~!

Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:25am

I used the same strategy as @McMutton (put the crosshair in the middle, keep left click pressed, dodge everything) and could not die.

I am not too sure what you can do to avoid that though... trivializing winning strategy aside, it is very well done!

Azlen says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:40am

Looks easy, turns out to be quite challenging. Especially hard when using a trackpad.

On the second try I figured that the game is easier with the crosshair in the middle, and just moving the player around it. Although I notice that this has already been mentioned by "@Rico The Jammer" and @McMutton.

Bogden says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:18am

Nice fundamentals. Interesting twist on a classic genre as well.

Only big gripe would be missing keyboard shortcuts for the abilities.

KevKevOnFire says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:23am

Works nice, looks nice. Main complaint is that the controls are kind of awkward and put a big divide between this game and the theme, both its own and the game jams. Can't say I can think of any Gameboy games that used drag-and-drop as the primary control scheme.

QwaKlak says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:30am

Greatfun http://screenshot.sh/mMhYjge0ey5Bm

alexv says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:18am

Looks nice. Not sure how I feel about the whole multitasking thing, I found myself just leaving the cursor in the middle of the screen and working with that.
Maybe this could be a debuff, losing control over one of the two

g_o says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:26am

Pretty nice but goddammit it's hard!

Kassimkot says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:51am

nice. loving the concept. love the design. love the title screen. you always seem to bring back nostalgia in your games. an element which i love very much.

awesome game, man

Terrabalt says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:12am

Wow, not only you emulated the graphics and feeling of the old consoles, you emulated the hardness of those games as well! good job!

SamuelSousa says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:39am

I can't drag both at the same time :) Very neat!
Had to loose the first time to play. Lovely art.
Things can get very hard which keeps you on your toes...

Google Play definitely.

tomer_cool says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:10pm

Nice game, good graphics, so retro.

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:19pm

Nice graphics, love the retro vibe and the difficulty.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:22pm

Oh my, brilliant gameplay idea! =))) It's not just an ancient pixelart, it's the most ancient controls possible =))) It's older than videogames, so we never used them actually.

c4m says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:59pm

I really loved the art style!
congrats!

fixedgerald says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:42pm

Neat concept, cool graphics.

peterthehe says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Really fun and super retro. It reminds me of my old VTech toy laptop with a game just like this - except for it was supposed to teach maths instead! Great work!

jakatpemadi says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:28pm

Good gameplay, cool graphic, great game... Nice, thank you... =D

Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Nice graphics and a cool idea, was a tad hard to keep both the character and the aim active!

Was a tad extra hard with the web as the web started to jump around if clicked in the wrong place.

Good luck! :)

KLegacy says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Graphics were great, The concept was very interesting as well, good job.

RhythmLynx says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:50pm

Had a lot of lag on this for some reason, made the difficult control scheme really clunky. Interesting concept though, I think it might work better on a touchscreen than with a mouse

edve98 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Wow, awesome visuals! I find this game very hard, I wonder if it's easier on mobile (can you move crosshair/player at the same time?).

JD557 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:37pm

Nice visuals. I didn't like the controls, but I guess that's because I'm playing with a touchpad. It probably works better in mobile.

MrBrenan says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Nice, simple and cool.
This should be better on smarthphone to controll the player and the aim at the same time.

wrexialmt says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:33pm

Looks and sounds good, The mechanics are cool and rather unforgiving. I found myself just dropping the aim in the middle of the room and just dodging enemies and projectiles though since its quite impossible to manage both at the same time.

TheLaw says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Cool GB Classic design, but game is damn hard.

Ghen says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:06pm

i love the art, get vibe of original gameboy from it, anyway, the control a bit hard, that drag player and the cursor with only 1 control
very fun and challenging

hawkinslance says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:47pm

I had a lot of fun playing this game! Challenging and simple. I love the challenge it provides do you want to aim or do you want to move? The visuals are great too!

Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:53pm

Super hard but good

nille says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:16pm

interesting control scheme, nice retro design, pretty hard

Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:50pm

I suck nuts at it, but it's pretty damn addicting.

The controls make such a simple concept incredibly challenging and fun. And the art is super cute.

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:52am

Amazing artwork and overall execution. The controls are a bit tough for a mousepad. Could have done without the gamergate reference, though. :(

kadealicious says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:03am

Cool game, although I would have preferred a zelda-esq movement style.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:08am

Cool Game, but the controls were tough. Nice Artwork.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:10am

Controls were different to what i'm used to but it made things interesting.

Looks and sounds great too!

leialus says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:34am

cool Game, so dificult, but cool.

Nichii says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:17am

This is really good, Kudos for including Vivian James. The art and retro feel really works out. The controls were very innovative and I liked that. The only cons I can say about this game is the steep learning curve and how the game throws everything at you in less than a minute. Also the movement click is sometimes hard to click on due to its small size. Anyway, good job and good luck on future games.

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:18am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description. (you can already find several games from the jam there)

skorpyo says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:53am

Very nice idea to use only mouse for movement and aim control, it gives some chalange. I like that kind of games :)

johanw123 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:24am

awesome, looks really good.

johnbjuice says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:31pm

Music glitch - the piano part played over itself until it got super loud and painful! Seems like a bug where the game keeps playing the file even though it is already playing.

The controls are interesting and difficult - I found myself just moving the shooting crosshair every once in a while and mostly focusing on moving the character.

Not a fan of the GG reference, gross.

Art style is consistent and good otherwise.

Solid game.

AWOL says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:04pm

I like the black and white artwork. For a minute my character just stood there and wouldn't move. I think this is one of the more solid games I've played though and its actually about Ancient Technology

Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:36pm

Well made, the graphics are nice, and the controls are interesting.

Sun-Wukong says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:49am

Ughh. Looks nice, but controlling two objects with single device that cannot be in two places at one given time is terrible idea from my point of view.

shimage says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:41am

My score was time:120 score:12100. I enjoyed it!
I want to move the character and an aim at the sametime. But that feeling was fresh and fun. The slime avoiding my bullet is so wise. Good!

publicidadeba says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:45am

people are loving this game. I like how the navigation and shooting works, nothing have seem. Asthetics are really good, well done!

wilsk says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:01pm

Interesting idea for a control scheme, definitely not the type of game something I'm good at! Thanks for the fun times.

ocarson says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:54pm

Cool game, i like the tough girl, she is cool, I think this is very gameboy, would be interesting to have a gameboy control scheme, or, indeed, if it was made in something like GBDK for actual hardware.
The actual gameplay was an good concept, feels very experimental, I like experimental! Visuals are fantastic in my opinion.
I didn't get far enough to see a boss, but I did have a good time with it, good job overall.

justinooncx says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:23pm

@ocarson Currently, if you want to see the boss, you'll have to go to the post-jam link. The game that's embedded right now is version 1.0, so that people will see what I came up with in 48 hours without the improvements afterwards. Just to make things fair. Thanks for playing, though!

ocarson says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:29pm

No worries! My pleasure!

nardelli says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Nostalgia! :D
Really nice art, and challenge! Congratulations. I let the aim in the center and moved only the girl, but I lost anyway. The AI is pretty well!

Success!

Cliff Lee CL says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:20am

Polished game is always good to play :)

Strike says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:26pm

That's a very polished game and I love the Game Boy aspect. Now I'm going to play the post jam version to get more immersed thanks to the 8-bit music ;) Very challenging gameplay and very refreshing. I never played something like that before. When reading the instructions it felt weird at first, but it works pretty well. It feels like managing 2 characters at the same time in a way, which is what makes it pretty interesting to play. I'm wondering if having gameboy-type controls would make it feel more like a retro game. I'm not sure if it would make it easier to play as well. Maybe something like d-pad to move the character, and d-pad while holding a button to move the cross hair.

My only regret is that is typically a scoring game, and I don't see any score. I was about to ask you what was your high score so there was some challenge there, some kind of goal. Or maybe a timer to compare how long people survive. Or maybe both :D This would add much more value to the game. I would play it a lot to try to by my own record (or other people's one ;) )

And thanks to keep working on your game. I'll follow this page to see if you release new versions. Now it's time to try v1.2 !

Strike says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Wow ! The boss is insane ! \o/

justinooncx says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:07pm

@Strike Thanks for the feedback! There were a few limitations that I had to adhere to when making this game:

a) Mouse controls were a must. As much as I wanted to have a proper Game Boy control layout, it would be rather unplayable on mobile. And having onscreen buttons and joysticks are tacky as hell.

b) Low resolution. To keep to the retro feel, I had to sacrifice space, which made fitting in the UI pretty hard. I decided to leave the score at the end after all it's done. As for a leaderboard thing, well, that was kinda tricky as well.

Again, thanks for playing!

PlonkyDonkey says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 3:54pm

interesting game, very nice art style. found the control scheme a little weird to get used to.

Deive_Ex says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 5:23pm

Oh, I really liked the game! The pixel art is pretty nice and the gameplay is interesting and challenging.

Frump says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 6:50am

Cool game, pretty unique control scheme. I liked it.

It ran much better in Firefox. I had some glitches with the music in chrome.

Sep 6, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Super challenging game! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/lT_5Gj1NQIo

chocobyte says ...
Sep 7, 2016 @ 10:48am

8-Bit yeah! Great work, very polished. The 8-bit music in the post jam version adds to its charm even more :)

pyokoanarogue says ...
Sep 8, 2016 @ 9:07pm

Very nice. but hard on the wrist.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]