Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Azymuth

by Geckoo1337 - Jam Entry

A vanished civilization, using its mighty technology, was able to build some temples in the sky. Today this place becomes a challenge which only a brave runner could complete. Are you this one?

Finally, my entry is finished for the LD36 - Azymuth. This is a paced platformer game in which you must activate seven old artefacts (with a red cross) in order to finish an unique level - and as quickly as possible. I did what I could so as to create a solid project using a custom controller character and many shaders so as to display a beautiful dynamic sky. Clearly, this is a challenge. The background music is a clever combinate between wind sound and quiet music. An online scoreboard allows us to compete against other players. I hope that you will enjoy. How to play?


Use WASD to move (or arrows keys)
Keep pressed Left-Shift key to run (you can jump higher)
Press R to restart game (if you fall)
Use Page-Up and Page-Down to increase/decrease mouse sensitivity
Use M key to pause background music
Escape key to close the application or back to the menu...

BUNNY JUMP POSSIBLE (AND REQUIRED) ++

You can check highscores at this address :
http://gmscoreboard.com/Azymuth

Downloads and Links


Comments

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Hey, cool concept and 3d graphics! Nice bunny hops and I kinda like the music haha. Good job!

pavel_insight says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:45pm

The atmosphere is meditative and relaxing, but goal is to activate artifacts as fast as possible) So I didn't run, just enjoyed listening to the wind and music. :)

tomdeal says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:32pm

cool graphics, liked it. Controls are a bit floaty, but works well with the overall style.

Amine Tcherak says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Very Nice i love your Game Good Works )=

MrBrenan says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:23pm

Very cool graphics ! Did you really make them during the contest ? :)

It's a cool mirror's edge like but the level design is a little bit too ... hasardous ?

Well, great job guys :)

Fidrik says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:09pm

Nice game, looks great too. Quite difficult but an interesting idea. Music is good.

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:16pm

This is soo coool!!! I love the graphics, I love the scoreboard. It is the perfect difficulty for this kind of game, the level design is strategic and clever (although I didn't actually complete it :/).

This is the kind of Ludum Dare game that I will play twice. Thanks :D

Senor Salty says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:22pm

A very good entry. Appealing graphics and very atmospheric music. Collision was a bit unrealistic,but thats to be expected. All around a very fun and satisfying game.

austintradr says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:37pm

I really like the concept, a pure speedrun game like this is something I've always wanted. I think the biggest issue is the controls though, it adds a layer of difficulty that really shouldn't be there, just trying to move properly. Overall great game, I like the high scores implementation too!

AWOL says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:16am

Not a bad start. Were do the High scores go? I didn't see a board.

mato26 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:50am

Cool! I like it :D It has nice competitive tint in it :)
Good job for 72 hours :)

yben says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:52am

Nice one dude :). I like the atmosphere, and this mirror's edge feeling merged with a puzzle design works pretty good !

juaxix says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 4:27pm

made it in 1:18.
And it's fun :)

bytekeeper says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 3:27pm

Movement is a bit off (too much aircontrol). The mirror's edge feeling is cool and the "music" fits perfectly.

mvasko2 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 3:33pm

Really nice graphics and music, was everything made during the competition?

Also, as simple as the concept is, the game is really challenging and fun. Too bad there's only one level.

One personal complaint though, I thought that the controller didn't feel as nice as it could. I can't put my finger on what exactly is wrong, but I think the feel can be improved. This is a thing which requires a lot of testing and tweaking.

Great job!

UrsiGames says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:38pm

I like waving LD banner :) That's cool. Also leaderboard is good idea to engage player and view is exciting. But I don't like movement. It isn't very responsive - at least on my PC. Anyway good job ;)

~ PanMadzior

Coomzy says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Nice game, controls felt a bit janky but work on that and this could be a really fun game.

kyyrma says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Wow the game looks really interested! The beginning was difficult but after a while I was dyscovering artifacts left and right! Excellent work!

Drumsmasher17 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:47pm

I like the concept and it was engaging to try and get better, that said my 20fps on a (i7 and 1080) made the controls feel really bad, something which is essential to this type of game. Should really have been a priority for this.

ianb96 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:50pm

A little hard to control if you're not used to it, but I like the highscore feature and the ambiance.

Lonely Vertex says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:54pm

Very good concept, I like how you can convince player that thats not the right way in just a few tries :D With better controls and improved graphics this could be really cool logic game. Good work!

daveh says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:02pm

Great jumping game. It took a while to get used to the movement but once I did it was easy enough to control. The sphere's add an interesting dynamic other than just being platforms as is the norm in this style of game. Nice skybox too.

n42k says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 7:02am

Cannot run this, no Linux version. This looks like Unity and, if so, could you export a Web version?

JK5000 says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 11:24am

The game idea is simple and great. To me it is a bit hard to make the jump from platform to platform. But overall well done.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 2:29pm

@n42k - Of course, I would like to simplify gaming experience. I have done a WebGL version which was totally bugged - no color, no sky and a FPS between 10/20 fps. It was realy really bad. Also I have done a classic WepPlayer version, but in this case, it doesn't allow to send time/score to the board online, using www API, because there is a security restriction. Just my release for Windows works fine ++

pixelpotions says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 6:22pm

A good mix between a surreal ambient experience and a fast paced platformer! Love the contrast. Graphics are good and the music fits well. The scoreboard makes it very addictive. Solid entry.

I fixed the bugs and updated my entry if you want to check it out.

Linus123xbb says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 11:00pm

This game looks really cool, but unfortunately I can't try it right now because I'm running linux. Could you provide a Linux build maybe?

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 4:29am

@Linus123xbb - I will do a release for Linux today. Keep an eye on my project ++

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 5:13am

I did it - go to my Itch.io page to find a link. Please, tell me if this package works - or not. Thank you ++

Kramchay Dig says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 5:13pm

I like the graphics though

Linus123xbb says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 9:44pm

@Geckoo1337 hmm, it runs on my machine but it is very slow for some reason. Could you build for Linux "universal"? It may work better on my x86_64 architecture.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 11:19pm

@Linus123xbb - try the new release which is availbale on Itch.io ++

Linus123xbb says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 4:54pm

It worked good enough on another computer running Linux, however for some reason I am getting very low fps. Still the graphics were very nice for this game and the overall environment together with the music was relaxing. I couldn't figure out how to capture all the boxes but I had fun anyway. A nice game indeed :)

squirrelbot says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Difficult to play on a laptop. :) The background music is very fitting, and ambient.

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 2:09am

Very nice atmosphere, music and graphics are great! A bit short but still challenging (maybe because the control was a bit hard? But I'm used to invert Y axis, so maybe it's just me). The sphere were a bit scary to jump on xp. Nice job!

Daniel says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 11:06pm

Cool concept, graphics are cool and simple, the music fits the game style, but in my opinion I think the game doesn't fit in the Ancient Technology theme, it also would have been good if you added the instructions within the game, so its easier for people to see what buttons to use, as I played the game with low mouse sensitivity which annoyed me, but overall good game.

prygskok says ...
Sep 7, 2016 @ 1:19pm

i'm trying to play but always fall down.. never lucky

nice game)

jsmars says ...
Sep 8, 2016 @ 11:42am

Fun to speedrun with highscores, nice work!

Hero7785 says ...
Sep 11, 2016 @ 12:34am

Cool graphics and music, but the player felt off and I couldn't see how this fit with the theme

Sep 16, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Liked the concept and how it seemed to be built for speedrunning. Although I did find it a bit too difficult for me. Wish there had been some slow progression levels just to get used to the controls so that I could be more comfortable with the movement. The atmosphere was nicely done too.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]