Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Bullet Reality

by Frump - Jam Entry

After finding a mysterious stone tablet you've gained the powers of a witch. Survive wave after wave of invading ancient robots.

Flap mode - Tap to flap
Fly mode - Hold down to rise

Controls:
Jump - Left click or W or Up arrow
Shoot - Right click or D or Right arrow
Switch fly mode - Space
Start - Enter

Art/Programming - Kyle Parsons @Frump3d
Music - Joel Tansley

Downloads and Links


Comments

Pikby says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:00am

Love the music and art designs!
It might be that I screwed up the settings, I don't know- but I personally believe that it would be a good idea to make the jump speed slower!

cushycode says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:59pm

Cute art, but pressing UP or LMB sent me flying up at the turbospeed, which makes it unplayable.

Frump says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:26pm

@Pikby @cushycode

!! Thanks for letting me know. I fixed it now. It turned out to be that the "fastest" quality setting had vsync turned off so it was running way too fast. Any other setting should work fine. I also updated the file.

cushycode says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:03pm

@Frump now it's much better!

Nice and simple game with a lovely graphics, what else can I say? Well done!

By the way, why don't you make a web version? It's so easy with Unity nowadays and I think, a lot of people prefer playing in their browsers without downloading any files.

juaxix says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Only magic is the true ancient tech! remind me of that Studio Ghibli movie ( Majo no Takkyƫbin ) ,and i loved it :)

pyokoanarogue says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 12:32am

Very nice game. That aside, i see no advantage to stop pressing the shoot button and the need for the flap mode to be the default. also couldn't understand the yellow barrier mechanic.

brantkings says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:25am

Really cool music and art!! Everything is so clean and well done! I had some difficulty in figuring out what caused me to shoot big stars, and what is the advantage of it.

randomhuman says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 11:36pm

Pretty fun! I liked the choice of flight modes. It could use some sound effects, but the music was good and meant it avoided being completely silent.

Sep 2, 2016 @ 12:58am

Cool! Very cool and cute art, and I love shooting stars any chance I can get.

justinooncx says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Oooh, a bullet hell game. Interesting~ I like how you have 2 flying modes for different playstyles; definitely helped me through the game. The inability to move forward and backward, though, definitely made it pretty damn hard to avoid the bullets or enemies at times when you're cornered. Other than that, it has nice art and a cool soundtrack, even though it's lacking in SFX. Good game!

Frump says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 10:19pm

@cushycode You're right, I added a web version. When I had tested it originally the performance wasn't great but it's fine now.

@juaxix Kiki is always an inspiration for witch stuff.

@pyokoanarogue It's not a barrier, that's the hitbox! It's a convention in bullet hell games to show the player the hitbox so they know exactly how close they can cut it . I initially had it on autofire but there's something nice about having the extra control over the shot, even if you always want to have it held down. Adds difficulty by giving your brain one more thing to do.

@brantkings They just shoot out at a set interval to break up the monotony. The only advantage in the jam version is that they have a wider hitbox.

@randomhuman Thanks. I agree about SFX, just ran out of time and I'm not good with sfx.

@SimonHutchinson Thanks!

@justinooncx Glad to hear you got use out of both modes. I hadnt thought about adding left/right directions because it goes against the conventions of infinite runners/flyers but it might be interesting to try.

HeliosStudio says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 1:34am

Loved the option to change between fly modes!
Also glad to the a bullet hell here, really like the genre and the touhou similarities here.

comatomatoes says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 3:20am

I like that the hit boxes were pretty forgiving. Good artwork. The rotation on the stars was a nice touch.

tonynogo says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 4:09am

You did a nice work. Graphiics and sound are gound. Gameplay it's cool but I don't like to maintain the key to fly... it's very strange
Anyway, congratulations for the good job!

lamogui says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Sould have been called "72h reality"

Iwa says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 2:45pm

The game is graphically nice but the player's collision box is too big (same for enemies' bullets) therefore it's difficult to avoid obstacles. Nice job by the way. :)

AlexanderMerk says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 3:02pm

I'd like that parallax background :)

Sep 3, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Really awesome graphics! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/rUX8vUSl-y0

Danae123 says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 8:08pm

Very nice entry! Cute character and great music :)

Sep 4, 2016 @ 2:37am

Very nice art style and music, myself I found fly more precise but someone else might like the flap mode better, it's cool that you have the option to change between them. I would have liked the ability to move left and right though. As more enemies appear I find it becomes too difficult to dodge but I guess that's specific to all bullet hell games, although some health pick-ups would've been really useful.
Overall it's a really fun game! Great work!

-Mihai (LittleDoomDevs)

Deive_Ex says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 4:15pm

I really loved the graphics and the music is pretty fun! The gameplay is kinda hard and I didn't really get what's the difference between the flying modes.

Sun-Wukong says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 9:31pm

Looks very pretty but controls are awful!

Bobsleigh says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 3:10am

Nice little game, maybe too much particles to dodge.

Cool music.

Sep 5, 2016 @ 2:59pm

I like the graphics, but I think the sprite of the player is way too big. It would also help having more normal shmup control, as the genre does not work well with any form of drifty control. Alternatively, you could reduce bullet density or design patterns to work better with the control.

Again, the graphics were awesome, along with the music.

Sep 5, 2016 @ 4:51pm

The Art is incredible and the music really gives you a good time, however, I feel that some visual feedback when getting hit would go a long way towards making the game more fun to play.

It's good fun when you get used to it, nice work, especially on the stunning graphics.

Crimson713 says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Nice game!
I like the art, it's colourful and positive, and the music fits the same style as well. The shooter mechanics are also implemented nicely. One extra element I'd like to see is the addition of sound effect, or some visual indication that the player or enemies have been hit. Nice work overall!

Sep 5, 2016 @ 7:35pm

What a happy game :) Loved the music and graphics. Didn't really get the point at first but I got into it pretty easy, you don't need to get all complicated with it. The scrolling background was a nice touch too. Well done ! :D

squirrelbot says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 7:47pm

Gameplay is fun, but the shooting feels useless. Maybe if it was possible to shoot down projectiles? Some feedback would be nice when hit, and the game generally could use more sounds.

chrisdugne says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 8:14pm

A riding sorceress, you too : )
A fun and relaxed theme, well done.
I like the dodging, it was definitely easier in 'fly mode'.
The shooting is not quite balanced maybe, we spend to much time dodging, it doesn't sound useful to try to shoot, may be the enemies goes by to quickly ?

Sep 5, 2016 @ 9:39pm

the ability to change controls on the fly is something new to any game, good concept. The size of the player is something hard to find a balance in any game. The art style and music was a nice touch.

Plug Plug: Check our game Dig Dig Revolution we want to hear your opinion too.

Cirrial says ...
Sep 19, 2016 @ 5:25pm

Nice art and music, sounds would have been nice. Very nice simple game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]