Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

cognizance

by managore - Competition Entry

spin left, spin right and jump
play with a keyboard or gamepad

m to toggle mute
p to toggle fullscreen
r to retry

there are five friends

the game does not save progress

-------------------------------

if you get an error, first try updating directx
https://www.microsoft.com/en-au/download/details.aspx?id=34429

if you get stuck or break the game, please let me know

if you beat the game, I would love to hear which parts
you liked the most, and which parts you liked the least

made by daniel linssen for ludum dare 36

-------------------------------

changelog

v1.0.0.1: fixed an out-of-bounds bug
v1.0.1.0: fixed a bug that sometimes reset progress

(I'm still working on this page)

Downloads and Links


Comments

jcmonkey says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:05am

i got to 3 full cogs before i felt like smashing my keyboard against the wall. im really bad at wall jumping games. but over all you made another amazing game. :D

mokesmoe says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:22am

I got stuck and broke the game. The left/right gravity platform can go up forever even though the left/right locks, so I went up a bunch and jumped over the right wall into the adjacent area.

managore says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:45am

@jcmonkey: sorry to hear that! I tried to limit the tricky wall jumping to purely optional areas, so whatever section you're trying to do is probably skippable

@mokesmoe: thanks for spotting the bug, I'll add a ceiling in that room!

MrAmsel says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:11am

WOW! This is such a great game, I love the system you made and so quickly too, the concept is great!

Steven Miller says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:51am

Amazing game, as usual. I made it to the end with 4.5 gears. The puzzles were spectacular, I loved how each one felt meaningfully different. The mechanics are very clever and intuitive. The only thing I could think to add are saves (though I imagine most people will go through it in one sitting anyway) and a map (just to help find some of the gears).

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:27am

Clever and well executed as usual. Awesome game.

The final puzzle was frustrating purely because it was really easy to run into static and lose all your progress while you're trying to manipulate the platforms.

Meta-link says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:36am

Great game all the ways : nice graphic style and nice core mecanic doing a good platformer !

unoion says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:34am

Wonderful game! Difficulty was perfect to me. Great combination of good graphics and challenging puzzles!

Gamefreak says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:47am

Awesome entry as always!

muit says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:50am

Just, wow.

I cant think on anything bad on this game. Awesome mechanics, effects, art..etc.

Maybe some music would improve even more the experience.
But, for me the best.
Congrats!

JK5000 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:46pm

The idea is great and the mechanic are fun.

Flatgub says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:54pm

This game is absolutely amazing!
By far the most polished game I've played so far (At time of writing, thats best of 17). Visually stunning with unique platforming mechanics! Every game you make is utter gold, I don't know how you do it!

Dia6lo says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:14pm

Yeah, that pretty great expierence. Neat.

c4m says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:54pm

wow, the controls feel so good. Great work like always!

RugbugRedfern says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:10pm

Awesome game. I do wish there was a way to exit without opening task manager, though. and if it saved progress. that would be nice.

Conk says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:36pm

Yep, just what I expected form you (: Literally took me a good hour or so, your games are always so long for the time frame! The only thing that annoyed me was the platforms that can be pushed into unsolvable solutions (the last puzzle being the worst for this) and having to jump to my death. Obviously this makes the puzzle harder, but it already has a perfect mix of mind bending puzzle and skillful platforming, the added annoyance isn't necessary.

If I could give you 5 stars, I would!

SmallPhil says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:43pm

This is amazing! there is a lot of content for game jam game. very impressive! the level design is also great! Congrats :)

wowods says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Great mechanic and great platformer...
It feels like birdsong...
It's great game...
As expected...

pixzleone says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Looks great and I really like the mood of the game.
Super original idea, and well executed as always!

I feel like I was rolling around without any clear idea about what I was doing. I understood I was supposed to collect the five cogs, but just some kind of feedback when completing a cog would be nice. A sound would be enough, something that makes collecting the cogs more rewarding.

Anyways, I really enjoyed the game, well done!

ps. I think I managed to get stuck under the elevator (the one you control) in the bottom right (?)

It was right by a puzzle with a tall block on a conveyor belt, 2 blocks you can move right and left and a block moving up and down.

RhythmLynx says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:32pm

I like how many different ways you've used the cog mechanic. Really nice aesthetic too

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:54pm

Great artstyle and animations. Cogs were used so well. Cogs are always a nice idea. I like cogs. Good job with the cogs. Cogs.

Aun says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Just one word : wow. I love the mechanisms and the graphismes. And it only took you 48 hour :D Btw, I found all my friends. I had a party with them in the tree. I woul be great to know that we need 5 wheels.

Doppp says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:27pm

Great mechanic. I managed to find 4 cogs. Your level design skills are top notch. This almost felt like a commercial game. The amount of polish here is incredible.

WERT Studio says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:56pm

wow best game this far. idea game feel and world wow

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:47pm

A little too hard for me because the enemies attack too quickly. Good work...

sbeif says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:49pm

I wanted to try out your game but it crashes at launch with this error:
___________________________________________
FATAL ERROR in Vertex Shader compilation
ShaderName: shader_crt

D3DXCompile failed - result

at gml_Object_o_Draw_64

johnbjuice says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:33pm

A very clever, simple little mechanic, realized into a cute little game! Very cool stuff. The platforming feels comfortable and the related mechanics are intuitive. The animations are crisp and clean as well. Very juicy feedback.

The level design is well laid out, though I would have appreciated a map/markers of some kind to navigate. Then of course, there's something nice and simple about the way the UI works without them, focusing only on the collectibles. Maybe just an indicator of what direction the last few collectibles are in? I found 4.75 of my friends before getting stuck, was super sad to not be able to find my way and complete the game.

Very quiet game - like the sound effects, not sure if I dig the music Is there music? I thought I heard something? Maybe like a very VERY quiet atmospheric something? I'm not sure. This is how I feel about the audio.

On that note, the atmosphere of the game is very well done, despite my audio complaints. There's an emptiness that the drab palate compliments, as if the world is an endless dead machine, waiting for you, the tiny little gear, to bring to life! Would have been cool to see some more juice in the interactions with the world though? Not sure.

My main criticism would be the difficulty. The set pieces were very interesting, and the game is bursting with interesting ideas, but the puzzles tended to be pretty straightforward to figure out. The issue was how the platforming difficulty of each set piece would vary wildly - one puzzle would be super easy, another would take 10-20 tries! Tricky wall jumping paired with the conveyor-pushing mechanic led to quite a bit of frustration! A few puzzles also had aggravating restarts - either a spawn location placed too far away or a mechanical piece forcing me to wait before resuming play. Especially that puzzle near the top with the three conveyors which controlled each other - so annoying to have to wait for them to scroll back!

On that note, I'd also add that it is unclear to me which parts of the level reset when I die and which ones do not? I know that there's some design trickery going on around that, but as a player it was frustrating when I opened a door, died, and then found out the door closed again!

But I'm nitpicking! Probably because the game is so well polished, expansive, and fun, I've got to focus on the little stuff. You've really got a knack for creating interesting/different central mechanics with juicy presentation! Great job!

PS: WAITING FOR SOURCE PLZ VERY CURIOUS TO SEE HOW CERTAIN SET PIECES WORKED SO PLZ DELIVER SOURCE

matt_b says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:53pm

A superb platformer, really enjoyed playing it. Can't believe you designed & built this in just 2 days!

I made it close to the end before I froze the game, but I did keep minimizing, toggling window mode & entering standby a few times so that's understandable. Got to 5 cogs & what I think was the final puzzle, with the 3 sliding horizontal platforms. You've really explored your mechanics to come up with something like that. The solution gave quite a eureka moment :D

Also loved the part with the 'floating' platform where you steer it through the static field.

It'd be great if you continue this because there's all sorts you could do - puzzles involving gear ratios, complex arrangements like planetary gears, harmonic gears with rotating platforms inside...

MrBrenan says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Dude, this game is just... awesome.
I've played it for something like 20 minutes wich is pretty a lot in my LD games test session. The graphics is wonderfully simple and the gameplay perfect, the audio is perfectly with the ambient you gave to the game. And the puzzles are great.

The best game I've played in the LD for the moment, great job guy :)

QOGQOG says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:30pm

Really nice game, the smoke effects and stretch/squash really make it feel polished, and combining the conveyor and switch mechanics found in a lot of platformers made it feel fresh.

Sun-Wukong says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:41pm

The game I played longest so far. Played around 1 hour and still didn't beat it.
Very interesting and addictive mechanics, descent controls, simple but pleasing graphics, a very good full-scale puzzle-platformer game.
Great work overall!

blinry says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:59pm

Wow, what a nice game. Beautiful focus on the core theme. The cog mechanics are innovative, and I absolutely adore the level design! So far, I made it to about almost 4 cog friends, and enjoyed the dual-purpose stairs and the two-pillars-on-a-treadmill puzzles the most! I disliked the floating-platform-in-static part. Mayyybe I would have liked some kind of map, so I could tell where all the remaining cog pieces are.

kerneltt says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:51am

Great game Love it

csanyk says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:08am

Pushed right for several minutes wondering what the game was about, or if something was broken... then discovered jumping. OMG.

RttStudio says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:05am

Really simple idea, but you executed it masterfully. Really awesome game. Might be the best game of this ludum dare. Evreything here is good. the music,the sound,the atmosphere,the controls..

KevKevOnFire says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:31am

Fantastic mechanics, great game feel, great level design. I can not come up with a single bad thing to say. Good work.

TheColorMan says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:38am

This is a really fun and unique game! The levels use the mechanic creatively

Mettra says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:32am

That was amazing! The platforming and controls were tight,the visuals were interesting even as it was simple, and the puzzles were clever and challenging. Love it!

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:52am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

Kitkom says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:33am

HOW IMPRESSIVE!
It's amazing to make such a wonderful game in only 48 hours.
I rate it 10/10.
It's so completed and good enough to publish it in stores.

It took me one hour to beat it.
My favorite part is opening and ending. The great mechanics animation and the lovely scene with friends impressed me a lot.
And I like the levels on those active platform most. Everything changed when you have to consider 2 dimensional movement.
But the last part of the game is really difficult. I died at least twenty times. It requires much precision. Any mistake would lead me to "Retry". I suppose this part can be adjusted ?

Again, 10/10, no doubt!

namu says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:18am

Very nice mechanics and awesome idea, keeping it simple, really nice!
As someone has said, I think a mini-map will be very useful. Maybe just with the rooms, no need to denote the ones visited, but to have an idea where you have to go and the possible path.
You have to get used to the jump mechanic when you are on a wall, due to the jump is mostly horizontal.
Also, the first time using the elevator was like: mmm what I have to do here? But it's part of the puzzle haha

And the graphics and the sounds are really cool, but I think I missed some background music

Really nice game and good job, no doubt I'll play a future version of it!

Casevse says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:25am

Awesome game! The mechanics and the puzzle have impressed me. I rate it 10/10. Can't ask for more in 48 hours. Good work!

jakatpemadi says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:07pm

Finally, I have save all my friends!! Great graphics and level design!! But I more variation of the music would be great. This game worth my time. Thanks...

Drury says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:05pm

Man this so damn amazing. All you'd want out of LDjam.

My only issue was the puzzles where you have to scroll platforms through solid obstacles, especially the one with the three ones stacked on top of each other. If you scroll them too far, you can't scroll them back even if you hug the wall and have to kill yourself to restart the puzzle.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:47pm

I can't believe how long it is!

TagliatL says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:29pm

I didn't finish it but wow, this is really great.
The level design is precise and incredible. Every obstacle you face is clever. I really enjoyed it, with a little metroidvania feel. You've got a precious concept right there, it's working so well!
I wish there was some kind of minimap tho? Because I felt kinda lost but otherwise, that game is really really good!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Oh shit, you truly are a prodigy, both game and level design are outstanding. So ellegant, so pleasant, so pure. The puzzles are a marvel. And then the ending, the minimalistic park with the tree and your friends, that is simply beautiful. I wans't expecting much from the ending, and It's simply perfect. Congratulations on other fantastic game, Daniel.

ill_lo9ic says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:54pm

Love the visuals.
Slick, satisfying controls.
Some clever gameplay.
Really impressive 48 hour creation!

DiegoCTorguet says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:43pm

There is no doubt why you already won the ludum dare before. Awesome work!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:49pm

So far this is my favorite game for Ludum Dare 36! Really cool concept with well polished gameplay. The graphics were unique, and it fit well with the theme! Nice one!

Raiyumi says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:09pm

Best game LD36? :)

Remynfv says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:19pm

This is probably my favorite game of the jam so far. The amount of content is incredible for such a short period of time, and it was all GOOD content! This game was fun the whole way through, start to finish. Great game! :D

Junber says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:34pm

Wow that got quite challenging toward the end (bpth in terms of puzzle and platforming skill). The overall design (of both levels and mechanics) was really great. I felt lost once or twice but that is understandable given the sheer amount of content (luckily I still managed to find all the cog-parts). I also liked the visuals and sound. All of it felt really polished. One things I noticed is that the parts you collected dont get reset when you die as opposed to the state of machines. Having to quit the game with alt+f4 (or closing the window I guess) was a bit anticlimatic but thats just nitpicking.

local minimum says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:12pm

As always a pleasure playing your games and well made like ever. I got a bit over two cogs made, but the game is part-wise really quite hard even with controller. Still enjoyed it very much. Interesting puzzles made from the simple components. Could have been cool with a big machine, cogs and such in the background too.

Madsj says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:34pm

I noticed how you make the walls look like a real building with just a couple of extra pixels here and there and i'm going to use that. I like the particle effect too. The atmosphere is interesting and it reminds me a bit of Limbo. As for the gameplay I feel there is a bit too much travel time, maybe if the cog wheel could sprint or the base movement speed was just faster. Maybe every puzzle/challenge could just be closer together so the world is more compact. I guess if there is less travel time the atmosphere will also change.

Leroyii says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:05pm

It looks great, and I was surprised at how difficult the puzzles got by the end with such simple mechanics!

Sean says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:55pm

The concept, the visuals and the puzzles are all great, the only area where I wasn't totally sold was the audio. Amazing entry as usual!

Devark says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:27am

really polished and beautiful game. mechanics offer a good challenge and the platforming is really clean. amazing job!

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:25am

I found all my friends. It was stressful.

Okay, so, I thought the game was pretty cool. I wasn't sold on the idea until the bit where you could fly around on platforms and move them left to right, that was super cool.

Like, I can't deal with games like this and metroidvanias though, they stress me out so much. When I have like 5 available corridors I'm like "what if I don't go to them in the right order and I progress too far through the game in the wrong direction?"

As it was, the design was good enough that you naturally end up getting all the friends as you go along anyway, but like.. I dunno, I just can't personally cope with that level of stress of opening 4 available paths at once. That's a problem with me anyway.

One thing was, I thought a couple of areas were poorly checkpointed. One area I died in and had to redo a very large puzzle. Another I managed to do first try (near the end) but I was thoroughly stressed throughout - I was well aware that if I made any small mistake I would be put back a very long way.

All in all though, great.

Alex Rose says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:25am

Oh also, I especially liked the death animation.

KingEthaniel says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:25am

Really cool game with a really cool mechanic. Also really liked the color palette you went with here, 'cause it really feels like 'ancient technology.'

Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:39am

When I saw the animated gif of your game I was excited. Playing it was even better than I expected. The world is large and it seems like there is no end or master goal. The mechanics all fit the theme, and the game is a pleasure to play. I'm going to invite the other members of my team to play and share their comments as well.

Alkrimil says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 5:42am

Such a great game, the puzzle difficulty scaled really well with really tight mechanics. Seeing your past games, would love to see much more from you! Keep up the great work.

Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:03pm

Great game! I found all 5 friends and finished the game (which says alot, since I don't spend more than 10 minutes per entry on average).

Puzzles were well designed, core mechanics fit the theme very well. Few comments:
- Last puzzle was frustratingly hard
- Was stuck for awhile at one jump where I had to jump vertically past a horizontal block which would crush you. It's the one where the gearteeth are missing in the middle section. I had to redo the jump many times.
- Not a fan of puzzle games which open up into a huge open area where there are multiple paths to explore, but that's just my preference. It suggests that I have to backtrack alot to explore the other paths if I miss something.

NuSan says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Very good, innovating in platforming is impressive. I didn't finished it yet, but I want to. It's a bit overwhelming and you can get lost easily. But there is some shortcut and that's a very good idea. Keep up the good work !

Insality says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Okay, this game with probably most comments on LD
Great see you again, managore! Honestrly, im your fan in something. So let doing more quality games ;)

The game is awesome. With your style and feel fully completed. The idea and polish of it is great
But feels what you ded implement all of you want. Probably you have a lot of levels and mechanics you didnt implement? :)

Anyway, the game is best on this LD! :)

urielgamedev says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Very nice game ! It's a pretty simple concept, but the possibilities are pretty much infinite ! And your game design is amazing too :)

NightShadow0 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:05pm

Holy wow, this is so good. Brilliant mechanic! You created an absurd amount of content with it, really impressive! Amazing job!

PnDAA says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:16pm

I got a great run, thanks.

MrErdalUral says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Theme, puzzles, game mechanics are incredible. I'm glad I came across to this one. Thank you!

Frump says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:51pm

Another awesome one. The cogginess and gripping to the walls felt great. Tons of game here. I feel like there should be a save and load. Beating it in one sitting is no small task.

Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:49am

Impressive as always... I still don't understand how you can come with such a perfect level design that explores so creatively all your mechanics' facets in just 2 days. Talent, simply :)

Remicy says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:58pm

It took me 2 hours to complete 5/5 cogs. Very fun game! The last puzzle is so hard and I died many times, makes me so angry lol, But I still like that puzzle! Overall this is brilliant.

Tselmek says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Really clever mechanics coupled with a fantastic artstyle. The level design was outstanding although I raged quite a bit at some of them. Sometimes making a platform "roll" against a wall would make it impossible to "roll" it again as the area left is too little for a collision to happen with the conveyer.

Sep 1, 2016 @ 11:34pm

Best Ludum Dare game I have ever played, period. Mechanically brilliant, aesthetically beautiful.

The only major flaw is the fact that you can move some platforms far enough near the end that you cannot bring them back.

Brilliant work.

bitdecaygames says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 5:32am

This definitely feels like your game. Very clean. This game clearly knows what it's trying to do both visually and mechanically.

Only complaint I have is it feels that there could be a few more checkpoints in between certain parts. I feel like I've proven I can overcome certain obstacles, and die to something unrelated after I've completed an area -- and I have to do it again. Minor complaint, though

David Cookie says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Never disappointed by your games, and this one is no exception! Always so polished, so class, so clever.. You're just too talented. Thanks for sharing that gift with us :)

Zccc says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 1:08pm

I can't believe how you put so many fun and intelligent content in a 42h game! The ending was cute and the puzzles were brilliant. I loved it. You are a serious game jam man :D

Zccc says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 1:10pm

Sometimes it felt confusing on where I was supposed to go, but I guess that makes part of the difficult of finding your friends. I would love to know your process on how you create such interesting level and puzzle design.

AlexLamarche says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Great work. There is no source file though...so yeah. It would be nice to see how some things were done.

Theme: I liked how the gear represented the ancient tech.
Audio: Very subtle sounds, but they worked perfectly.
Graphics: sweet and simple.
overall: 4/5 stars.

quentinus60 says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 9:45pm

good game !

Mr. Chelnoque says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 10:04pm

A wonderful game and a surprising amount of content for the ludum entry. Not only once I though, that it is probably an end, but game just kept going on (and kept to be interesting).
The style is minimalistic in it's true sense and reminded me why it should be this way: while having a little variety in graphics (but still looking good), have a lot of variety in gameplay.
I understand, that with all the attention you usually get, just another comment is of no significance, but still, game is just great, thank you.

Mr. Chelnoque says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 10:19pm

Missed the question in the description.
Completed the game in one playthrough (though I'm not a fan of puzzle-platformers). The best part for me is probably the moment, when you need to navigate through a big room, filled static, on a platform, which flies up no matter in which direction you spin.
The least enjoyable part is the final puzzle (with three big scrolling platforms), because I understood what to do pretty quickly, but it was easy to die or just screw up whole thing by careless move, so you have to do all over again.

Sep 3, 2016 @ 6:19am

This is one amazing game. Very polished, amazing art style. And great atmosphere.
I'm also curious about the source code, so please release it soon!

thegunmaster says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 9:41am

Holy shit this game is awesome. I would like some save system though XD. I gathered 5 cogs but had to continue on with other business before I could finish the game. anyway, great work!

sbeif says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 2:12pm

I was finally able to run it and, as always, you did an amazing job. The level design you manage to put in 48 hours games is incredible. Great game!

hitchh1k3r says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 6:45pm

We come to expect good level design, and unique ideas from you, and you did not let us down. The level design is both extensive and well polished. The core idea is unique, and explored really well. The amount of work you put into this in only two days is astounding.

I was playing on a new computer, so this could easily be my problem, but it's the first time I've noticed screen tearing and sub-pixel blurring in one of your games. It could be a feature of the library or engine you are using, but the 1-bit graphical style would look a lot better with some pixel snapping, and the fast moving and jumping sections would benefit from some vsynch.

This is a great entry, and I really liked how the wall jumping was sticky enough to be accessible to players that aren't the best at twitch platformer games. Thanks for giving us another world to explore, and really nice job on this one.

ikroth says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Cool game! The puzzles are simple and elegant. Really unique idea!

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 8, 2016 @ 7:59pm

An other cool game from you, how you do this? :)
I like the feeling of an open world. The minimalistic art make the mood. Congrats for your entry!

g12345 says ...
Sep 8, 2016 @ 9:23pm

Just finished it, with 5 cogs too.

Well, this is probably one of the best games from this LD, even if there isn't really any music.

What I really don't like is the blur effects at the sides. It felt like my glasses broke (again). I had this effect in real life for the past few weeks :P

As for the puzzles, the final puzzle took me some time to got it.

and the one at the bottom left, where you need to drop down a place with static and a lift,

and that part where i died and i had to go back a long way.

But overall, I find this one better than the one in the last LD, at least I've completed this one.

Sep 10, 2016 @ 6:16am

Really fun entry. Liked the level design and layout and how it progressed in difficulty at an appropriate pace. Clever use of the cog mechanic also which felt great to play with and move around and interact with the world.

reheated says ...
Sep 16, 2016 @ 2:02pm

Innovation: The main innovation, I think, is the platforms that move or control something else when you move on them. It's clever and leads to nice gameplay with simple controls.
Fun: It's a fun combo of platforming and puzzle solving. It's at the right difficulty - there are a few points which I found just at the edge of my ability (after many attempts). Decently long too. The game is fair: it always gives the player a chance to see what each thing does before making them do anything with it. Thanks for doing this so carefully. Also thanks for not stopping the game at the end - I was glad for the chance to go back and get the one piece I'd missed.
Theme: *Checks when the cogwheel was invented* Tick!
Graphics: Simple but effective. I realise that the simplicity is a little misleading as a lot of care goes into subtle details making it look good. I like the scan line effect. The double vision at the edges of the screen looks cool but if the game were much longer I might have complained about eye strain.
Audio: Simple but effective.
Humor: N/A? (I enjoyed the cheerful scene at the end though!)
Mood: The audio, graphics and gameplay go well together!
Overall: Really excellent! Fun and well presented.

kgy121 says ...
Sep 18, 2016 @ 10:57am

Awesome, as expected. I did a let's play for this thing getting all five gears, https://youtu.be/bElvRi68qj0 in case anyone needs to figure out a puzzle or two.

I'm not the best at this, and recommend X2 speed if you do try and watch that.

DcrDro says ...
Sep 18, 2016 @ 4:42pm

cool game!

ethankennerly says ...
Sep 24, 2016 @ 7:51pm

When I saw the cog climb walls, spin gears to elevate and pull pieces, I was amazed. When I explored the clever level I was engrossed and challenged. I got to a point where I wasn't sure how to proceed and finally came here to praise your well-made game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]