Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

BitBullet

by ccglp - Competition Entry

***************************UPDATE*****************************
Language selection with spanish and english.
Now you can skip text pushing any key or mouse button.
Little english grammar errors fixed.
Source link changed to github
***************************************************************


*********************************BIT BULLET **********************************
A game about terminals. And green sentences. And no much more. But maybe you can play it!

******************************************************************************



*****************************CONTROLS**************************************
Input answers: 0, 1 or 2
Protip: The device is the thing in your computer that likes cheese (And have two buttons).
******************************************************************************

About myself and the game.
The game was made by CCGLP in 48 hours for the LD36.
http://ccglp.es

No one from Apple was hurt in the making of this game.
Oh, and all the sentences talking about Apple are because I made all this in an Apple macbook, and I'm used to a two screen build ._:

Downloads and Links


Comments

Move127 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:22am

The controls seem a little clunky. I liked how crazy it got, but because of the controls and the speed of the bullets, it got frustrating.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:03am

Failure hurts mostly because text can't be skipped! It's also difficult to understand spatially where the targets are and they seem to be invulnerable when they zoom in / get closer? Combined with the 'single bullet at time' mechanism, it's quickly frustrating.

Amusing idea though and functional execution.

Draakhex says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:46pm

The idea and game are cool, to shoot those that seem to be invulnerable, you have to shoot them with right click, apparently.

intXparts says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:20am

Really unique concept! I really enjoyed the explosions. Kinda makes me want to hunt for more words to destroy.

Thirzen says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:56am

The first time I played I got to the point when the whole screen is flickering and the word "device" is floating all over the place, and I didn't really know what to do next. But after seeing your protip I moved along.
Really good job.

josehzz says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:02am

Shooting was really difficult for me. And the fact that the words sometimes moves back and forward made it impossible to hit the target. On the plus side the story was well written, Nice job with the implementation of the theme.

CalmKai says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:35am

Interesting... game.

djfariel says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:55am

I wasn't sure what to do once the screen went crazy. was enjoying the text based play though. Nice entry!

RugbugRedfern says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:22am

It's really hard to hit the text with the bits. Interesting concept, tho.

PeachTreeOath says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:43am

Interesting idea. Each question had me wondering what new mechanics could be coming next. That's a good thing!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:01am

I kinda like it. It brings me back to my DOS days

Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:12am

Very unusual and interesting game! I like how you communicate with the players, like we were talking to each other irl =)

But I almost failed in getting trough the first time you need to shoot. It's hard to aim since the symbols you shooting are 3D but the words are 2D.

repstyle says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:27pm

At start, i thought "meh", then "text interaction with IA ? nice", "meh, it's really driven" and then "game's break it's own rules ! That's a nice surprise".
But in the end, i stayed stuck at firing at device but i couldn't see any progression by doing it.I felt stuck.

seveca95 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:44pm

It's hard to hit the words. I like the twist. Nice game mate :)

Culpo says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:36pm

The idea of the game is very cool,
But I would find it better if the shot was in 2d

gonutz says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:04pm

I quit at the point where you shoot the words. When you have an orthographic projection and you do not know how far away something is. This means I cannot know how far away the text is and also where in 3D space my laser beam is. This way I cannot make out the right time to shoot.

Corinator says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:29pm

Interesting concept, however shooting in 3D at 2D objects doesn't allow you to see where they are, making it quite frustrating. Text should appear faster and be skippable. however, still a fun game.

Gordun says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:02am

Quicker text is the only thing it lacks, i like the rest of the assets though

cubotrox_toni says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:30am

Yeah! Texts faster and it's hard to shot. The rest is perfect

Mordokay says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:21am

Loved the idea and loved the gameplay. You lose the sense of depth a bit soshooting becomes hard. Still managed to have a decent accuracy. The story is great (It could very well be a movie with a litle more polish :))
Overall a very good entry to LD36!

ccglp says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:21pm

Thank you all for the comments. I would upload a little update with a few english grammar corrections and maybe skippable text, because all the complains are about that :/. Can't do much about the 3D shooting, was a part of the original game idea that doesn't end well it seems :(

wilsk says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 8:26am

Interesting. I like terminal based games and this was kind of a... umm.... terminal FPS???

bentglasstube says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 8:56am

I liked the music but the game was kind of uninteresting. I couldn't really follow the story at all.

Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:33am

It's an interesting idea, but it was quite difficult to hit the text when you can't work out how far away it is.

thenanox says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 11:17am

melody and inputs are cool. shoot is complicated :S

Casevse says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 1:36pm

Interesting idea and good music. Los textos en español son tela xD. Good work!

sararyCow says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 1:54am

Nice concept and narrative script, aside this I have to refer to the other comments say about the imprecise shoot control, as well as what I said you in anait.

There is some potential here :).

saucygames says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 2:14am

Cool idea, i feel it this could benefit with the accurate shooting stated above from others and with a time limit to answer questions too!

Sep 6, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Very interesting game. I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/lT_5Gj1NQIo

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]