Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Explojan Horse

by cottontrek - Jam Entry

A historically accurate retelling of the Trojan war...

Play as the legendary greek hero "Oblivius" and use the trojan horse mech to blast through the walls of Troy!

Pass the horse through the forts and walls to win the game. Defend the horse and yourself against the various Trojan soldiers along the way.

Use arrows to move Oblivius.
Use Z to jump.
Use X to attack. (When controlling the cannon, this shoots it)
Use C to interact with the control panels and press C again to leave the controls.

Trojan horse control panels:
Cannon - use arrows to aim cannon, x to fire a shot. Refill ammo with the cannon balls strewn around the city!
Movement - use arrows to move the horse left and right. Blast walls to give it space!

Music by Kevin Macleod!

Downloads and Links


Comments

qkerguelen says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:41am

Wow! Probably the best game I've played so far! It reminds me of Regular Human Basketball by Powerhoof! Very fun to play! The pixel art is awesome, the music and sounds are good, but it is really fun to play! I'll play this again for sure!

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:07am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! wooow ! The cannon effect is amazing !! also the pixel art is perfect ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description. (you can already find several games from the jam there)

tompudding says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:00am

Beautiful pixel art, and the kickback of the cannon is perfect. The sounds also fits perfectly, the best game I've played so far, congrats

Sep 1, 2016 @ 11:17am

Sooo great, the concept is just perfect, the execution flawless: great pixelart, great feedback, cool mechanics.
The best arcade game I've played in this LD, congrats!!

Roland M says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Great concept and mechanics man, the pixelart and mood are lovely! Good job!

Steven Miller says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 1:26am

Amazing game! The graphics are absolutely wonderful and gameplay is super fun. Definitely one the best games I've seen so far. Also probably my favorite use of the theme.

Alkrimil says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 5:50am

Wow, great game. Pixel art on point, music and sound effects that really suit the game. Only thing I had trouble with was the separate jump button. Overall the game is really fun! Good work, keep it up!

tweetzzzzz says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 6:35am

Those explojans! Nice!!

Insality says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 6:38am

oh. So polished, perfect implemented game!
The gameplay is superb and grab you until you dont complete the game!

Take me a some time to feel free at controls (a little hard) but it's ok. Thanks for nice ingame tutorial

The art and effects are great. Good job man!
Theme use is good too;)

Think you should do it more levels version! It's really interesting to play

n42k says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 7:03am

Cannot run this, no Linux version. Could you release the source code so I can try compiling it on my machine? Or do you use something Windows-only?

thomz12 says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 7:05am

Amazing game! Pixel graphics are on point, and the music fits the game very well! The gameplay feels responsive and is very juicy! Also a very creative idea that fits the theme well!

Good Job!

kostik1337 says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 8:36am

It's hard to control all things at time, but I like the idea. Sprites are very nice.

ramoncb says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 4:26am

Impressive! Your entry is probably the most well polished that I have played until now!

The graphics are just perfect, the only complaint is the lack of v-sync in fullscreen (with alt+tab). The gameplay is addicting, in a future update you could make some upgrades for the horse, like traps on his legs, maybe some itens like wood to fix a hole or build another platformer on him. I know is inaccurate, but maybe a giant as enemy?

Anyway, good job! And you should totally keep developing this game! Sorry my broken english. ^^

eott says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 9:53am

Woah, this game looks gorgeous. The control keys were a bit awkwardly placed (or I'm not used z-x-c controls), but otherwise this game is well made.

Ebriosus says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 2:15am

Great graphics. Pretty challenging too, especially when controlling the Trojan horse (maybe I'm just not used to switching up control schemes often). It would've been cool if you had the chance to have given the horse the ability to crush the melee enemies while you controlled it. Awesome job though!

Sep 5, 2016 @ 6:30pm

I love the graphics and the idea. I think its just a little bit frustrating, unfortunately. The challenge felt a little bit indirect. Better control over the horse would have helped, I think.

Great work overall, though.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 4:29am

Love the idea and the graphics and musics really fit well together. Nice job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]