Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Wilderness Survival

by ZQMony - Competition Entry

In wilderness survival, you are a caveman defending his campsite from wild creatures and other humans. Not only do you have to worry about staying alive, you also have to focus on protecting your supplies from being stolen. To accomplish this task, you will use various weapons. You start out with throwing rocks, but you can get a spear or bow and arrow from enemies. Try and protect yourself and your camp and last the full time.

Controls:
Movement - Arrow Keys/WASD
Weapon - Space
Pause - Escape

Downloads and Links


Comments

danilafe says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:58am

Pretty nice!
The input is a bit unresponsive, and what bothers me is the inability to move and shoot in different directions. Consider a Binding of Isaac type control scheme?

Also, bunnies drop spears :P

videogreg93 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:20pm

I got 14 220 on medium! Very fun idea, the graphics are amazing, very very good for 48 hours, you even had different sprites for facing up, down, etc. Arrows were easy to abuse as there was no limit on how many there could be on screen, so I'd mash the spacebar with both hands to make a machine gun lol.

Guennor says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:15am

On medium difficulty it's kinda hard to run away from bunnies AND turn arround to shoot at them.

Music is weird, but at least the game has music.

The grass tiles could have a minimal amount of detail instead of being 100% of the same color to help player notices spatial displacement.

8Keys Studios says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:46am

Challenging game! I was able to beat it on easy, but anything above that is pretty challenging. I was playing on hard and the horrifying black sphere with eyes scared me half to death. The music was a little hard to listen to over time, but pretty good for being done in 48 hours. Nice game.

blinry says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:26am

It was easy to get into this game! The graphics are really well-done, and the music and the sounds are fitting, good job! Nice, simple mechanics! I found it hard to survive for long even in the simple level. The spear is very frustrating to use, because its range is so short.

The about screen mentions the theme was "Ancient weapon" - nope, it wasn't ;-)

Skye says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:54pm

This game is

Skye says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:56pm

(Sorry, please ignore my comment at Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:54pm, I pressed the wrong button!)

This game is quite fun! It's also very hard, but that's not a big problem.

The music is very good, as well as the graphics. Even though both are quite simple, they are well done, and the music does add the atmosphere of a frantic game.

Overall, this is a very good game!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:56pm

I like it. The music is very good despite being a little bit sparse (although that may have been the intention.) The menus are executed beautifully as well, so great work on that. The tree tiles are also great.

I also had a little bit of trouble with the controls. The weapons should have more spread if you want to have only 4 direction movement. It got a little bit frustrating at times, especially with the spearmen. The weapons could also have used a little buff in my opinion.

A sound/warning for losing supplies would also add a lot. The first time I lost I didn't even notice I was losing supplies.

Great work overall, especially on music and graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]