Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Invent the Wheel

by Delicious Code - Jam Entry

Ancient technology – it almost can’t get any more ancient than the wheel!
In our game you invent (or reinvent?) the wheel. It’s very simple: Draw the wheel and see it roll down an ancient greek pathway. If it reaches its destination or not is up to you – the rounder and better your wheel is the faster it goes down the path.

Controls: use the right mouse button or finger (on touch devices) to draw the wheel .

There's a highscore where you see how well you did against other players. Also, there's a WORLD RECORD which you can compare your own score.

We wanted to make a multiplayer-mode too, but unfortunately we didn't have enough time. Please let us know via comments or personal messages if you'd appreciate a multiplayer-mode, and we will implement it when LD36 is over.

Stefan Laubenberger: lead developer, scripting, level design, brains
Lucien Ryter: idea, highscore, multiplayer (coming soon if possible), scripting
Dominik Castelberg: GUI, graphics, level design, scripting
Gianluca Scarciolla: music, sfx, textures, animations, scripting

And now, WHEEL ON!

UPDATE - We released the version 0.9, which fixes/includes:

1) Overdrawing - You only have a limited area in which you can draw.
2) No more timer - You have an infinite amount of time to draw your wheel.
3) Updated controls - You now draw with RMB, which appeared to be easier during our testing.
4) White flag - You can now abort your run and retry.

Downloads and Links


WolfkingW says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:31am

Your web link doesn't seem to work, and your Windows standalone version appears to just be... a ground texture. I'll check it out if you fix your links!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:58am

Hey, it's fixed now and should work, sorry for the inconvenience. Hope you like it

Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:01pm

happy game ! I think the multiplayer is not usefull but why not.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:01pm

This is the dumbest idea I've seen in a while and it just works! Loving it.

I managed to make world records on all three tracks and the second one, well, good luck trying to beat that!

Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:07pm

This was surprisingly awesome! The music added so much engagement to this, that it really makes you cheer on your sad, sad little circle drawing.
One tiny request, would be a menu option during the race to reset, I made a little bitty circle, that went really, really slow, and I had to wait until it stopped to try again.

Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:26pm

Very well done! Just a question, how did you manage to finish track 2 in 1.5 seconds? Was it a bug/exploit or did you just found the perfect shape? :-)

@Garret Hoofman
It was part of the idea - you only have 10 seconds to try as many shapes as you like and then live with it ;-)
But probably it's too annoying to watch the fail of a wheel...

Anyway, thank you all for playing our game!

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 4:38pm

@Delicious Code
I either hacked your servers or the code bugged out... Let's assume the latter and here's how it went:

The wheel started moving just fine, but after 1.54962 seconds the code erroneously considered my beautiful wheel a failure and ended the run. Only the wheel didn't care. It kept rolling and rolling and rolling and rolling like the U.S. Marshall and his 3 daughters and after 20 odd seconds crossed the finish line, breaking the world record, smiling like a champ, while everyone in the audience knew the truth.

Don't break the rules kids, drugs are for losers.

Sep 1, 2016 @ 12:52am

Thank you for the reply!
I made a fixed version and deleted your WR. Please try again to beat it :-)


csanyk says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:42am

Took a long time for the webGL version to load... a few minutes, and I'm on a 90+ mbit internet connection. How big are your resources?

csanyk says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:49am

Ok now that I've played it a few times, this is really fun! I'm impressed with how stupidly fun it is. I think though you should remove the timer on the drawing phase, and allow the player to abort a run so they don't have to waste time when they screwed up the drawing and know it's not going to be a good run. Also for some reason at first I got a ton of "FAIL" right away without the rock having much of a chance of rolling, and that was frustrating. But once I could draw a round enough shape to roll, it was fun!

csanyk says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 3:04pm

Super exploit:

Play game in web browser, not fullscreen.

Set monitor resolution super high. 4K display FTW.

Draw the biggest honkin circle you can, starting inside the area of the game, but going outside.

Too big, and the game will automatically fail you. But the bigger you can draw it, the more mass it will have and the faster it'll roll. I got a <4 second time on the first course, which is currently the WR.

It's a fun trick to discover, I'd keep it in.

DifferentName says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:33pm

This was really fun! Perfect fit for the theme! It seemed to work well making holes inside my wheels, which let me get the record on tracks 2 and 3.

SkullPixel says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:00pm

This was very, very fun to play. Nice job breaking away from cavemen (mostly) and pyramids and computers! If we still had ratings this round, then this one would definitely have won under Theme.

I'd like to see some more levels. :D

csanyk says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Now drawing is not working at all in 0.9.0

Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Drawing is now on right-click... No more exploits :-p

Tijn says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:58pm

I've had a blast playing this game. Sadly drawing a proper circle with the touchpad of my laptop proved nearly impossible, haha.

Good job!

Waterman7 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Looks like we had a pretty simmilar game idea :D
I really like the visual style on this one. Looks really polished. Good job!

Sep 2, 2016 @ 1:52am

Good news:
We will add new levels and multiplayer in the near future, so stay tuned.

blubberquark says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 11:15am

Can you ever do better than a perfect circle? The best solution seems the same in every level.

Sep 2, 2016 @ 12:40pm

I think it's not that easy to draw the perfect circle with a mouse or finger unless you are very skilled :-)

We're also testing some new materials like wood, rubber, various metals and many more. That will add a lot of variance to the game.
We also thinking about adding more physics, like bounciness in the geometry and breakable parts (e.g. an edge breaks of the drawn shape).

Sep 4, 2016 @ 2:44pm

Wow very cool idea. And a perfect fit with the theme :) Super simple mechanics but a lot of fun. Music and graphics are really nice and wow for the online feature.

sararyCow says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 2:48am

Great concept, with a lot of potential. I'd keep developing this, this is a great base.

seppetony says ...
Sep 14, 2016 @ 8:11pm

What an idea and very well done from A-Z! Fun to play and one can just imagine the potential it offers with more variations. The sound in particular is very well chosen and perfectly matches the setting. Graphics are also nice (could even be more simplistic, I think) and the menu just "rounds" it up.

Wan says ...
Sep 21, 2016 @ 6:32am

A very simple yet original idea, and a perfect implementation of it. The online records were really welcome to give some replayability!

Also I now own the record on level 2 with a drawing that just remotely looks like a circle, I guess I was lucky ^^

You must sign in to comment.

Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

[cache: storing page]