Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

The Huckster

by MrBrenan - Jam Entry

=========================================

The Web version is less complete than the
exe. It's more recommended to download it.

=========================================

The Huckster is a narrative / action puzzle game.
You play a robot named Huckster, wandering on the wasteland left behind his creators, a disappeared civilization.

Solve puzzle on a deep basement to discover what happened to the world.

Every content on the game (Music, sound, voices and graphics) have been made while the contest for the game.

Have fun !

Controls
W, A, S, D - Move the character
E - Grab Phantom stone / Push lever

Made by only one cool guy : MrBrenan
Puzzles have been made by friends of this guy:
Jules Perrin and Phillipe Jaton

Downloads and Links


Comments

PetterBergmar says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Cool! Collision detection etc is a little rough of course but it was much nicer than I expected with good puzzle mechanics. One thing that was hard to read was the sideways doors. It took a while before I realized that was doors as well. I played until where I think you are supposed to take one box on the steam powered platform but then got stuck in a collision. Well done!

AWOL says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:48pm

Great Job! the puzzles were fun.

leuus says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Super game! I loved the guitare and the narration. The atmosphere is really cool. I really loved the story, however I didn't manage to end the game because I got stuck between a moving gateway and its motor.

Amine Tcherak says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:04pm

Very Nice i love your Game Good Works )=

wheerd says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:10pm

Simple but fun puzzle mechanic. Got stuck on the level with the steam engines, because one of the phantom blocks got stuck over the abyss, when I tried to move it via the moving platform. Unfortunately there seems to be no way to reset the level.
The story of the game is good and I like that you even made some voice acting. Both graphics and music are great, too.
Nice work guys :)

johnbjuice says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:24pm

Cute! The guitar really adds a lot of atmosphere, and the little robot is very sympathetic! I love the narration of the tapes too - wish I could have listened to them again somehow! Also, was annoying that the tape cut out when you switch rooms.

Your collision detection is definitely a little rough, but it's forgiving, which is nice. The main problem were the moving platforms, which seemed all kinds of buggy - wasn't sure I could put the blocks on them at first! I'm sure you'll improve!

Some Z-ordering issues with your assets, and I also found the sideways doors confusing at first - I think the asset is just hard to read on first glance.

The puzzle design is superb - not particularly challenging, but pleasing to complete and very tidy. Each puzzle brings a slight change which is quite nice.

Great job!

wilsk says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:37pm

Well polished and a nice mood. Thanks.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:45pm

Really nice with good mood and sound design. Loved the puzzles, the only issue I found was that the audio would cut out and the music would re-start when switching rooms. You could fix this with a script on the audio game objects that uses DontDestroyOnLoad(gameObject); as well as something to detect and destroy duplicates (using an instance check)

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:48pm

The pixel art in this game is lovely. The music, though basic, was subdued and atmospheric. There were a couple of typos in the subtitles. The voiceovers were quite well voiced, but the dialogue itself I felt was clunky. Also, the door ending could have stood to be slightly more impactful, although I thought the fear ending was fine.

tedajax says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Impressive atmosphere and production for a game jam game. The puzzles are well designed and the core mechanics are solid. Managed to get myself in a no-win condition in the 3rd or 4th level when I managed to drag a block through a door as it was closing that was required to keep that door open.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Cool game, I love the pixel art!

blinry says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:35pm

This is most impressive! Art, music, narrative, and the game mechanics all come together to form a very polished game!

I was a little sad when I entered some doors and the narration was interrupted :'( Also, it was sometimes unclear which doors were connected to certain cables, and which cables simply extended through the wall. Again, I really, really liked The Huckster. Thanks for making it! <3

MrBrenan says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:39pm

Thanks for all your comments guys ! I would certainly do a patch for all the bugs you have reported. Again thank you, this is my first Ludum Dare and I would certainly do the others :)

MrBrenan

Fidrik says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:50pm

Good, well polished game, with nice music. I like how there was a story and narration. Puzzles were fun too.

I think the e to hold objects should be toggle able instead as its difficult to hold e and move at the same time. good job though.

austintradr says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:50pm

Super cool, the intro was very impressive and I love the narration. I was playing the web version so this may have been fixed, but there are many spelling and grammatical errors in the subtitles and speech. Not a huge deal but it hurt the immersion. Also a recommendation to use another key than E to hold things when needing to move with WASD, it's hard especially to move forward while grabbing on. Otherwise this is insanely polished for 72 hours and I'm impressed.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:59pm

This was a really charming little game. The voice over and gentle guitar was pretty atmospheric. I especially loved your take on the theme. I guess ancient is relative, huh? :)

I managed to break the game after the room with the first tape accidentally. I was messing with figuring out the puzzle and switched the top left lever to close the door and rushed through before it closed. Afterwards none of the doors would open. Oops. :)

Great job!

thatsBamboo says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:01am

REALLY good atmosphere in this game. Also great job "Teaching by showing" with the mechanics. I did encounter some issues with hitboxes, but I'm sure it would not be a problem with a bit more time. Only complaints were that some of the puzzles felt a bit repetative, and that there was no way to close the game that I found (had to Alt + F4). Amazing job :D

KevKevOnFire says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:06am

Nice music and decent atmosphere, though I would recommend avoiding writing heavy games in English until your English is more solid. Mechanics work well, but could use some graphical work to make it clearer.

justinooncx says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:09am

Pretty interesting game! Unfortunately, I got stuck on one of the puzzles and couldn't proceed, but the atmosphere was nice and the puzzles were reasonable.

joemag says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:21am

Very cool, nice and moody. Really liked the puzzle work, seemed like you had a really deep story in mind. The movement sound effects were a little irritating after a while, should consider turning them down.

maskinmask says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:54am

Awesome game and awesome music.

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:08am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description. (you can already find several games from the jam there)

MrBrenan says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:30am

@steph88 Done ! http://www.indiexpo.net/fr/games/the-huckster
Send me the video when it's available.
Thank you for playing :)

Ghen says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:52am

very interesting game! , the narration and music sounds very good, very well match together
the control responsive, my problem is the using hold E for pickup is a bit awkward for use, even with arrow key movement
the puzzle quite challening bug i found bug on room 3, where i can exit the room when switch the lever , thus cause me lock out outside the room, need to reset the game

yotam180 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:54am

Impressive game! The art style is very cool, the storyline is awesome, and the game just makes you want to go deeper and deeper into the game environment. The mechanism of levers and item grabbing is neat and comfortable, animations are cool, the music and voice acting really fit the environment. 10/10 Awesome game!

randomhuman says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:27pm

Top notch music and narration! The controls were a bit slidey, but a great game overall.

Jadernak says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:31pm

The intro was really really good, I got pumped to play it. The mood is superb, graphics okey, gameplay nothing really innovative but enjoyable nevertheless. I found the sound of the little guy annoying after a while but that was offset by lovely guitar.

kingpirux says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:20pm

got stuck on the recorder but the game seems very deep :D in intresting concept for a game, i recomend to remove that light halo effect and use more old colors to maintaint the ambient, the music and story seems intresting :D

AODQ says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:17pm

It's at a perspective so the angles don't really make sense (i can't step behind a wall, as i collide with its ceiling, yet somehow i can when going through sideway doors?). The narration, art direction, etc is nice. The controls are very fluid and comfortable. The puzzle game is cool with the whole wire system. I think I misunderstood how i was supposed to complete the level where you're first introduced to moving tiles as i tried to bring the block with me only for it to be trapped in the black area where i could not access it again.

Piotrek says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:44pm

Nice puzzles.
Narration adds unique mood to the game.
Really enjoyed playing.

Sean says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:45pm

Great audio and atmosphere. It's rare to see a voice-acted game for Ludum Dare which isn't grating to listen to! There were a couple minor English errors, but it's still well-done despite that.

I found the audio log placement a bit annoying: they're placed near the end of sections as a reward, but they get cut off when leaving the area so it forces you to stand around doing nothing if you want to listen.

Using WASD to move while holding E is also kind of awkward, it probably would be better with a toggle to grab things instead of holding the key.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:17am

The voice acting added a lot to the game! Very cool game otherwise, puzzles are pretty standard but well made. (I may have wanted a mini-map at one point because of so many rooms.) The visuals and design was consistent, good work!

GFM says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:18am

Nice going with the story driven/narrated game! It reminded me of Bastion... perhaps it was an inspiration for this game? :)

It took me quite a while to figure out the layout of the third room. The perspective gets in the way and makes it really hard to see that there's a passage to the right of the room. The door that's opened doesn't look like one, since it isn't even visible in the first place... Perhaps a top-down view would had worked better...

tonynogo says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:28am

Congratulations for the nice work.
The ambience, music andvoice acting are good ^^

publicidadeba says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:38pm

mac build did not work for me :(

Geckoo1337 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:51pm

Fun mechanics and logic. I like it. Well done. It could be improved with other features. Overall, well done ++

rjhelms says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 1:26am

Great job! The puzzles were very well designed. The last one had me scratching my head for a while, but in a good way; I was really satisfied when I figured it out.

In a few places the collisions glitched out and one of the stones ended up in an odd place, but with some fiddling it was nothing I couldn't recover from.

The story was compelling and well told, too. If we were doing ratings this Ludum Dare, I'd definitely give you great marks for mood.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]