Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Buy The Moon

by NoTrueSpaceman - Competition Entry

I spent most of the weekend learning a new development stack, and it shows!

Have fun with a quick little clicker game to BUY THE MOON!

(Only tested in Firefox but should work in any browser.)

Check out the source code here https://github.com/eparadis/LD36 ! It might be a good way to learn to use Typescript, node, webpack, gulp, mocha, and chai. If none of those mean anything to you, don't worry. Most didn't mean much to me Friday night...

Special thanks to Mike, one of my Jam partners from LD35, for his help and example code here: https://github.com/mgiambalvo/ludum35

Downloads and Links


Comments

imogiagames says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:54am

Hi, nice little game, it's perfect for waiting while the other ld games are loading! The steps for building an empire are funly named.

Hi_ImTemmy says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:57am

Nice and simple. What sort of empire wouldn't try and buy the moon (a lame empire, that's who). Hope you had fun learning new things!

QwaKlak says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:57am

1000 Double robots, 1000 factiories, 1000 sweatshops, 100 islands,10 guys corrupted, 1 moon after secends
That's how realy work Economy.btw. moon costs a lot of money. :D http://screenshot.sh/ovY9pfa9nHxVu

wowods says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:34pm

I don't want to go 'to the moon', I will 'buy the moon'.

Great little game to waste your time ;)

Cody Hansen says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:42am

I'm kind of a sucker for clicker games. Broke a mouse on Clicker Heroes.
I quite enjoyed this one! Ludum Dare is a bold way to learn a new stack, you brave soul you.
The game was fun. I've always wanted to own the moon.
Thank you!

Bendev says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:57am

Nice and chill game. Clicker games are not my type of game but i had fun buying a moon. Congrats and hope you had fun learning new things.

cortica says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:31am

Nice game, makes you want to know what appears next, but there's a bug where u can see what is next if you try to select the text from the blanks (i guess the text is there but white?)

BestNickname says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:10am

Interesting game. Unless I am mistaken, are some of the more expensive options objectively worse than the cheaper ones? For example a factory makes 1 dollar every 4 seconds(so 2 every 8) whereas a double robot makes 2 every 6.

oostap says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:15am

Interesting, but I can't get why more expensive options are worse them cheaper ones :)

Aug 31, 2016 @ 4:02pm

Wohhooo I got my Moon, but my fingers huert^^.

gonutz says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 5:03pm

That's a nice little clicker right there. Simple yet effective.
Learning something new is always a good thing, kudos for creating something and sharing the code (I especially like that it is on a code sharing web site and not a .zip download). Keep it up!

gonutz says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:33pm

OK now I played it again and got to the moon in 244 seconds.
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms646310.aspx

Danae123 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:16pm

A fun little game, if you happen to have endless clicking stamina ~ I'd like some music to keep me company, maybe a pretty background. Anyhow, good job.

Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Thanks for the reviews everyone!

@BestNickname - Some more expensive things are 'worse' as a way to keep you on your toes! It means you have to do a little math to figure things out.

@cortica - Yep, the text is still there. I wanted to hide the text and it was a super easy way to "hide" it. I should have added a method to show/hide the text but I was in a rush!

@Cody Hansen - I actually learned a _ton_ by being 'thrown into the fire' for this one. It resulted in a less fancy game, but next time I'll have a good project start.

Aug 31, 2016 @ 9:27pm

Interesting game, the matrix is waiting.

Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:47am

@gonutz - If you're interested in a minimal Typescript project with a build system, unit testing, and a way to deploy, all of those things should be setup by this commit: https://github.com/eparadis/LD36/commit/958b956cfae15ecfb1308b0d998522e3469bbfd4

Everything after that point is making the actual game.

Linver says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 8:21am

Oh, you created a clicker too, man, GJ ^D
I writed a bot to make a LOT of benjamins. But it takes a lot of time yet.
I've a bug - when text line so big all buttons fall \0_o/
And I think you sould add some bonuses to moar dynamic :3

Cliff Lee CL says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:32am

A little boring after 500 seconds without some refeshments.
It will be better with some events, sound effects or music :)

Strike says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 11:43am

A cookie clicker clone ! HAAAAA !!!
This game ruined my life, I don't want to touch that any more, I have serious addiction problem XD
I stopped at the sweat shop, to be honest. Your implementation looks quite solid. It only needs a bit more icing to be even better.

local minimum says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 3:31pm

While my bots are working for me to take over the moon I start with the review here. I'm a sucker for clicking (and just letting it tick). One detail that would have been nice would be if the game fit the view port here on the ludum. I like that there are new click levels when you gain enough dollars. Good job.

Sep 2, 2016 @ 3:00pm

Mocha and Chai? You mean, you *unit test* your LD games?! Wow :)

Spent a couple minutes with this one. As others are saying, typically each option should be better than the previous one. Suppose I have $500 to spend. I can buy a sweatshop ($1/s), 5 factories ($1.25/s), 20 double robots ($6.66/s), or 50 robots ($10/s). Clicking 20 times for those double robots is definitely not that onerous, so the sweatshop is just very underpowered at this point.

It would also be nice if there were powerups for stuff you already have. Give that fleet of old single robots something more to do.

Also, the next unavailable thing should be hinted at (showing at least its price) so the player has something to shoot for. When nothing new appeared even after 10x my currently most expensive item, I just gave up.

I also wasn't sure what "bank >= $1000" means. I just get the two bucks...

Sep 10, 2016 @ 6:02pm

@Frozen Fractal - Yeah, I think my idea to make people do math to figure out the best strategy missed the point of why people like to play clicker games. When I play clicker games, I'm always thinking about the "strategy" of which things are "the best buy". Maybe that isn't very common? Also remember there is the cost of the initial investment to consider.

And yeah, after doing TDD for a while, it feels wrong to not have some sort of tests. I broke down after a while, which you can see in the commits, because I couldn't think of a good way to mock the DOM. That's just inexperience on my part.

What's interesting is that as I was TDD'ing this entry, it made things easier. I thought "what's the new feature I want? OK write that test." Then I implemented it. It meant I was always thinking of game design first, which can be hard for me during an LD. I think next time I'll actually write a big pile of design goals as tests and then try to fill them in as the weekend goes on.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]