Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

pipe

by tak - Jam Entry

exploration platformer with awkward controls

| | | |

controls:

arrow keys + z/x (or use a GAMEPAD)

P - change palette
O - go back to original palette
M - mute music
Alt+Enter - fullscreen

| | | |

music by mc hepher


| | | |

if you're stuck on the first screen, press Z (or your GAMEPAD equivalent)

| | | |

mac verison / less buggy version coming soon

Downloads and Links


Comments

DifferentName says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Really fun controls! I love the music and graphics. It seems weird that you can beat the game without even seeing most of the game's challenges, just by finding the exit once you have the key. I played again to get the hearts, seeing obstacle types that I completely missed the first time.

Sean says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:08pm

Really great entry! The graphics and environment design were really pretty, and I loved all the little details that helped make it feel dynamic like the physics-enabled vines and animated leaves (I'm also a sucker for nice palette swaps). I'm surprised you had time to do so many extra details like that full intro sequence and the little leafy robot on top of the rest of the work!

The controls were fun to use, though I'm glad you made it so that getting hit doesn't penalize you much; if I had to restart at a checkpoint every time I got hit this would have been waaay more frustrating.

I never managed to find the last heart, but I had a really good time looking for it!

Remynfv says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:04pm

Nice! The gameplay was solid and really fun, the art was great, especially for a ludum dare game. It wasn't really clear that there was more gameplay, I beat it the first time without finding any hearts. I did realise that there was more to it, so I went and got all the hearts, which was fun. Overall great entry! :D

Junber says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 11:40am

This was unbelievably polished. Art, music, sound all of that was really great. The idea of breaking things by crashing into them with enough speed felt really fresh with the control scheme. I think the hearts sound be replaced by something else because preconceived videogame notions tell players that these would give them more HP or something. Maybe you should also mark the end so noone flies into it accidently and display the number of hearts collected and total.

Zccc says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 1:45pm

I can't believe this was made in 72h! I got a bug on the room with all the square turrets, the pipe stopped moving. In my last try I finished in 5 min with all hearts. It was super fun.
Can you please publish the source? I would like to learn how to do all these pretty effects in Game Maker :) thank you!

NightShadow0 says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Wow, this is great! Absolutely gorgeous artwork. The mechanic is fun but it can also be pretty frustrating to think you're going fast enough and not break something, it kills the flow a bit for me. Impressive work all around, though!

unoion says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 10:54pm

Excellent pixel graphics! Great entry!

Mr. Chelnoque says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 3:02pm

The controls are not awkward at all, after a few minutes of practice I've been flying all over facility like an iron man. Very complete
Thank you!

local minimum says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 10:36pm

I saw a gif of pipe-flying and I don't know what super-human you are or how many times you retook that gif because for me this was a bounce-bounce-bounce-mania off of all walls. But I loved it, I'm not complaining, don't change a thing, let them be as they are. The game is superbly made. However, as I launched it from the itch-app, I would suggest adding something about 'z' for action on the first/title screen (at least after a little while). Just add the beautiful description you have on the itch.io page. I had to press around the keyboard to find it. On the same theme, your page doesn't work in the itch-app at all. I very much appreciated that the enemies were only hindrance but not hurt (otherwise I would not have been happy with all the bouncing I did), quite uncommon for the game type. I haven't said anything at all about the graphics, marvelous. The whole aesthetic is so well defined.

Frump says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 8:05am

Awesome game. Great art style, clever controls and good music. I enjoyed it a lot. I played through twice trying to get all the hearts. I found 6.

Sep 5, 2016 @ 10:32am

Great entry, loved the movement of the character and the nice simple clean design worked so well with it all. Definitely a favourite so far.

crazyrems says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 6:09pm

Great feeling, physics feels really good. I didn't found every heart :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]