Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Escape from planet Earth!

by Peni6 - Jam Entry

Escape from planet Earth!

Contains some profanity.

WASD to move.
Keys 1, 2, & 3 to switch weapons.
Mouse to aim & shoot.

* Programming by Ollie Armstrong
* Music by Phoenix Elleschild
* Art by Olly Smith

In lieu of ratings, please let us know what you think of our games mechanics, art, animation, and music, via a comment. Much appreciated.



---------------------------------

NB: The night of the deadline, our programmer was ill, and had to pop off to hospital to get himself checked. We lost about three hours, and made the decision to give ourselves three hours to work on it, post deadline. We timed it exactly, and we feel that it's both within the spirit of the LudumDare, and also not that important, as there are no ratings this time. Judge us as you wish.


Downloads and Links


Comments

Jonpul says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:54pm

Has promise. Still let my dead corpse jump around for awhile after i was dead. Nice art style.

CodeChomper says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:23am

I really like the art work and sound. I could not get to the end without dying but my dead corpse made it to the escape pod and beat the game.

Damdoshi says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:37pm

Graphics are nice. It is pretty. The music is cool too. The shot sound effect is a little cheesy in comparison.
The mechanics appeirs a little to slow for me. It seems the character is still in space.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 10, 2016 @ 4:20pm

First of all, great intro and outro animations, they create an awesome setting for the game. Well done!

The game itself was a bit short and simple, and not too challenging. However, once you die things get fun, first I loved that you still can move and shoot once you are dead, not enough games allow you to do that ;)

Then, once I respawned I suddenly had a minus countdown (or rather "countup"), all the enemies I had previously killed were still dead and the "ancient technology" from the previous run was still there.

I also like that if you jump in the right moment you can jump on bullets in mid-air, I once made it off the top af the screen. The collision detection in general are a bit weird, once I was walking around in the bottom GUI.

I assume these are all bugs that you weren't able to get to due to your programmer's sickness, but actually they make the game quite entertaining. It turns it a bit into a glitch game, which is funny. :D

Graphics are really well done, together with the good music they give a nice atmosphere!

SamuelSousa says ...
Sep 12, 2016 @ 3:47pm

Interesting art stlye. The font used works pretty well. The music does give that needed adrenaline to push you too go fast which is good.

I was only able to make it to the end because enemies don't respawn on consequent plays. I noticed there are a lot of bugs, but these didn't bother me all ... had my character running over the bottom HUD :)

Short but sweet

csanyk says ...
Sep 16, 2016 @ 12:58am

I feel deceived. This is not that poorly made. OK, so sometimes when your dead the game doesn't realize it for a while, at least the story mode parts are reasonably well done. The action is pretty basic, and not very challenging, but it's not the worst thing I've played this jam.

Sep 17, 2016 @ 5:41pm

I like that the tempo seems to match the short music track, and even though I could make it through just by running (and dropping dead), it still was fun.

joe40001 says ...
Sep 18, 2016 @ 10:13am

Interesting game, the art and music was quite good (the opening art in particular was nice). The gameplay wasn't anything too new or innovative. Fun take on the theme though, the game itself had several bugs and it seemed like the bad guys were too good a shot such that fighting them seemed like a waste and just running through was your best bet. Shows promise but needs bug fixes and stuff.

Score: (because I like scores)
Overall 2/5
Innovation 1/5
Fun 2/5
Theme 4/5
Graphics 3/5
Audio 2/5
Humor 3/5
Mood 2/5

amras0000 says ...
Sep 18, 2016 @ 9:55pm

Short and sweet. The game didn't last long enough to make me notice any issues in the mechanics. The intro "dropping" sound is a bit high pitched and unpleasant, but that's a very slight nitpick.

The graphics work stunningly well. Everything feels coherent, with a nice set of colors. The music is paced just right and works great with the atmosphere.

I don't know if the "drop dead and let your corpse escape" was intentional or a bug, but I am glad you kept it in! It made for a great, silly experience. I only played through the game once, and finished as a corpse, so I didn't try out the shooting that people are talking about. But just getting blasted over buildings by enemies and rushing panicked over cars and ruins was great fun.

Thanks for the experience.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]