Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

CAVEMAN HARRY

by Flatgub - Competition Entry

I'm REALLY happy with how this turned out!
This is by far the largest game I've ever made with the world totalling at 35 chunks, each containing 672 tiles!

The game was inspired by old ZX Spectrum games like Jet Set Willy
In Caveman Harry you have to find food for your tribe, leading you to go on strange adventure through the world and overcome tough obstacles!

Downloads and Links


Comments

MaTeX-7seven says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:15am

WOW the artwork is so cool ! Also really like the sound effects~ Awesome work overall ^^

videogreg93 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:26am

Wow man congrats! This game was really fun! Haven't completed it but I intend to. The difficulty was just hard enough to make me keep trying to get across those screens! I would buy this game in a heartbeat, if only it had a killing soundtrack!

SuperDisk says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:47am

Definitely has that c64 vibe, with the bouncing stuff and level names displayed. The first screenshot looks a lot like a level in that old game maker game What's In The Box.

CogentInvalid says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:54am

I like the retro artstyle! This game is quite polished all around. The gameplay is simple but engaging, although its tile-based nature makes platforming a little awkward. Also, I think the difficulty curve went up a little too quickly. But overall, excellent work!

PotatoIng_ says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:10am

I really enjoy the music and the overall style! Also, it's pretty long for a 48hours game :0 And pretty hard at times:D. I like it!

Gulyasarni66 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:50am

Awesome artwork, and good gameplay. Congratulations!

Joff says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:38am

I honestly don't know how you managed to fit all of this in, It is fun to play, looks great and some length to it. Great work.

Ghen says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:33am

awesome game!, the aesthetic remind me of DOS game, the control feels good, and the level design remind me of old Atari game in a way
great entry

onyon says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:12am

Cool game! Love the retro graphics and sounds and everything!

Vony256 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:20am

Beautiful game, great entry to the game, honestly cant find a real flaw in it.

CptBubbles says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:23am

Very cool art style and level design! Can't believe you managed to get so much done in two days!

TheMightySice says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:45am

This game is just awesome! The artwork and level design is neat but the controlls had a little delay which made it ever harder to play :D

sorceress says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:23am

Nice graphics, but I feel it gets a bit too difficult too soon.

asteryz says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:32am

Great result for what you set out to achieve, game is pretty difficult but it looks and feels just like a game in the old days.

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:10pm

I'm usually not a big fan of platformer because I suck at jumping and dodging stuffs. However this game drew me in and made me played quite a while. I love the art style a lot, it looks lovely and fits the retro theme pretty well. The dialogues and names were funny (the crab and the lizard were cute :D). One thing I found annoying though was the jump button seems not very responsible I keep dying because my character didn't jump when i press jump. The levels were fun, and hard (that batcave man, I will never be able to go through it with my platformer skill). It is a great game, can't believe this is made in 48 hours.

QwaKlak says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 12:20pm

Nice game. It looks like game made in 90's.

ValiaP says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:37pm

The art was really old fashion and cute. The dialog was funny, and there's seagull on the coconut tree! I usually sucks at platform games but I'had lots of fun in this one. But I stuck at the"Going Batty", it was too hard for me.

RhythmLynx says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:59pm

Amazing, super impressed you did all that in just 48 hours! Love the art, sounds, npcs and the huge world. 124 deaths. If you do a post-jam version my only suggestions would be music and moving the checkpoints around a bit to be on the same screen as the nearest obstacle (e.g. the one to the right of crocodils and to the right of going batty would both be less annoying a few tiles further left). Great job!

Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:04pm

Really great! Very expansive for a game made in 48 hours. The art style is also pretty cute, and I like all of the little jokes throughout. I also like the tight controls that gave the game a sense of precision. The jumping seemed a bit wonky at first, but I got used to it in time. My one problem with the game is that the difficulty curve is a bit wonky if you choose the wrong path to start out with. I definitely played the game in the the opposite of the intended order. It maybe would have been better to have each branch follow a similar difficulty curve. Despite this one gripe, I really enjoyed this entry and played it all the way to the end.

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Finished the game! Very simple old school mechanics and charming graphics and dialogue but a surprising amount of content for a 48 hour game. The gameplay was solid for the most part, though Harry would always seem to move one space further than you want him to and the fact that everything has the same big square hit box that's larger than their sprite made dodging obstacles a bit frustrating.

WERT Studio says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:13pm

aweseome game. huge world and neat artsytle! I am just too bad for it sorry

Azumiar says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Nice game but it seems like you can only press one key at a time so you cant jump while holding right/left and thats make it hard.You rlly have to time everythying. High Traffic is damn hard lvl. Great work!

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:13am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description. (you can already find several games from the jam there)

Yngvarr says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:28pm

Bringing new games from 90's: it's hardcore and it's awsome! Well done!

scorched says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:49pm

Cool graphics!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Really nice, definitely captured that Jet Set Willy vibe. I liked the room called 'You're not missing anything' because that' exactly why I went down there

Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:03am

Really nice game, brought me back to the atari/commodore days. Love the graphics, for sure will come back to play more of this nice little game.

g12345 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:08pm

Nice looking game. Incredibly frustrating, and I'm not going to play it again.

"YOU DIED 113 TIMES!" :)

kyyninen says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 12:46pm

Wonderful effort! Loads of content given the timeframe. I adored the aesthetics, but controls felt a bit imprecise - especially jumping while moving and vertical movement on ladders would hitch more than occasionally and cause my death. Character's hitbox also is very unforgiving, the window to jump over barrels in those one block spaces must be two frames at max?

I feel that respawning should also work with space bar. Taking my precision claw grip off direction buttons broke my flow several times...

MrMordem says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Nice little game, kinda hard to figure out where you should go first and the jump mechanics are a bit hard to get used to :/

but other than that i liked it, the intro music was nice and the simple graphics really remind me of the old games on computers like the amstrad and such.

Really well made especially for a compo entry :)

GFM says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 12:27am

Quite a fun game, though I did felt like I was fighting against the controls....

I find it quite interesting that this game is (to a certain extent) both a precision platformer and an action one, while having tile based movement. Now that I think about, the style somewhat reminds of the platforming on Oddworld: Abe Oddysee/Exodus...

However, the most difficult thing to me was jumping. The game has no leniency, and if you try to jump one frame after pressing right/left on a ledge... you'll fall. That and the fact that the hitbox seems to be the full tile of the sprite. I fell into the crocodiles a lot of times because of that.

I don't know if this was intended, but jumping on "climb-ables" (ladders and such) is way faster than actually climbing them. I was able to skip a whole section on the lab, thanks to that.

Great game! My favorite room was definitely "who put these here?", the one with lots of single tile platforms and lava on the bottom... It was the one that made me pay the most attention to how jumping works in your game.

Also, must say that I really liked the graphics!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 3:20am

This game was fun but frustrating. I think if you reduced the colliders for the enemise slightliy it would be a lot more fun. Great game.

Sep 5, 2016 @ 10:56am

Loved the retro vibe of this. Great design and the level layout was interesting. Did have issues with the jump and think that could be tightened up a bit more.

Four Quarters says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 4:24pm

Nice entry!!

Artwork is great!! Remember DOS times))
Interesting setting, but story is loss in gameplay)
Some rooms too random - completed it only by luck.
"Enter" to restart is bad choice... Jump button is great for that.
"Space" is bad choice too. "Up" works well))
Ladder room solves with Space in no time)) Bug or...?

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 11, 2016 @ 10:22pm

Innovation: Wasn't really "innovative" per se, as we've seen these types of games before, but the design worked really well, both in terms of large-scale (the three areas with three different keys, and the teleporter), and small-scale -- some of the screens you designed were awesome! "Going batty" especially, and also the one where you had to dodge lightning bolts while underwater. Very very good job combining your simple obstacles into a compelling gameplay experience.
Fun: Lots of fun! I'm sure that some people will complain that the game is too difficult, but IMO that's the whole point! While some screens were indeed difficult, it never felt unfair. The only screen that I felt might be a little off was the thunderstorm room, because it was more chaotic and felt more nondeterministic than all of the other puzzles, so it was harder to be precise with. That said, I personally didn't mind that screen at all.
Theme: Double points for making the story about ancient cavemen and also for making a game in an "ancient" style. =P
Graphics: Simple but totally effective! I found the player character's walking animation to be a little funny but that's just a nitpick.
Audio: From an earlier post it looks like you were going to add music here but didn't end up having time to? That's a shame; this game is just dying for an awesome soundtrack in the vein of PPPPPP. =D It's really the only thing the game is missing, to be honest!
Humor: The room names were a great touch, and following genre conventions, I actually did smile to myself after seeing some of them. Good work!
Mood: Needs awesome music to be complete!
Overall: Great job - this is by far the best LD entry that I've played so far. I do see some merit in other people's complaints about the jumping / movement implementation -- if you don't understand that the engine is tile-based you won't get it. It did take a bit of getting used to, and the "traffic" screen with the long vertical ladder was a bit harder because of that. Overall I didn't mind though. Just hurry up and add some chiptunes already! =P

Congratulations on your successful LD! I'd really appreciate it if you could leave me some feedback for my game as well. You can find it at: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-36/?action=preview&uid=7285.

Sep 15, 2016 @ 7:59pm

A love retro feeling game that reminded me of my childhood, mixed with a little bit of VVVV(VVV...). I only went one way, but it was a legitimately challenging experience.

Also I am in love with that adorable crab.

We streamed it earlier if you'd like a more indepth thought on the game: https://www.twitch.tv/cantgetourname/v/89524937

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]