Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

The Pogo Stick of Power

by SbstnC - Jam Entry

This is a very simple platformer.

If you wanna play an HTML5 version, link is here :
http://gamejolt.com/games/the-pogo-stick-of-power/183939

I made some minor changes, before making the HTML5 port, so it's kind of a post-compo edition

Changes :
- fixed various issues.
- added some background tiles.
- remove useless objects that were making the HTML5 port lag.
- added a jump sound.
- FIXED THE HITBOXES !

If you prefer to judge on the compo version, it's still the window's link.

Downloads and Links


Comments

ValiaP says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:11am

OMG! The art was so coool! Loved it. The last level was a bit tricky.

ValiaP says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:12am

And the "stole the jetpack"thing was funny. With so many bugs on the ceiling, I bet jetpack will do no good.

MrBrenan says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:36pm

Really funny game, I laugh on the intro :)
The mechanic is cool and original, great job :)

walkupandaway says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 11:39pm

The art style really makes this stand out! And the intro really gives your game some character. Honestly, I didn't get pulled into the platforming all that much. I think adding something unique to the pogo stick, like increasingly high jumps, would have grabbed me. But, I understand how a strict time limit goes, so be proud that you made something with personality!

austintradr says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:14am

I love the hand drawn style of this game. The controls are also spot on, it took a second to get used to but once I realized that "oh yea, I have to jump to move on a pogo stick" it was perfect. The control over the jump height is also perfect.

Hitboxes on enemies were a bit big and I found myself getting aggravated at them.

The end was super cute, and I liked that we had to play the "cutscene" ourselves. This is one of my favorites so far.

aeveis says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:28am

Very nice!

I liked the cave tiles and how they faded into the background. The platforming was pretty precise at points but I was able to beat it.

I liked how the art reminded me of the old game&watch style games but was mixed with painterly textures and watercolors. Keep up the good work!

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:31am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

Geared Games says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:43am

Cool game! Artstyle was nice and a nice and simple idea executed really well.

Ryusui says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:36pm

I love the "Game & Watch" aesthetic. The start of the final level is pretty brutal, though. XD

cottontrek says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 5:11am

I loved this one! The hand-drawn graphics have this wonderful pen and paper feel to them, and the character design is really imaginative. The gameplay was fun too, I like the idea of a platformer where you can only move while you jump - it led to some surprising gameplay interactions!

Alkrimil says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 5:56am

Interesting concept! I think the controls could've been pushed one step more by having it so that you can charge your pogo so that you jump higher. Otherwise, great stuff, solid platforming. Keep up the good work!

Mr. Chelnoque says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 8:05am

Nice game. I think that second level is a bit too long, and can be split in a few sub-levels, and a sound is a bit too hard on ears (a few different sounds or changing a pitch slightly for every jump would help), but the final sequence (after the caves) was good and felt rewarding

Strike says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 10:46am

Really funny game and well polished. Art reminded me of Game & Watch. Really nice to play and challenging. It's a really solid entry. Congratulations.

Capt Nemo says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 6:09pm

cool art, i like that "this was drawn" kind of style. i also like the mechanic of, you can only move when you are jumping. It takes the aerial maneuvering from platforming, in its purest most concentrated form. And in my opinion thats the best part of platformers. my only complaint is that, for a scrub like me, i need checkpoints. I definatly dont want to keep playing the first 50 jumps for a chance at the 51st one more time. Anyway, the controls are tight and when i do die i feel like its my fault, so yah overall great entry!!

Sabina Lis says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 10:21pm

Nice game, i liked the art style it has a very cohesive look. Liked the moving with jumps also, would be great to have a checkpoint. Congratulations!

csanyk says ...
Sep 11, 2016 @ 6:57am

I liked the drawing style.

Given that the only thing you can do in the game seems to be jump, it's pretty difficult. One-hit sends you back to the start of the level is a bit harsh. The jumping sound effect got a bit irritating after a while.

Pierrec says ...
Sep 12, 2016 @ 1:27pm

It reminds me of Saut/Hops, except the all jump no walk gameplay ACTUALLY MAKES SENSE NOW!
Great job! The game could use a few checkpoints though!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]