Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Fireworks Grandmaster

by local minimum - Jam Entry

Combine exotic substances into fanciful displays of colour, shape and sound.

Shapes of the ingredients need to match slots on blueprint.

If you regret a choice, just slot another item.

Try to make sense of what your eccentric customers are ordering.

And remember, the customer is always right.

You can fast forward texts somewhat by clicking the button... if you think they are too slow... to much sloth.

Be sure to leave comments we will try our bests to play back your games and give good feedback!

Downloads and Links


Comments

Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:51am

I really liked the descriptions of the ingredients, and the personalities of the customers! This is a good example of how even a family friendly (and friendly in general) game can deliver thoughtful and evocative experiences!

I did have a bit of trouble swapping in some parts, and I'm still not sure what some of the customers wanted, but this was still a very enjoyable game!

Pyrofoux says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Very nice mood, I'm not quiet sure I really managed to satisfy the customers... They all seemed genuinely happy of by performance though.
@gdcvdqpl

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:20pm

Wow, those customers are not so nice when you mess up! Interesting idea! Interface was a little confusing at first, but a bit of experimenting helped. Nice work.

Bobsleigh says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:08am

Loved the music and sound effect. Nice drawing and style. Had a bit of trouble with drag and droping the ingredient thought. Also, some ingredients seemed to appear twice, but couldn't put the same one... still, nice game.

zacks says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 3:13am

Wow, really interesting game! The characters and the music are awesome and fit in Chinese culture! I like the idea to choose the ingredients according to the description. While it's kind of hard to find out how to really satisfy the customers, I think maybe add some tips will be better.

Aug 31, 2016 @ 5:59am

Really unique game here, I like the amount of care you put into the character dialog, The sloth was sooooo annoying. The mechanic of combining different elements to get another effect is nice and the sound generation is also good.

wilsk says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:08am

Cool game. It turns out I'm terrible at working out what customers want!

ocarson says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:07pm

Very relaxing, and a good concept in general, I was a little unsure what went where at first, but the different fireworks had a lot of charm, as did the animal friends.

Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:24pm

Neat game! Waiting for the text was the only thing that I didn't like. Fun concept!

Aug 31, 2016 @ 11:36pm

Very nice game, I had a little trouble working out what they want, but they all seemed pretty happy with the result!

I like that the amount of powders(?) increases each term so that you're not overwhelmed by them all at the beginning.

n42k says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:14pm

Does not run on Linux, which is strange for Unity and HTML5.

Dedioso says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:23pm

This game is great! really much content. I like the graphics and the humor in the text. I sometimes fired the wrong stuff into the atmossphere but nevertheless i had fun. Thanks ;)

local minimum says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:38pm

@n42k That's really strange. It runs on Linux for us (using Firefox). Maybe it was simply problem with allocating memory? Too many game up and running at the same time or something?

@MirrorPolygons we might do something to the Sloth speed, but after the rating. Let everyone learn to hate the Sloth equally.

@RockhopperGames and @Bobsleigh, we've found the drag and drop bug that made that interaction quite horrible at times but because we've also tweaked some more stuff we'll wait until after rating.

And to most everyone else, we'll probably make the customers a little less picky with their orders and change the whole level progression a bit, but in general we're very happy and very happy that most of you seems to enjoy playing it.

scriptorum says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:40pm

Great writing, it was funny. I also enjoyed the accompanying music. I still don't quite understand what it is my customers were asking for, but that's kind of the essence of the game. :) Nice job!

Kernel Panic says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:42pm

The animals were amusing, and it was fun to try figure out what each wanted. The mechanics of the game were a bit confusing at first, but it was easy to get the hang of it once the first firework was deployed. Pretty neat overall!

kyyrma says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:40pm

I had little bit problems with the first customer but after that it was clear. Needs little bit more content but the fireworks are nice!

TomBuston says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Really clever game ! I would have love to see more diversity in the fireworks !
Nice job :)

Gipzo says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:44pm

Great entry. Nice puzzle mechanics, good texts and graphics. SO great game, overall.

stenol says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Nice little game. It's very original.

fixedgerald says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 1:55am

Unique concept, cool music.

n42k says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 8:25am

@local minimum: weird, it ran today after I tried it again, not too sure why. Well, I'm glad it works, because I'm trying it out now!

Once I figured out how to play, it was very fun figuring out what the customers wanted. Works just fine and dragging feels easy. Graphics and music are great. Just wish the text was faster.

komilll says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 8:52am

That's a great amount of music and graphics assets. I'm kinda interest, which program have you used for generating sfx of fireworks? Artwork and customer orders are nice and humorous but I felt like there was no goal. Of course it was funny when I got critized for making too calm fireworks when client wanted some metal music, but I think making enough points to continue game might make it more interesting and challanging.

Sep 2, 2016 @ 11:16am

Some customers were hard to guess, but hey, that was the purpose of the game. Nice idea, loved the mood.

local minimum says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 3:13pm

@komilll The fireworks are 'simply' Unity's particle system, though not so simply. I wasn't the one that wrote the code but it basically looks for collision with a 3D mesh (made in Blender). I think the magic happens here: https://github.com/local-minimum/ld36_atech/blob/master/Assets/Scripts/HandleExplosion.cs#L43

@n42k yay it worked!

Sean says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 4:41pm

A weird but cool entry! I sort of felt like I had no idea what I was doing, but none of the customers complained so I must have been doing it right. I did find the font choice made the customers' text a bit hard to read though.

Sep 2, 2016 @ 4:52pm

Really interesting, fun game! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/iJTT4Yba0N8

Sep 2, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Intresting approach for the theme, actually I felt amazed with the form of the fireworks! It would be nice if it could be done in the real life.

By the way, I felt like it could have been more grounded in the world it self, the mixig part could be in the streets and have some animation with the costumers or something. But an intresting idea!

tonynogo says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 4:37am

A pleasing game. Nice work!

AlexanderMerk says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 11:26am

Great idead, i think it can be good on mobail!
Also i'd like that characters :)

AlexanderMerk says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 2:53pm

Great idea*

sprawl says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Really nice style ! Fun storytelling which looks slightly randomized too. Would be nice to have a little better particle effects to really increase the satisfaction from crafting those fireworks.

Great job !

adsilcott says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 9:01pm

A cool game with personality and a good sense of humor. It forced me to read carefully, and I enjoyed trying to work out what the customers wanted.

Satyre says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 11:31pm

Nice concept, it feels that it could have an infinite amount of combinations of fireworks. Great work.

Ping78 says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 12:16am

Cool concept. nice graphic style.

celia14 says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 1:02am

Very cool and unique game! I liked the creative process of trying to interpret what the customer wanted, it was fun, and so was seeing the final result! The customers were funny, too.

blubberquark says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 10:23am

The music was very relaxing. The gameplay was sometimes hard to guess.

LoneSpelunker says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 7:59am

This is a fun and clever little mechanic, trying to interpret the customers' mood and translating that into a firework display.

Suggestions:

* Make the firework explosions smaller on the screen. They are kind of ridiculously large compared to the buildings, and they often go off the screen. If nothing else, you probably want to save the really large displays for later in the game.

* I'd also make the "shows" longer; after all the reading and constructing, having only a handful of rockets go up is kind of a let-down. We should be able to see a whole series of rockets go up.

* It would be handy to have a way to go back and see what the customer said again after we know what the options are for putting into the rocket. (Or a more obvious one if there is a way to do it.)

Overall, though, good job. A fun premise, and a well-executed fireworks display.

Sep 5, 2016 @ 10:32am

Interesting mechanic, liked the way you had to respond to your customers demands with each unique fireworks display although at times I wasn't the greatest and meeting their needs. Favourite part for me was the dialogue. Another nice entry.

Pierrec says ...
Sep 12, 2016 @ 1:58pm

This is a really cool idea with a very good realisation. I wasn't easy to figure out what the customers wanted exactly, and I think this is what makes the game interesting: some room is left for creativity!

Peni6 says ...
Sep 15, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Waaaay too much text for an LD game, which imo was too small. Very unique concept, well made art, especially the fireworks. Can't say it was that fun, though.

Oct 28, 2016 @ 4:38pm

I also included your game in an article of my favorites as well as awarded a trophy to your profile! :) http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-36-eyjmnpkp

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]