Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Trials of Daedalus

by NightShadow0 - Competition Entry

**POST-COMPO EDIT (Sep 4): Added checkpoints. No other changes to the game, please play this version if the original feels frustrating.

Trials of Daedalus is a super simple metroidvania based on the myths of Daedalus and his *Ancient Technology* inventions, in particular the version of the myth recounted by Dael Kingsmill (link below).

The content i planned is all there, but not the polish. I lost a lot of time due to it being my first time using Tiled with Unity, and me doing zero preparation before the jam; the gameplay is pretty rough as a result, but i tried to make the glitches help the gameplay instead of hindering it. The WebGL build is also significantly slower than the editor version, but i don't think it's a performance issue; not sure what's up with that.

Controls:
*Left and Right directional keys, A/Q and D: Move;
*Up, W, Z: Jump / Double Jump (when unlocked);
*Down, S: Hide from bulls (when unlocked).

Game made in Unity; levels made in Tiled, imported via Tiled2Unity; artwork made in Aseprite, imported via TexturePacker; music generated in cgMusic with minor edits in Audition.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Comments

Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:55pm

Really neat concept! Its quite fun seeing what inventions you end up making. I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36 games, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/XIU4hYAXhy0

KitiJenGames says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:36pm

I like the concept of this game, the music fits and the art is really good. I like the thought bubbles that explain what to do next and the controls are easy to get the hang of. I would like to play a longer version which references more myths and legends. The only thing I would change is that I would add checkpoints.

Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:22pm

Cool game dude! Would also like to see some checkpoints. Also, what was up with the fish and stick removing gray stuff haha. Keep up the good work.

NightShadow0 says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 6:13pm

Haha it's supposed to be a makeshift saw which you use to cut bramblewood, i agree that it's not very clear :)

I also agree with checkpoints, it's something i would've added with more time, i'll try to put up a quick post-compo version with them during the weekend.

tonynogo says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 4:51am

A pretty nice game. Graphics are cool.
I enjoyed playing it!
Congrats!

AlexanderMerk says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 11:24am

It's too slow for me(
And i think, your have some collision's problem or bounce material on Player or Green Blocks. Music is pretty good)

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 2:54pm

Overall I like the design and presentation. It's endearing in a sense, but the visuals do remind me of those old bible games. Probably just the mythical setting messing with my head.

The collision detection has occasional glitches, which is weird taken that it's made in Unity. You did use standard colliders and rigidbodies right?

You should also get rid of the default blue background.

Daniel says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 4:43pm

good concept, I do like the style of the game but I feel that it would have been better if the enemies weren't as trapped, so it would be more like mario were the enemies have more space to move around, it would give the game a more challenging aspect to it.
Good Job

komilll says ...
Sep 8, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Pretty easy and enjoyable level design. Also great theme and nice platformer feeling. I think that adding some checkpoints after every craft would be nice, but overall I had fun.

Thrainsa says ...
Sep 9, 2016 @ 5:50am

Good job, and pretty good level design, but we miss a little more game feel for the jump, but ti' just a detail, really good entre

Sep 11, 2016 @ 10:04am

Nice entry! The levels were fun, but the game is too unforgiving, some checkpoints would indeed be nice. I was quite interested how the game would end, but I didn't want to start over from the start once more, but then I found the post-compo version. :) The graphics are quite cute, but could be expanded. I liked the makeshift wings and the tutorial thought bubbles, which explain the game without using words. :D

HeliosStudio says ...
Sep 15, 2016 @ 10:32pm

Cool game, especially how you handled the theme on this one.

joe40001 says ...
Sep 18, 2016 @ 8:19pm

Careful, Icarus.

Cool take on the theme, the music was decent (any original music impresses me), my main complaint is that the game is slow slow slow to move which took the fun out of it for me. I still beat it though. :)

Score: (because I like scores)
Overall 2/5
Innovation 3/5
Fun 2/5
Theme 5/5
Graphics 2/5
Audio 3/5
Humor 0/5
Mood 3/5

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]