Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Ancient Factory City

by StMatn - Jam Entry

Ancient Factory City should have been a mix of citybuilding and factory management. Unfortunately its just a prototype, because I didn't have enough time to flesh it out properly.
IMPORTANT: You need a working Java8 JRE or SDK to run the game. Unzip the archive - it probably wont start out of the zipfile. The game doesn't explain anything and is in a really early prototype stage, so you probably will have to read this, to understand whats going on and how to control it!

To make it count as a game I smacked in a goal at the last moment: Try to make as many houses "operating" at the same time as possible. If a house is supplied with a bucket of water and three apples, it will consume these items and count as operating for about 20 seconds.

Controls: (current program state is shown in the top left corner)
q - select next building blueprint
e - select next interaction mode (only building and wiring are useful)
r - rotate direction for new buildings
t - select next logic type (only for logic units)

How to play:
-Build an apple farm to produce apples
-Build conveyor belts to transport items to other buildings
-To get water buckets, you need stone from a quarry to be transportet to a mason, which will chisel it into a stone bucket, whick can be filledwith water inside a well
-Try to supply as many houses as possible with apples and water buckets


The logic system:
-Screenshot 2 shows a logic setup
-Logic components are sensors, logic units and switsching belts
-Logic components need to be connected with wires (wiring mode)
-Logic components are either active or inactive
-Sensors are active, if an item is in front of them (keep in mind, thes have a direction, they look at)
-Logic units are active, if their logic function is fulfilled between all connected wires
-Switching belts are active (they change their direction), if any of the connected wires is active
-Keep in mind, that wires are directed


I would love to read your opinion in a short comment! Thank you very much for playing!

Downloads and Links


Comments

Four Quarters says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 3:15pm

Really big job for few days, for such hard genre like strategy, nice!

standardcombo says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 2:32pm

I'm always intrigued by these state machine games, such as infinifactory, but they take a long time to build unless you go for something really simple.

Sep 2, 2016 @ 7:42pm

A fellow java dweller ;)
The amount of effort put into this game for such a short time span is great, it's a shame you weren't able to finish it though, however I can't blame you for such an ambitious idea. Not really my type of game but I had fun nonetheless :D

TiByte says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 12:08am

I think this idea has great potential and a lot of thought has been already put into this. This could be extended into a really fun game.

Without your entry/post I would have called the game unintuitive - but you explained it quite well.

nice job!

n42k says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 9:43am

The game play itself feels great and I wish I could play it. After carefully reading the controls I figured out how to play it, that's not an issue. But the controls themselves are too difficult to use, making it harder to interact with the game, than the game itself. Please do extend this game and put it out somewhere, I'd love to see what comes out of it!

runvs says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 6:09am

reminds me of factorio (which is a good thing). Trying something like this in a ludum dare is quite challenging. I admire how far you took your idea.

Linus123xbb says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 5:23pm

A in-game tutorial would be beneficial I think. The game itself was unqiue, but I didn't really understand it.

Daniel says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 4:37pm

unique concept althought I feel that and as linus123xbb mentioned a in-game tutorial would be great and it would help the game a lot.
graphics are simple, the game also plays very well, so well done.
The only thing that is annoying the text on the top left corner is hard to read in my opinion, maybe add a black box under the text to make it more readable.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 18, 2016 @ 10:36am

Wow, awesome game idea. Great combination of Factoria and city buidling! This game has quite a potential.

I don't want to critisize to much, as the game is oviously a prototype. But it's hard for me to see the side switching belts are pointing if they are covered by items.

I'm not quite sure what I was supposed to do with wire and logic units. I read you explanation, but I'm not sure where I should use them.

You should definitly continue on this project, there is quite a potential here!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]