Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Ancient Robots

by TimBeaudet - Competition Entry

Control an Ancient Robot thought to be a plane or space ship using the age old technology of punch cards. These punch cards seem to be made of stone and have aged well.

Controls:
Use the mouse to select which Punch Card instructions to give the robot.
You can click a card from the planning area to remove it if mistaken.

Extra Controls:
WSAD, ARROWS, or Right Mouse Button will allow you to move the camera
SPACE or Middle Mouse Button will reset camera to see the robot

Downloads and Links


Comments

TimBeaudet says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:52pm

Post Compo fixed game breaking level reset issue. Should be able to move from level 1, to level 2, to level 3. Game should then always start in level 3 which has 5 different ways of winning with varying difficulties.

TimBeaudet says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 2:53pm

"by always start" I mean until the game is closed completely and restart, then it will start back at level 1.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 3:10pm

Always like a game were the core conceit is programming :)
the presentation of the cards was also nicely done!
Good stuff Tim, sad I couldn't do Ludum this time around.

WERT Studio says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:34pm

reminds me of sid meier pilots but here its more a puzzle game

Jwatt says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:38pm

The presentation is very transparent, good work on that. What makes this unique is that it's so freeform - it's not a puzzle game with predefined steps, you're just exploring the level with (presumably) random cards.

This made me think of how the punch card system could be used in an RPG. Like making the environment also dynamic, so that different cards would have different use cases.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:13pm

Nicely done. A solid foundations of a puzzle game. A little slow paced for my liking, but still fun.

g12345 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:20am

Well, as I already said before in chat, I like RoboRally too. The fact is, I am also very bad at it, and every time they ended up completely somewhere else.

Somehow I don't have this problem here, and I could sail through the first levels easily. Perhaps it's the clearer graphics, or because I have a top-down display, but everything seems so much easier here.

It is funny though that my playthrough usually involves a u-turn and then walking backwards. It almost seems you have too many cards going the opposite direction. :)

Tijn says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:54pm

This game is really awesome. As someone already said, programming games are always appealing to me.

How many puzzles are there in total? I haven't finished the game yet, but I'll keep playing until I do for sure!

It runs great on Mac by the way, good job :)

Wan says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Finished the game! I was afraid for a moment that I'd have to pick all 5 stars to finish level 3, but your first comment here reassured me :P

The game works really well with a lot of different ways to approach situations, while leaving a little part of puzzle solving to how lucky our draws will be.

A typical example: for the final level I aimed for the bottom star on the island. After a few turns I ended up just above it, rotated to the right. Unfortunately, I couldn't get a "turn right card" to finally face the star... BUT, I realized I could still win by just playing "move forward", then "move backwards" :D

I also love the effort you put into animations, it really sets the mood for a card game.

5/5 Fun & Innovation, 2/5 Audio ;)

Danae123 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:44pm

Fun puzzle, cute graphics, shame there's no music but thoroughly enjoyed the game :)

euske says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 1:08pm

I liked the mechanics and hoped it had more levels. Good job!

ciaodavinci says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 4:02pm

I like the concept of punching cards, both for movement and as an ancient technology. I also enjoyed the animation of the grid when hitting a rock. It feels like the plane's navigational system is breaking. Perhaps having a wider range of pitches in the sfx would make each of them stand out more (moving, turning. colliding, etc.) Nice job!

n42k says ...
Sep 8, 2016 @ 12:39am

Experimental Linux build runs perfectly!

Gameplay itself was interesting, I thought it was one of those visual programming games at first (Such as "Golem", in this LD, at http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-36/?action=preview&uid=45115), but it was far from that. The card system made it random and fun, and since I was forced to pick 5 cards it was sometimes difficult to choose the best combination.

I figured out how to play without reading any instructions, which is very good.

Sound effects were very fitting, maybe there could have been music?

dollarone says ...
Sep 22, 2016 @ 7:45pm

finally got around to playing you game. Nice job! Mechanics are great and I like that you can hold on to cards. Levels are time-consuming to make, so I understand there's only a few. Would be cool to add a "shoot" card and enemies :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]