Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Sepulcrum

by blackcode - Jam Entry

Two adventurers come into an abandoned temple with a quest to find a legendary gem.
Unfortunately, they turn on an ancient security system that will kill them in 60 seconds.

There's only way to get out of this situation - our heroes have to hack the security system and open the doors before they die. Fortunately, one of them specializes in ancient operating systems and knows perfectly what to do.

The game features never before heard voice acting with a Slavic accent, astonishing graphics, breathtaking animations and okay gameplay!

Info: We are aware of the screen flashing in fullscreen and borderless mode, but can't do anything about it as it's a bug in SFML libraries themselves :(

Bugfix update #1!:
- You can now skip the intro,
- Music now changes correctly when going back to menu,
- Difficulty is not preserved between plays anymore,
- Ending works correctly,
- Sounds in the "Simon says" puzzle are now louder.

Bugfix update #2!:
- Difficulty is really not preserved between plays anymore

Downloads and Links


Comments

Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:43am

I see what you did there :D

Mine10blox says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:05am

didn't play to the end because I have to go but it's really cool! I'm honestly surprised you made it in only 72 hours

iMer says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:30am

You forgot to ship the openal32.dll, for anyone looking for it, you can grab it here: https://github.com/SFML/SFML/blob/master/extlibs/bin/x86/openal32.dll

Wonderful story-mode intro :D
Fun games and some even got challenging at the end (damn order remembering game im looking at you)

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:32am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:38am

Nice game! Several things though:

- The intro is funny, but also long and impossible to skip, making retries a bit of a chore.

- Talking about retries, the game music does not stop when you lose, so you get to see the (long, unskippable) intro again with the game music over it.

- Talking about music, the sound clues in the Simon Says type of puzzle could be louder.

- Color mixing puzzles are difficult for idiots (like me) but also a broad range of people with different types of color blindness. The penalty for guessing wrong is not so bad, so it's not make the game impossible or even much harder to play, but it's something to have in mind when designing visual puzzles / feedback.

- After losing three times in a row to jigsaw puzzles, I went and replaced the four pictures by a neat squares made of the numbers from 1 to 9! I subsequently won and I don't even feel bad!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:40am

This is a great entry!
The intro is really well done but way too long in my opinion. hopefully there is the endless mode.

The puzzle games are really good, one remark: at first, it wasn't obvious I was supposed to blow the candles. I tried to light them all (and thus lose). This felt a bit unfair (even if I replayed right away). You might want to add a hint to help the player figuring this out.

mde says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:33pm

The music and the graphics are great. I also liked the puzzles, but you have to wait to long until the inro is over.

blackcode says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:58pm

Thank you everyone for the feedback, right now we've added the missing dll to the Windows release.
Bugfixes and an option to skip the intro will also come later today (when Macron comes home, to be precise) as it indeed can be frustrating.

@steph88 Thanks! I'll look into it :)

@Rico Solving the color blindness issue is something that'd require us to create new features for the game so we'll have to wait until post compo with this. But we should have thought about this earlier. About Jigsaw puzzles, they are all made so that they can be won in just a few moves, we'll have to implement a reset button so that one mistake won't waste the whole round.

@Pierrec We've been aware of how the candle puzzle may be misleading, but we honestly don't know how to make a hint that wouldn't be too obvious. We'll look into it though.

@mde Please don't praise the music as it's not ours :(
Graphics, on the other hand, are all made by me, so thank you :)

blackcode says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Bugfix update is here!

yotam180 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:06pm

The download misses the openal32.dll file

blackcode says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 5:31pm

Crap, forgot about it again. Fixed, sorry.

urielgamedev says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:03pm

Nice game ! :) The puzzle are fun to play and the difficulty increases nicely :)

2011petia says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 8:41pm

The game its really good, its like a film haha

austintradr says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:25pm

Very well polished, the intro was especially impressive! The puzzles themselves were not terribly interesting, but the art that went into them was great. I also enjoyed the difficulty curve with the way that it rapidly scaled up.

Also this is a more personal thing, but you should still consider your colorblind audience. The color adding puzzle was essentially impossible for me to complete and it ate away at my time with guesses.

HellBlazer says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:39pm

Cool idea, kinda like Wario Ware for puzzles. Also, awesome cutscene!

The bugfix note says "difficulty is not preserved between plays anymore" but... are you sure? Once I started a new game and the first Simon-like puzzle was already super fast.

Also, not sure what's happening with the order-things-by-size puzzle, but sometimes you don't even click all the images, or make a mistake, and it still skips to the next puzzle.

Daniel says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:59pm

Good game but I feel like its a clone of every other puzzle game, where there is a puzzle plus a timer.
I did enjoy the art the music was fun and did set the scene for the puzzle good job

intXparts says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 2:05am

The game felt really polished with a lot of nice touches such as the sound, graphics, music, intro and menus. Nice work!

blackcode says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 1:23am

@HellBlazer
Yeah, it didn't work, but this time it should for real :P

Madsj says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 11:54am

I liked the game. It is a pretty good joke that the security system to a huge emerald in an old tomb is a series of small user friendly brain teasers - Maybe it's a metaphor for what is really going on? I think the tests are well done - It's most interesting before they loop and you have to figure out the rules and you are not sure what will be next. For me the sliding puzzles were the most difficult. Any significance to one of the characters dying and only a few people came to the funeral?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]