Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Spectacular Stride Machine

by Garfeild - Jam Entry

Spectacular Stride Machine is an endless runner with balance control mechanics about one of the forgotten steam inventions and it's owner.

Back in 1876, England:
"It's alive! I was finnaly able to make it move! My SPECTACULAR STRIDE MACHINE! MWAHAHAHA! Time for a walk to the patent office! Let's see who has the last laugh then!" - Unknown inventor.

Today, Lithuania:
Team KAMAN has found some old blueprints of an unknown machine. It was a gadget invented by a scientist [UNREADABLE NAME], who lived in Victorian England and used steam as the main source of power for his inventions. Unfortunately, the mechanism seems to be nonfunctioning and impossible to make.

***************

Instruction:
Avoid obstacles by changing the height of the Stride Machine.
Keep balance by adjusting the tilt of the Machine.

Controls:
Arrows left/right - Lean machine left / right
Arrows up/down - Adjust height level of the machine

Team KAMAN:
Ksenia Shatunova @xushaw – art
Anton Kolchunov @garfeild – coding
Monika Anastasija Daunyte @artisacurse – art and animations
Andrew Vasiliev @Andrew_Chewie – coding
Nika Tomenko @kys_violet – art

Music:
* Hoop-Dee-Do (Polka)
* Wenzel Polka
* Pennsylvania Polka

Downloads and Links


Comments

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Perfectly goofy game. You guys really captured the whimsical sense of old-timey inventions and patents. I especially like how the stride machine walks while crouching.

Gameplay is pretty basic but it works well and is carried by the excellent sound and visuals.

lonesurvivor says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:28pm

Nice! Simple but very polished game. Very good and fitting music (i had to smile more than once while playing when I fell over and the music was slowing down). Great art! I really like it!

KittyMac says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Very cool, awesome atmosphere. I like the balance mechanic, although its hard to watch the balance meter while at the same time watching when to jump or duck. Excellent entry!

JD557 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Nice game with a great atmosphere. The sound effect when you lose is also very fitting.

Jumping/ducking and balancing the machine at the same time is a bit hard though, not sure why.

SetTheBet says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:46pm

Excellent! What an enjoyable little game with eyes for the details. Great animations, superb selection of music (even though maybe not created by you guys). Good flow in controls. ++

MacDocBros says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:47pm

Graphics and gameplay are beautiful, but I find this game very hard for some reason ;D

Garfeild says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:49pm

@SetTheBet, yep, it's not our music. We are using different Polkas. Will mention in entry description.

JK5000 says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:50pm

A game with a crazy great humor. The game is very easy understand, and it's fun to play. Both the music and graphics fits the games humor. Well done.

Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Really cool game! Well polished and replayability was good!

johnbjuice says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Very funny! Great color design - I instantly knew what to avoid in terms of the scenery. Beautiful artwork and great sound!

Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:08pm

Very nice, simple gameplay but well balanced and really good atmosphere !

Sun-Wukong says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 7:59pm

FABULOUS graphics!
Liked it very much, and had a good laugh, too.

Ghen says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:43pm

top notch quality game right here, with 48 hours this game have amazingly impressive assets

the humor is on point, love the artistic steam punk style and color pallete

the control responsive, but i dunno why its floating without "flying" animation when i press up, a bit weird, but ok

overall very nice jam entry!

wheerd says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:45pm

While I suck a playing this game (multitasking is not my strong point), I really enjoyed it!
The whole feeling, the art style, the music and game play are just fantastic. The stride machine looks hilarious. Very fun game, good job chaps :D

svyatozar says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Hehe, for some reason this game reminds me of flappy bird. The game is overall very polished but it seems to lack something that makes addictive gameplay, not sure what exactly is missing.

g_o says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Awesome!
Art is perfect and soundtrack is pretty varied which was pretty darn cool!

Chryse says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 10:09pm

The art, atmosphere, music are all awesome!
The floating part is a bit weird but overall It's something that would be enjoyed.

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:06am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

publicidadeba says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:35am

Artsy flappy like game! Loved it, such a great atmosphere to eat, simple yet fun. Well done guys. Best art I have seem so far.

VitasaMode says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:04am

I love how clean and fun it is. I'm all about small and well-polished games. I appreciate the old style feel and the music was on point as well. Great Job!

Amine Tcherak says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:39pm

Great games i like it good works

flazm says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Great game! Well done guys!

Findor says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Wow, so good! And the graphic is so breathtaking!

blinry says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:29pm

This feels like a very complete game! I absolutely adore the art style, good job on that! At first, I didn't realize the balconies were obstacles, and wondered why I constantly crashed. Would have liked more story! And the game mechanics themselves didn't feel that interesting to me. Maybe some more gameplay elements would have been nice. I love how the music changes pitch after a crash, haha!

Made it 356 meters on the third try :) Sorry, pedestrians! :(

petitpois says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:58pm

Great fun, love the music and overall feel of the game, I couldn;t get further than 55 m. kept crashing into balconies. Great entry. :D

BlueLlama says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:22am

Spectacular artwork, couldn't get very far as I'm dead tired. Gameplay is simple, understandable, and incredibly effective. I was trying to think of critique, but my only suggestions were things I found I just hadn't seen yet :) (such as an indicator for tipping points)

MrErdalUral says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:28am

Simple and fun gameplay. Great artwork and music. Well done congratulations!

CMangas says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:54am

Amazing little game! it is very simple, but still really fun. The graphics, and the music are simply amazing, I would really love to see a fully fledged game with this style.

The only issue I found while playing it is that sometimes there is a jump that pops out that seems to be impossible to make, altough I am probably doing something wrong.

Add some variety and I think it will be amazing as an android game.

brookzerker says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:00pm

I love the art and feel of this game! It felt very intuitive to play and quite fun to try to get farther in the level.

I was a bit surprised to see that the machine could fly though. I had assumed that I would just be walking the entire time and would be concentrating on the height of the 'head'.

Remicy says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Excellent atmosphere, love the audio and art style, great job!

Neonable says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 12:02am

Congratulations to team KAMAN for delivering a beautifully designed game with nice aesthetics and sound design. I am glad to see another entry with a style similar to mine, and in 2D! The difficulty of the game is well balanced, making it enjoyable for more than a few minutes. Providing more visual feedback to the player, such as "steam jetpacks", along with appropriate sound when jumping would probably make it more immersive and complete. Overall, excellent entry!

quadtree says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:16am

Nice job on the graphics.

edve98 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:57am

I loved the audio! Good atmosphere, decent gameplay. One thing I wish this game had (besides Linux version) is a nice animation of machine breaking down. Anyway, good job!

Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Great Game!Everything fits perfectly from idea to art to music! This game is amazing! Loved it! Keep it up !

^^Alina^^

ZpeedTube says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 8:11pm

Very fun game and only thing that I would like be added is an online highscore! ^.^

Danae123 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Loved it. The music is brilliant. The style is gorgeous. And the game pretty addictive :D

Sep 3, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Love the graphics and challenge of this game! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/rUX8vUSl-y0

Sep 5, 2016 @ 7:50am

I always love running into Endless Runner games. Doesn't happen every Jam, but its a nice solid entry concept.

The Spectacular Stride Machine is one of those games that has very solid controls from the get go. So you dont need to fidget with trying to work out the hiccups and get straight to beating your high score.

The other thing that I really loved was the art style and that little touch of humor in the design of the Mad Scientist. Which is my favorite kind of Scientist. Just looking at his bug eyed expression lets you know the exact kind of game you're playing.

Nice job guys! Thought it was a lot of fun and I rambled a bit in my showcase video on how it could evolve in the future. You can check it out here for anyone interested.
https://youtu.be/VPEUihSWP7M

Also Hi Jupi ;)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 4:38pm

976 meters! :D

Innovation: Nothing too new here, though the balance meter was a novel concept. The basic endless runner concept isn't really novel but I don't think it really needed to be anyways.
Fun: This was loads of fun to play! A simple game, but I think the experience as a whole is more than the sum of its parts. One issue I did have was that it was a little annoying to keep track of the balance meter while also looking ahead at obstacles since it made me split my visual focus. Not sure how that could be best solved but that was my only major gripe with the game, to be honest.
Theme: Definitely fit the theme in a great way!
Graphics: Great job! The stylized look and sepia tone really worked here.
Audio: Music selections that you picked out were perfectly suited for this, hahaha. The end "slowdown" effect really worked nicely too.
Humor: Yes! This was super zany in the best way. I can see some people being confused by the "point" of the pedestrians though.
Mood: Great job on the mood! I think all of the other elements really come together in a cohesive package.
Overall: A simple but really enjoyable little game. Great job overall on everything!

Congratulations on your successful LD! I'd really appreciate it if you could leave me some feedback for my game as well. You can find it at: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-36/?action=preview&uid=7285.

Four Quarters says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Simple and funny game)
Graphics and sounds are awesome!
Gameplay simple and strange, but cool)

Linus123xbb says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 9:40pm

Amazing game it was addictive and very fun. The mechanics worked really well and I certainly appreciated the humour in this game. Perfect music and the graphics was really good. Great job!

devpaul says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 8:01pm

Really like the style of this game ! The drawn background and characters look really good!

csanyk says ...
Sep 13, 2016 @ 4:11am

Well, that was fun! Great overall aesthetic, and I especially liked the funny animations and the sound effects/music. Perfectly blended. The controls were pretty good. Not quite Flappy Bird-like in terms of frustration.

Oct 28, 2016 @ 4:40pm

I also included your game in an article of my favorites! :)
http://fireside.gamejolt.com/post/jam-favorites-ludum-dare-36-eyjmnpkp
Sadly, I couldnt award your profile an award as you have not posted on this site before so your profile is not public. When it becomes public, please email me so I can give you your trophy! Jupi@JupiterHadley.com

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]