Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Village Store

by euske - Competition Entry

You're a cashier at this small general store in a village.

Used: TypeScript with my own base code, Paint.NET, PxTone and Audacity.

The "cha-ching" sound was actually my bike bell.

Downloads and Links


Comments

McMutton says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 6:34am

Inventory tetris combined with math... didn't need the math for it to be fun. :D

Well done Euske, had a blast playing it. Took a while to realize that I actually can rotate the items instead of accepting how I received them.

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:36pm

I'm sorry but I can't figure you how to trash items. My instinct is to drag the item over the trash icon at the bottom, but this doesn't seem to work, so I inevitably lose after 3 minors with alcohol.

euske says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:47pm

Sorry, there's a bug that made the trash can unusable. It's fixed now.

RafaCP says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 1:48pm

Awesome game!
Great graphics, music, sound effects!
Nice gameplay too, my only complaint is the trashing of items (alcohol for minors), still not clear how to proceed in this situation. Also the rotation of items was not explicit at the start.
Very well done game! Congrats!

justinooncx says ...
Aug 29, 2016 @ 8:26pm

This was a pretty fun game! The math was thankfully easy, since all you needed to do was find the last digit and choose the right one out of a list. The arranging part was kinda wonky at times, though, but otherwise, it was a fun challenge! Well done!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:22am

Really fun. Music fits really well with the quick-math vibe. Really enjoyed the short game. A fun challenge, good work!

0rel says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:56pm

So nice, really enjoyed figuring this one out, fun concept! Also, Typescript looks really promising for using the browser, thanks for sharing this... I'm already trying to find the proper tools for the next LD :P

Kimen says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Very clever and original idea for the game. I love it!
That's an awesome little game.

Tijn says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 4:39pm

Cool game! It took me a little while to understand what to do, because it's not a custom here that cashiers put the groceries in a bag for you, haha.

Detecting if someone's a minor or not is a little hard, but otherwise it works very well. I like the little math element you've added, it makes it something special and unique.

Have you ever seen a game called "Bag It!"? It's a mobile game which is also about putting groceries in bags.

pighead10 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Nice little game! I'm guessing the "ancient technology" is having to add things. I haven't had to add things in my head for years, and I've studied maths. I feel the difficulty could be ramped up a bit quicker.

Cryovat says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:32pm

I really need to study mental arithmetic, the adding up was way harder than it ought to be!

Really good concept and execution here, and the graphics and music works well. Great game! :)

Sep 1, 2016 @ 2:15am

Wow, I didn't think doing that much mental math would be so fun. The music is a little repetitive, but the sound effects are fine. I like the two challenges at once: I was trying to add up the numbers as I put things in the basket. The little twist that you need to make sure kids don't buy beer is great too. Good job!

kokiriandco says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 7:14am

I did really like this one! Graphics, music and SFX make it really look like a FC game, and the mechanic is very fun!

I lost when I had to stack four beers on a single basket and I haden't figured out that you could rotate the items clicking at them XD

Tegu says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 5:46pm

Initially, I tried to calculate the whole sum, which took a bit time for me. Thanks to justinooncx, choosing the right option got slightly easier but it was still quite hard.

Often, I found myself putting the items to the cart blindly. Thus, I missed who was underage and lost hearts. :( Better be more careful!

I liked how the size of the time bar was adjusted to the number of items. And went offscreen when there were lots of items.

Automatic pausing on window unfocus was really helpful.

Funny game even though the math part drove me crazy at times. But that just kept my trying again. :D

Sales: $615

g12345 says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Nice little game.

The constant dragging made my hand hurt in the end... so much draging and dropping...

Nice music, graphics and gameplay. Nice.

The hardest part of the game is which person is a minor or not. Half the time I drag thing to the trash and then realised after a while it's not a minor, and i lost my last live to someone I don't think is one. :P

BloodJohn says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 6:16pm

It's more complicated than a fun game. Rewards for little work (small graphics) and not the simple operation. It's more like a job. And apparently I'm not fit for this job =)

Set the mechanic is very good. Cloning the game about the customs - nice try. If the game is to rethink and to understate the level of complexity may turn out fun.

ramoncb says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 3:54am

Good job! It's quite addicting!

For a end user...the math part of the puzzle may be frustrating, not everyone is fast with math. Perhaps if you change the number for something, like coins, could be better? Like this: each product is a red/blue/green coin; it will be like six coins at max, right? Much more fast to calculate.

Also, I saw that you tried to teach the player on the go, this worked with the alcohol/kid stuff; but for teach the rotate mechanic would be better if it was only one large product for a more horizontal bag, and a pop-up text about this.

One more thing: maybe starting a new timer to do the math (after complete the bag), could be better?

Anyway, the game is good and you should keep working on it! Sorry my broken english. ^^

Eggplant says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 9:39pm

Good job! I really like it.

LoneSpelunker says ...
Sep 7, 2016 @ 1:41am

Charming little game. I liked the mechanic where you have to fit the items in the bags. I'd like to see even more in that realm, such as not putting a heavy watermelon on top of crushable bread.

One problem is the "not giving beer to minors" thing; if you're going to do that, it needs to be more clear who you are currently selling to and whether the person is a minor. This could, in fact, be another new element - you need to "card" the customer if they are buying alcohol, rather than just trying to make a judgement call based on how they look.

I could see this game being fleshed out and being made into a fun little math game for kids. It would be a little on the "drill and kill" side of things without some expansion, but for kids who just need some practice with their low-end addition, they might as well be playing a game like this rather than just doing problems on paper.

Sep 10, 2016 @ 12:54pm

Great fun little game :) Nice combination of fitting objects into a restricted space and doing math at the same time. I also liked the very retro style of the font.. Reminds me of old NES games :)

By the way: I'm also in Japan - in Osaka (though I'm not Japanese, but German)
Ludum Dareに参加する日本人が少ないな...

dollarone says ...
Sep 18, 2016 @ 9:39pm

Nice game. Music fits and the amount of time per customer is perfect. I got to $600 or so before I lost. (And I didn't find out you could rotate stuff but didn't need it)

> The "cha-ching" sound was actually my bike bell.

haha this is great

kraiom says ...
Sep 19, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Got a score of $565. I must say, the combination of the box fitting game and the addition was really good. I was impressed with my ability of getting some crazy prices right, and some combinations of boxes were challenging.

- Sohakes

PainGames says ...
Sep 20, 2016 @ 8:41pm

Great fun little game :)
LOVED THE COOL SOUNDTRACK.

PainGames says ...
Sep 20, 2016 @ 8:44pm

WOULD LIKE TO SEE AN APP OF IT.
I WOULD DEFINITELY PLAY IT.xD

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]