Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Proxima B

by SecondDimension - Jam Entry

This our game Proxima B, a a top-down shooter about discovering an ancient civilisation on a distant planet. There were 3 of us in the team and we created everything over the weekend (I wrote the music and did the gameplay, and the other 2 did art and level design).

The aim is to collect 4 spare parts and bring them back to the broken alien ship.

Controls are all explained in game, with mouse/keyboard support for European keyboards as well as standard UK/US layouts. It works best on Chrome with a 360 pad, and if you get stuck then try interacting with stuff

Thanks for playing and we hope you enjoy it.

Downloads and Links


Comments

Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:35am

This game is pretty incredible! The music and the graphics set such an intreguing atmosphere. The gameplay feels very smooth and the combat is pretty satisfying. It's pretty polished too, with the multiple control layouts.

The only problem I would say I had with it, is that the collisions can be a bit finicky at times when using keyboard and mouse. Amazing work.

steph88 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:08am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! Simple mechanics that still offered a decent amount of challenge.We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #36. We made the same thing at the previous jam.

Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:45am

What a freaking game!
I love the soundtrack!
I love the graphics!
I love the controlls!
I love the game!
great work.

kokiriandco says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:41pm

Wow. Music is great and works very good ingame, graphics are cool and the gameplay is just great. Congratulations!

Znibben says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:57pm

Good work! The artwork is really stylish and the music takes it to another level. Very polished.

I like that you need to drop the ship pieces to be able to use the weapon again, resulting in the choice of staying to fight, or just run past enemies.

Kirstine says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 6:45am

This game is so great! I love the atmosphere and the artwork! I think you could make something great out of this game :)

Sep 1, 2016 @ 1:04am

Wow great game! I played through the entire game just now. I liked the music and SFX. The graphics were great too. I liked the feel of the gun, but I sometimes I'd get stuck against a wall. The level design was good: there was a good mixture of different shapes, enemy arrangement, and textures. One frustrating point was when I'd move between rooms and would spawn right into an enemy with no chance to avoid the damage.

Overall, good job!

kawzar says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 4:33am

Didn't go through all the game yet, but it looks and feels awesome! Good Job!

Sep 1, 2016 @ 5:34pm

Nice graphics, awesome game! I included it in my compilation video series of Ludum Dare 36 games, if you’d like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/PNJkv1swd3I

SkullPixel says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:07pm

Nice job so far on your game! The ancient stuff sticking out of the ground looked really cool, at least in my opinion. Before too long I gave up on taking the parts back to the ship and ran off to go blow more stuff up. If there's anything you could improve from what you have here, it would be to A: Not make the player have to tow the parts all the way back, and B: Make the player die more easily. :D
Well done!

euske says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 12:27am

Very well made. Hats off for supporting multiple inputs!

rodobodolfo says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 2:42am

Wow this was really awesome!! Nice mood! the music is great also. Gamepad movement didnt work for me.

It would be nice if the ship was in the center of the level like a hub it would save a lot of backtracking

g12345 says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 12:25pm

This was really nice. Great atmosphere, nice graphics and sound. and the game was nice too.

The things I dont like is that you can sometimes spawn near a monster. Or that the bullets change sometimes, somehow. Or that buttles cant move past holes (at least i think they're holes.) And I almost got stuck between some walls for a while... Also I sometimes clicked outside the browser window... :P

Otherwise, it's a great game. :)

Sep 8, 2016 @ 11:45am

One of the best game's I've played so far. Some remarks, though:

- Taking back parts (the last ones) was getting increasly painful, as you have to move back and forth multiple times.
- Bullets should be allowed to go over hole sprites.
- Turrets should be allowed to fire at any angle. They are to easy to kill at the moment.
- A minimap would be great!

Reiv says ...
Sep 17, 2016 @ 10:42pm

Great music and graphics! They fit really well
Hmm I don't like the fact that you spawn too close to an enemy without the change to avoid damage...
You could include a tracking system for how many parts you own too.
Overall I like it. Such a nice game !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]