Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

OLDNYUZ

by repstyle - Jam Entry

OLDNYUZ is a game about how information was gathered by spies in really old times.

Your goal is to collect news before they get outdated and increase your world trend knowledge to full awareness.

CONTROLS :

Left Click = Select Spy / Select Destination
Right Click = Unselect Spy

Escape = Quit.

IF GAME CRASH : i encourage you to try teh windowed version. Sometimes on windows 10 or windows 7 64bits there is some issues with fullscreen.

Done with monogame, solo.

Downloads and Links


Comments

leondryaso says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:03pm

Hi, the game sadly does not start for me. I tried running it in cmd, but it does not give me any output :(

RubiksJr says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:21pm

So I played it for a while, and I thought it was really fun. The font fit, the graphics were good, the sound was good, the font choice was on-point, it was a great game. I also liked how the level/world was designed.

Although it is an enjoyable game, I do have some things I didn't like. First of all, the borderless window is a bit annoying. I had to move my taskbar just to play the game.

I'm assuming the game keeps playing forever, but the "Global Trend Knowledge" bar did make me think that it's just a really long game.

repstyle says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:49pm

@leondryaso :
Can you describe what happened exactly ?

repstyle says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:53pm

@RubiksJr :

Mmh it is strange that you get a borderless window because it is made to be fullscreen. Maybe it is a Windows 10 issue.

You can finish the game (i guess) and there is an ending if you reach the top or the bottom.

AWOL says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:01pm

I like the art style the game I have Windows 10 and I'm also having that issue. Can you make a 64 bit version maybe?

Xakkar says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Cool style)

Geruhn says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:19pm

I played it, but it didn't play any sound. Since I read you credited someone for sound and assume you didn't do it for lolz, this is probably a bug.

DiegoCTorguet says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:32pm

The game appears with some nice graphics and concept, but it can get a bit boring easily. I miss one more mechanic to be more challenged. Nice work anyway!

Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:05pm

Fun if a bit easy. Took me a bit to figure out I needed to click directly on the city to send the spy there instead of just nearby it. Also liked the balance of choosing whether to send my fastest spy, or a slower spy so they could get a speed upgrade. It seemed to go on longer than it should have. Might be more enjoyable if there was extra things to worry about, like having each bit of news having a rating that effected how much the awareness meter went up or down.

metalhaze says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:38pm

The game was great, it was very easy to pick up and understand the game. I didn't even need to look at the controls and i understood the objectives and what to do.

I had great fun sending the spies around and it felt good juggling movement. The stars were a great addition and having different spies was cool as well.

The only thing i could add was that if you had more to do the game could be even more engaging. Perhaps gaining more spies or having extra objectives.

Great job!

simple_blue says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 11:22pm

game makes no sence, dont know what i was doing. i dont see how you could improve it either, id go with a different consept. sorry.

Xinelu says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 1:57am

I like strategy games, is very brave of you too make it 100% :D good job!

Vaiaphraim says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:49am

You were aware of LD36!

It took me a long time to figure out, how to actually win - until I noticed that the awareness meter was going up for each solved mission.

Cool idea with the boost stars, but how the speed worked in general wasn't too clear. The boost is supposed to only work for a short time, yes, but in general, the speed seemed to vary a lot. A bit more information about that would have been great!

I'd really enjoy some extra challenge, e.g. enemy agents roaming the map, so you need to leave some area for a while to avoid getting caught (just an idea), or even letting them "steal" the news, reducing your awareness levels.

All in all, a nice minigame - well done!

Mathiouza says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 2:48pm

Very adictive game ! That is, I think, the first one I played at a game who litteraly stuck me in front of my screen. And ... a friend call me, and I didn't manage to pause the game ... I'm sad, I was close to the awareness x)
Very cool game :) The music is cool too :)

Wan says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 3:37pm

It took me a while to figure out the "world trend awareness" bar was actually the progression bar, otherwise the mechanics and controls are really intuitive, and the gameplay original and interesting.

For some reason the awareness started increasing slower and slower the higher I went, make me wonder whether full awareness is actually reachable... I suppose it's not, and there must be a message behind that, but I found that a bit frustrating ^^

Otherwise it's all good, my favorite part being the original and intuitive approach to UI.

leondryaso says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 10:25am

Tried the x64 version on another computer and now it works. Nicely done, the WTA bar could be visible a bit more. There could be some other objectives, so it would be more attractive.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 12:49pm

Doesn't start for me. Windows 10 with AMD R9 290

tonynogo says ...
Sep 4, 2016 @ 2:41pm

Sadly, I can't see the mouse. I can't play.
Anyway, congrats for the work!

yoel1234 says ...
Sep 5, 2016 @ 3:19pm

looks cool but it gave me an error when i wanted to start it

nihilaleph says ...
Sep 6, 2016 @ 1:59am

I liked the concept of the game (though I think it is a bit off the theme), and graphics were nice, but I had some issues with it.
First, as reported, I'm using windows 10 and I tried x64 fullscreen and it seemed like a borderless window <http://imgur.com/a/V8aoQ>, the x64 windowed version would just stop responding, so I played the x86 windowed one.
Like already reported, I thought too at first that if I sent the spy next to the city it would be enough, taking a while to get that he should get precisely at the city. Another thing I didn't understand at first was the "world trend awareness" progress bar, I had to read through the comments to get it.
Finally, I thought too that the game gets really slow towards the end, to the point of getting frustrating, with no new mechanics or challenge.

But still, it was a very neat idea and a nice work! Great job~

Ryusui says ...
Sep 12, 2016 @ 1:38am

I like the general concept, but the interface could use some work. Like others have noted, it's not clear you can direct your spies to locations that AREN'T cities. I do like the idea that you can direct them to special "bonus" locations, but it'd be nice if the destinations otherwise "snapped" to places of note.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]