Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Ball Shui

by teamBallShui - Jam Entry

An extremely polished game with no content.

You have to direct a ball through a level and deliver it to an old chinese man using stunning ancient technological devices.

Controls:
Left Click: navigate/select items/move items
Mouse Wheel/Left Arrow/Right Arrow: rotate items
Right Click: deselect items when selected

Features:
- Crazy-machine-like gameplay
- Extremely realistic phyiscs
- Addicting gameplay
- Relaxing music
- Awesome graphics
- Cute Chinese girls when you finish a level
- Breathtaking story

This is our first Ludum Dare. We are three programmers and one designer.
Unfortunately the time ran out and we hadn't got much time left for level design :(

Changelog:
- Fixed some bugs that could break the game.
- Added left and right arrow keys as an alternative to the mouse wheel

Downloads and Links


Comments

tintreas says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:50am

Stick rotation doesn't seem to be working - Web version. Really lovey artwork though and I love the little touch of the strings going up and down the scale when you click a button repeatedly.

adsilcott says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:14am

This is a very beautiful game! I was having some problems with it freezing, but otherwise I love the art and music!

ratly says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:42pm

Nice game, the art is beautiful! It could be a little more responsive - I had trouble with buttons sometimes, and I couldn't figure out how to move an item after playing it. But it was fun, nice concept, great art and music, and very relaxing!

kingpirux says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:49pm

nice quiet game :) nice concept, nice ambient, some objects doesnt respond as espected but the game works really well :D

thomz12 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 12:50pm

Fun game! Took me some time to figure out how to rotate. Graphics are great, and music fits the game! Well done!

Alkrimil says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:01pm

Love the aesthetics and music of the game. The level select screen was really cool too. Good work, keep it up!

Amine Tcherak says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:18pm

Great games i like it good works

GrassWhooper says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:27pm

nice visuals, it is clear that you have put quite a bit of effort over there. i really loved the dragon by the way:) keep up the good work.

BossHunters says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:30pm

Beautiful game art and sound. It really gets the atmosphere of the design. Pretty extensive game, must be a lot of work.

Aug 30, 2016 @ 1:40pm

Nice graphics, sounds and gameplay - it was a very polished experience! I couldn't get past the second level myself, but maybe that's just because I'm not too great at these kinda games. Good work!

skorpyo says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 2:32pm

bautiful arts and soundtrack

cushycode says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:53pm

The Chinese theme is so smart choice for this Ludum Dare.
I really love this type of game and enjoined playing yours.
The graphics is charming. It's simple and polished at the same time.

I wish the game characters have better animation, because the dragon movements were a bit confusing for me.

The sound track is awesome by the way.
Good work!

Anudin says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Best designed ludum dare game i've played yet. Gameplay, style and music are really nice. Great job!

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:14pm

Very meditative game. Great dialogues and soothing music. It would be nice to emphasize the difference between the simulation and edit mode. It is not always obvious when the game comes out of simulation mode.

tonynogo says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:27pm

The graphism are beautiful!
The gameplay is very friendly.
Music pairs very well with the game design.

It spent a peaceful time. Thanks ^^

MrBrenan says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Really nice game !
I can't go really far because my laptop doesn't support mousewheel.
Also, the game graphics are really cool, great job on that side ! The music too is relaxant and with the theme.
The intro is simple but nice, easy to understand.
I found a bug, when in editor mode, you can move the "baloon" by moving a select platform and play with the collision.

Otherwise this is great job, continue !

AODQ says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:06pm

There's a fatal flaw in that you can just move the ball to the end guy by just dragging the floor pieces over the ball and to the end. I don't enjoy these puzzle games so I didn't play it long but the art direction was nice, but the music was kind of grating since it always seemed to cut off in the middle to loop.

Allthebees says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:35pm

Fun puzzle game, I found it a bit difficult moving stuff around after having placed it. Absolutley loved the animation on the jump pads!

Hermes says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:36pm

I was not able to rotate properly on web version.
Anyway, beautiful game and good mood !

Robinerd says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:48pm

Very cute and relaxing, very nice overall feeling :) Controls are maybe not spot-on, but still works. Would've been a great fit for mobile input with multi-touch actually.

Sean says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 8:57pm

I found the gameplay a bit boring, but art and audio were nice.

There seems to be a bug in the intro section which makes it so that you have to click twice for each dialog prompt.

There are also 3 different fullscreen buttons (one on Ludum Dare's site, one on the itch.io embed, and one in the Unity webgl export). You should probably try to set it up so that you only need one.

Sun-Wukong says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:26pm

I played TIM too many years ago, can't beat even the second level of this one, lol.
Nice game overall, pretty graphics, relaxing music.

MonsieurDuc says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:41pm

crazy stuff

joemag says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 9:56pm

Very cool and relaxing, got a nice sort of lemmings physic puzzle vibe. And yeah you need to get the right embed link so it'll play on the LD website.

metalhaze says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Very cool concept, like the incredible machine feel you had going.

Aesthetically it was quite pleasing, the relaxing music and the easy on the eyes art was a great match as well as a great Chinese theme.

Music was great, the sound effects of the string for actions was a good touch.

As for the game play the game was quite unforgiving. The platforms didn't always behave as expected and the need to get the pearl directly into the arms was rather frustrating.

Good overall, great job!

g12345 says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:56am

Nice art and music and gameplay. TIM was a nice game and this is too.

Mouse was very unresponsive. It was never sure if I could select something or not.

Most levels also have alternative ways to finish. :)

jackyjjc says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:42pm

I love the Chinese theme, graphics and music. Not a lot of games utilize those and it is great to see a game that does. The levels were interesting and it had multiple ways to solve. I'm very impressed by how much you guys managed to finished. The game feels complete and well polished. Very well done!

Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:54pm

A really good Crazy-machines reincarnation. Setting, sounds, art, music - all are so good so there is nothing to add. The game looks polished enough.

The only thing that bothers me is level design:
It is possible to complete the first level with just 1 platform used (put it near the emperor), the second with only 1 jumper (right angle) and the third one only with a rocket (put near the ball), the fourth with 3 jumpers only.

Great submission anyway.

Diptoman says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 10:09am

Not particularly an original idea, but very well executed for a jam game. The mood is great (and the audio cue on click initially was brilliant!). Level design could have been better, but it's a jam so it's excused. Good work!

komilll says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 7:23pm

It isn't new idea, just another puzzle game for mobile. But it's so good developed, involving music, graphic and background sound that it may be easily sold as mobile game. I'm amazed that you've done that much in 3 days.

Sep 3, 2016 @ 11:02am

Sound and music are awesome, and it was fun to play, I like these kind of games :)
I'm not sure why you'd say it has no content, both the mechanics are here and there are a lot of levels to play, nothing is missing.
The Chinese style is really well done throughout the game, and the level design is interesting.

Very well done, and indeed polished!

Kizler says ...
Sep 7, 2016 @ 4:15am

I really like this game and dedicated about an hour to make sure that I played it from beginning to end. I did notice that you didn't need all of the pieces to finish some of the puzzles and if the physics hit things just at the wrong movement, you could win or lose with the same exact layout. On my low end HP machine I would experience slight hiccups every now and then that would change the outcome, so I had to try the simulation multiple times to be sure.
I also really dug the music notes hitting as you placed a piece down or clicked.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]