Ludum Dare 36 — August 26th-29th, 2016 — Theme: Ancient Technology

Back to Browse Entries

Rampage of Technology

by kokiriandco - Jam Entry

**Web version may fail, please download the windows/mac version instead**

A mad hipster wants to be the biggest hipster ever and YOU are the next victim!
You will play as a cassette, a discman or the legendary Nokia 3310 to run away from the hipster and save your own life!

This is the RAMPAGE OF TECHNOLOGY!

Controls are explained inside the game. We hope you enjoy it!

This is our fantastic team:

- César (@andoba12) & Edgar (@edgargilvico) are the programmers
- Joan Carles (@trine110) is the main animator
- Natalia (@natnatart) is the main artist and animations support

Thanks to @Nozhnitsy for the music.

Game made in #GameBossJam for Ludum Dare 36!

Downloads and Links


Comments

Casevse says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 10:36am

Love the art (that intro), but i think the gameplay has to be polished. The soundtrack is very catching, but needs also some more sound effects. By the way, good work!

Xakkar says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:18pm

Cool art!

RIPPorkins says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:26pm

The web version runs out of memory :( I got stuck playing the windows version, couldn't get past the 2 tvs (radios?) that were stacked on to each other. The wall jump mechanic was cool, the swinging was a little hard, kept getting stuck or dropping, and wasn't able to really get a predictable jump out of it. Cool concept, and the intro was bomb!

AWOL says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:35pm

"Hehehe I'll finally be popular." LOL started out cool then crashed on me. Nice start though.

ccglp says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:39pm

The effects and the general vibe of the game are very well crafted, but maybe the gameplay feels a little odd, although the "The Lost Vikings" kind of gameplay fits very well the game.
I think the walk animation sometimes is active and sometimes not?

But good work, and the intro is very good :D

dwemthy says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:44pm

Ran out of memory at the end of the opening sequence.

leondryaso says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:46pm

The art was just incredible, but the gameplay needs some refinement. I got stuck at the part with the two tvs too :(

Allthebees says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 3:50pm

The web version also ran of of memory for me. Played it on windows, really liked the character design, the art was great, lots of cool mechanics such as switching character but it seemed like a lot of small things weren't working such as the walk animation stopping.

CMangas says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:01pm

The graphics are amazing, but the gameplay is lacking a bit, the collisions for wall jumping are weird and I got stuck in front of some old tvs that weren't moving even with the Nokia. A little bit of polish and you'll have a nice game.

PS: The web version also crashed for me.

chrisdugne says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 4:15pm

what a context ! the curved screen is awesome. I had difficulties climbing up the walls then. Love the character switching, I just finished Trine BTW :) You could dig into the gameplay, the idea is really good fun.

adsilcott says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:03pm

I'm get an out of memory error on the webGL version. I was getting that too on my game, what fixed it for me was to double the "WebGL Memory Size" in player settings, under WebGL Publishing Settings.
Anyway the art looked amazing-- I'll try the windows version later.

aschab says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:05pm

Interesting take on the theme

DespiteSoft says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:19pm

Astonishing intro! Cool graphics and cool view on the game (through a TV).

Sometimes this view made it hard to decipher the helping shields, though. Also the game mechanics need a little more refinement. Especially swinging was my enemy. It would also be nice if the character-swapping would be of more use because I really like that idea (and the way it is implemented: tape swinging, old mobile phone being heavy and cd- or whatever-player emitting rays)

All in all a already a nice game at the moment. But: Thou shalt not stop improving!

cushycode says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:22pm

I like all characters and the game story (so trendy, dude! x))

The art is beautiful and eye-catching.
The idea with post-processing image effect that turn a screen to an old TV/Computer is very good and makes the game looks much more interesting.

However, it's so sad that the web version is broken.
Hope, you'll fix it one day.

tomer_cool says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:39pm

Nice story and amazing graphics.
But WebGL alerted me that it's memory is full and I couldn't play

Rogue Sprite says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:54pm

dawww looks great but ran out of memory ( its probably the shader/camera effects ?).

NEETsoftLD says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:56pm

I really loved the story and graphics for the intro, but the controls were really difficult.

belva1234 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 5:58pm

If i could give that a rating it would have been 5/5 good job dude!

GhostBomb says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:09pm

The art and animation are awesome, especially in the opening sequence. The idea of playing as old 90s tech running from a hipster is awesome as well. The actual platforming engine is pretty awkward and buggy. Platformers can be tricky to program. You guys should practice making a solid platforming engine.

Drury says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:17pm

Man I wish I could give some feedback on the code, but it's 5.4 and I'm not feeling like switching to unstable for that.

Just from observation though, it seems you could use a level editor, the tiles look like they were all placed by hand. Also wouldn't hurt to make them static, I have no other explanation for the performance that I'm getting when there's a lot of tiles on the screen (actually I do, I run the game on a toaster huehueh).

I hope somebody else downloads and reviews the source though, you could really use some feedback on that.

foxroxracer says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Really love that old crt tv effect & the art style. Would love to play this game with a more polished character controller, this one is a bit hard to control. But overall absolutely a great job!!! Keep on going :)

m110 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Awesome art and idea! Collisions and controls could get some love though, as movement feels somewhat lagging and not smooth. Great job guys!

TheLaw says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:38pm

+ intro
+ old CRT TV effect
+ cassette tape as hero :D
+ hipster
+ overall retro-style

Jadernak says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:42pm

Most likely the best graphics I've see so far. The wall climbing mechanic wasn't very well executed in my opinion.

Pickens Inc. says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:46pm

Usually, I hate the CRT-effect, but this worked super well. Lovely intro, and general aesthetic. Music was OTT and crazy.

Controls and and animation were a little janky.

Overall, quite impressive!

9.ar7k says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 6:53pm

art and music are really good. i'm with the majority in that the game was a bit lacking.

still really good tho ^^

RubiksJr says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:00pm

Alright so overall I thought this game was cool, but it was hard to get around some aspects to actually enjoy it. I didn't end up finishing it.

The graphics and art were nice, and really fit the setting of the game. The music was good, but got old after hearing it 12 times. The gameplay was good, but there were parts of it that made it hard to enjoy. Also, the acceleration of the cassete and CD player made it a bit hard to platform without speeding past single blocks in the air. I often died because precision was so hard. And when you break the TVs with Nokia, it doesn't have any sort of animation or sprite, it just dissapears, so that looked pretty bad. The swinging mechanic was really limited in motion and was way to fast to be very useful. The text dissapeared to fast sometimes in the opening cutscene too.

There's also a bug that causes the running animation to not activate 90% of the time, and when it does it does it randomly when doing something else.

nofxboy1234 says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:04pm

That was great :). I loved the Nokia phone haha.

cubotrox_toni says ...
Aug 30, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Very nice game. It has made me laugh. I love that super-awesome Arcade-TV filter ;)

NUEBO MUNDO says ...
Aug 31, 2016 @ 12:57am

Nice art and animations.

The level design may need some work (feels a little too... samey?), and also the player movement.

Really cool CRT-effect shader ;)

Aug 31, 2016 @ 10:54pm

The art was very colorful and fun. A+ there. Some animations were missing, would have liked to see a walk animation on the cassette instead of the disjointed sliding. The wall jump was a bit tricky for me to pull off with jump being on the same hand as movement. Maybe I'm not as limber as I once was. :)

Overall a nice little platformer that with some polish could be pretty unique and fun. Great job!

aeveis says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 6:41am

The art was nice, but the controls for platforming was frustrating for me. I would get stuck instead of jumping, and the swinging was very frustrating to get right. I got to the place where the yellow platform brings you to a floating corridor and there was a hipster ghost there. The game then went back to the title screen. I did a lot of weird stuff like rapidly switching and stuff to jump higher, or swinging around slowly to gain a lot of height if there were no walls nearby.

seveca95 says ...
Sep 1, 2016 @ 10:50am

So cute <3 but i think that the game mechanics should be polished.

txotxopue says ...
Sep 2, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Absolutely awesome intro!!!!! <3 but movement and level design needs more polishment.

shimage says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 3:02am

Very cool artwork and nice music. I love the idea that it can change the member at any time. Great work! By the way, A CD player became ancient technology, time passes by so quickly.

atcolombini says ...
Sep 3, 2016 @ 11:04am

Awesome art and concept, the level design is also nice, and having all these mechanics just working but done in just a 3 days is impressive. Great job!

Sep 3, 2016 @ 3:42pm

The artwork and especially the intro is great... I also love the CRT effect.
But the gameplay needs some polishing - like some people before I also got stuck at the two TVs... and aiming with the swing of the tape was quite hard to control. But I liked that they all had different characteristics and abilities :)

Sep 3, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Movement & jumping was a bit tricky, but good work on getting in the different mechanics (changing, swinging etc). The graphics and colour palette were nice, and intro was really cool

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Many solo participants enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]